Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6348 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 533 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:LynneMR
photo
About LynneMRstarstar
Member since: 4/2/10
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/11 4:57 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KensingtonCrab said...
You look gorgeous! Beautiful dress--love the fabric!
5/3/11 6:10 AM
Rebecca D said...
Very snazzy dress - great fit and it suits you to a T.
5/3/11 6:14 AM
gernella said...
I love the fabric you have used. Your dress looks much better than the pattern picture. I wonder why you always see great fabric that someone else has made up. Lovely pooch as well
5/3/11 7:08 AM
lakaribane said...
I always thought this pattern was cute and you just reinforced that notion. Great print, great hair...great matching dog, LOL!
5/3/11 7:56 AM
lakaribane said...
Me again. I think you could use this photo for your profile picture: the happy seamstress!!!
5/3/11 7:56 AM
optimistic said...
Love The Dress
5/3/11 9:06 AM
Knitz said...
Very nice -- love how your dog is posing too!
5/3/11 9:14 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Well done. Looks great.
5/3/11 9:28 AM
manola6176 said...
Beatiful dress !!!
5/3/11 9:40 AM
julie w said...
Love the fabric you have used for your dress. The style looks lovely on you, thank you for the review and drawing my attention to this pattern.
5/3/11 9:54 AM
SewWil said...
I can see why you love this dress. It looks great on you. Cute dog!
5/3/11 9:58 AM
PittyPat said...
Wow... Lynne! Great looking dress - love the wild print. You did a wonderful job on it. The topstitching was the right detail - and solved the gapping problem May have to look for this pattern after seeing this.
5/3/11 10:21 AM
Bonnie O said...
You look great in this dress. Thanks for the thorough review.
5/3/11 10:25 AM
persevering said...
Oh my, you do look GREAT! Congratulations on your sewing achievement. Thanks for your wonderful review.
5/3/11 11:00 AM
sunnysewer said...
I have been eyeing this pattern for ages, you have convinced me, very pretty.
5/3/11 11:32 AM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous dress Lynne, the fabric is perfect. Congratulations !!! you have two stars šOš
5/3/11 11:49 AM
sewinfrance said...
You've added another great piece to your wardrobe! Love the fabric and the dress, your time spent planning the layout paid off. I've had the "bubble" zipper problem a couple of times--I'm not sure how to solve it--is it the zipper (I've bought some lessor-quality ones) or the sewing? And in this case, it's a long zipper. I've read that you should preshrink the zipper by soaking it in hot water before sewing it in (of course I personnaly have never been organised enough to try this tip). Or pin in the zip, baste it by hand, check it, then machine sew it in. It's hard to see the bubble in the photo, so I'm sure it's hard to see in person (tho I know that for you it's annoying to have). Good work!
5/3/11 12:08 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is beautiful and fits you so well! I like your topstitching fix for the front bodice. It is really a very flattering style on you. Nice work!
5/3/11 12:12 PM
cerulean said...
It's a beautiful dress in a lovely print! Cute dog too!
5/3/11 12:13 PM
SusiM said...
Very dynamite dress! And a nice, helpful review, too.
5/3/11 12:27 PM
persevering said...
About stabilizing the zipper area, did you use or do you think helpful perhaps 1st cutting a long (could be pieced) and thinnish strip of iron-on-interfacing applied along the both sides of the center back pieces of fabric, from the cut edge inwards. And then proceeding in sewing, putting in zipper etc. Just a thought, that could help in the future.
5/3/11 12:54 PM
jannw said...
Great dress, great dog..you got a very good fit..congratulations!
5/3/11 1:17 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Really gorgeous. The print is stunning
5/3/11 2:35 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Great review and it is a beautiful dress.
5/3/11 4:10 PM
Christas said...
Very lovely dress on you! Excellent review, too!
5/3/11 4:26 PM
Hilary said...
Great looking dress! I *love* the fabric and it looks wonderful on you
5/3/11 5:32 PM
MareeAlison said...
You look fantastic. Thanks for the review.
5/3/11 8:02 PM
ButtonFaith said...
The choice of pattern and fabric is perfect...and gives your figure such a lovely shape! Well done!
5/3/11 8:07 PM
Aless said...
Stunning, Lynne!
5/3/11 9:29 PM
sewbehind said...
That's a wow! Gorgeous dress.
5/3/11 11:21 PM
LynneMR said...
Thanks for all the super kind and helpful comments! Regarding the zipper, I think I read that zipper lumps/bulges can be a "side-effect" of bias cut fabrics. I may try stabilising the area next time, as suggested! Although, the bump is pretty small and sometimes the more I mess around, I only make things worse LOL!
5/4/11 1:51 AM
touran said...
Wow. You look stunning. I love you adjusted the bust to fit so beautifully.
5/4/11 1:54 AM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! Chic and sizzling. A superb dress.
5/4/11 4:38 AM
Imaan said...
Beautiful:-)
5/4/11 6:06 AM
Woolygal said...
You did a really good job on this dress. It looks great on you.
5/4/11 6:53 AM
Sharonspils said...
Very smart dress and your puppie is so cute.
5/4/11 7:52 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! I love the fabric with this pattern. Very flattering.
5/4/11 5:38 PM
Sheila457 said...
The dress looks fabulous on you.
5/4/11 6:23 PM
CallMeSu said...
The pattern is lovely! Great job on your dress!
5/4/11 11:55 PM
waltzqueen said...
The fabric is just terric and you look fabulous in this dress. Wow. I think this is my favorite of all the things you've sewn lately. I WISH I could wear a bias skirt the way you can!!!!
5/17/11 6:25 PM
Sew Good said...
Excellent fabric choice. I made this dress too and loved it. I used and invisible zipper (as I do with all my dresses and tops) and I don't get the bulge. Being 3 inches shorter than you are, I did not have an issue with the bodice being too short. Mine could have been shortened :)
9/8/13 11:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8094
photo
Review by Fran G on 8/28/05
Read Review

McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by momsurfing on 5/19/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us