SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6348 (Misses Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 544 times 
Reviewed by:LynneMR
photo

 
 
About LynneMRstarstar
Member since: 4/2/10
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/11 4:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Excellent fabric choice. I made this dress too and loved it. I used and invisible zipper (as I do with all my dresses and tops) and I don't get the bulge. Being 3 inches shorter than you are, I did not have an issue with the bodice being too short. Mine could have been shortened :)
9/8/13 11:49 PM
waltzqueen said...
The fabric is just terric and you look fabulous in this dress. Wow. I think this is my favorite of all the things you've sewn lately. I WISH I could wear a bias skirt the way you can!!!!
5/17/11 6:25 PM
CallMeSu said...
The pattern is lovely! Great job on your dress!
5/4/11 11:55 PM
Sheila457 said...
The dress looks fabulous on you.
5/4/11 6:23 PM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! I love the fabric with this pattern. Very flattering.
5/4/11 5:38 PM
Sharonspils said...
Very smart dress and your puppie is so cute.
5/4/11 7:52 AM
Woolygal said...
You did a really good job on this dress. It looks great on you.
5/4/11 6:53 AM
Imaan said...
Beautiful:-)
5/4/11 6:06 AM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! Chic and sizzling. A superb dress.
5/4/11 4:38 AM
touran said...
Wow. You look stunning. I love you adjusted the bust to fit so beautifully.
5/4/11 1:54 AM
LynneMR said...
Thanks for all the super kind and helpful comments! Regarding the zipper, I think I read that zipper lumps/bulges can be a "side-effect" of bias cut fabrics. I may try stabilising the area next time, as suggested! Although, the bump is pretty small and sometimes the more I mess around, I only make things worse LOL!
5/4/11 1:51 AM
sewbehind said...
That's a wow! Gorgeous dress.
5/3/11 11:21 PM
Aless said...
Stunning, Lynne!
5/3/11 9:29 PM
ButtonFaith said...
The choice of pattern and fabric is perfect...and gives your figure such a lovely shape! Well done!
5/3/11 8:07 PM
MareeAlison said...
You look fantastic. Thanks for the review.
5/3/11 8:02 PM
Hilary said...
Great looking dress! I *love* the fabric and it looks wonderful on you
5/3/11 5:32 PM
Christas said...
Very lovely dress on you! Excellent review, too!
5/3/11 4:26 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Great review and it is a beautiful dress.
5/3/11 4:10 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Really gorgeous. The print is stunning
5/3/11 2:35 PM
jannw said...
Great dress, great dog..you got a very good fit..congratulations!
5/3/11 1:17 PM
persevering said...
About stabilizing the zipper area, did you use or do you think helpful perhaps 1st cutting a long (could be pieced) and thinnish strip of iron-on-interfacing applied along the both sides of the center back pieces of fabric, from the cut edge inwards. And then proceeding in sewing, putting in zipper etc. Just a thought, that could help in the future.
5/3/11 12:54 PM
SusiM said...
Very dynamite dress! And a nice, helpful review, too.
5/3/11 12:27 PM
cerulean said...
It's a beautiful dress in a lovely print! Cute dog too!
5/3/11 12:13 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is beautiful and fits you so well! I like your topstitching fix for the front bodice. It is really a very flattering style on you. Nice work!
5/3/11 12:12 PM
sewinfrance said...
You've added another great piece to your wardrobe! Love the fabric and the dress, your time spent planning the layout paid off. I've had the "bubble" zipper problem a couple of times--I'm not sure how to solve it--is it the zipper (I've bought some lessor-quality ones) or the sewing? And in this case, it's a long zipper. I've read that you should preshrink the zipper by soaking it in hot water before sewing it in (of course I personnaly have never been organised enough to try this tip). Or pin in the zip, baste it by hand, check it, then machine sew it in. It's hard to see the bubble in the photo, so I'm sure it's hard to see in person (tho I know that for you it's annoying to have). Good work!
5/3/11 12:08 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous dress Lynne, the fabric is perfect. Congratulations !!! you have two stars šOš
5/3/11 11:49 AM
sunnysewer said...
I have been eyeing this pattern for ages, you have convinced me, very pretty.
5/3/11 11:32 AM
persevering said...
Oh my, you do look GREAT! Congratulations on your sewing achievement. Thanks for your wonderful review.
5/3/11 11:00 AM
Bonnie O said...
You look great in this dress. Thanks for the thorough review.
5/3/11 10:25 AM
PittyPat said...
Wow... Lynne! Great looking dress - love the wild print. You did a wonderful job on it. The topstitching was the right detail - and solved the gapping problem May have to look for this pattern after seeing this.
5/3/11 10:21 AM
SewWil said...
I can see why you love this dress. It looks great on you. Cute dog!
5/3/11 9:58 AM
julie w said...
Love the fabric you have used for your dress. The style looks lovely on you, thank you for the review and drawing my attention to this pattern.
5/3/11 9:54 AM
manola6176 said...
Beatiful dress !!!
5/3/11 9:40 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Well done. Looks great.
5/3/11 9:28 AM
Knitz said...
Very nice -- love how your dog is posing too!
5/3/11 9:14 AM
optimistic said...
Love The Dress
5/3/11 9:06 AM
lakaribane said...
Me again. I think you could use this photo for your profile picture: the happy seamstress!!!
5/3/11 7:56 AM
lakaribane said...
I always thought this pattern was cute and you just reinforced that notion. Great print, great hair...great matching dog, LOL!
5/3/11 7:56 AM
gernella said...
I love the fabric you have used. Your dress looks much better than the pattern picture. I wonder why you always see great fabric that someone else has made up. Lovely pooch as well
5/3/11 7:08 AM
Rebecca D said...
Very snazzy dress - great fit and it suits you to a T.
5/3/11 6:14 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
You look gorgeous! Beautiful dress--love the fabric!
5/3/11 6:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Burda 7547

photo
by: ClaireEmil...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

More Info