Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8501 (Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 581 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/11 8:08 PM
Last Updated:6/22/12 5:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $7.46  List Price: $9.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
newmama said...
Great job--I'm really impressed by how you fixed the inside placket where the neckline fell open! I agree that maybe it's a little bare without a cami, but a necklace would be another option if you're not opposed. Or the cami looks nice too :)
4/17/11 8:38 PM
highroad said...
This tunic looks great on you. Love your details on the alterations you made, and your attitude.
4/17/11 9:46 PM
Ericaeli said...
This is a nice tunic, and it looks so comfortable too. The color looks really nice on you.
4/17/11 10:55 PM
marec said...
Great tunic, and so flattering on you with the cami. newmama's suggestion is also good-a necklace may be an alternative.
4/17/11 11:26 PM
Renren said...
Great color for you and a very stylish look. Check out the pattern photo--a necklace like that would be perfect. It's as though your chest is an unpainted canvas (created by the open vee of the neckline), and either the cami or the necklace would be perfect--two very different but equally good choices. I love the length, too. You've hit this right out of the ballpark (but don't you usually do that?).
4/17/11 11:52 PM
Mushywear said...
I am loving this Barb! I think it's a flattering color on you, and it looks quite stylish with all your thoughtful details. I have this pattern and you have totally inspired me to make it!
4/18/11 2:49 AM
lamstu said...
I think it looks great too - fit, style and color! What nice workmanship. I agree that linen is lovely to sew.
4/18/11 6:37 AM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful color looks so nice, you can even wear it with straight leg slim pants and flats for work. Love the details of the felled seams, placket and ties. The cami adds interest and can be another color accent picking up the yellow weft or orange warp in a deeper or lighter color. So much you can do with this tunic.
4/18/11 8:44 AM
Elemenopeo said...
beautiful - what nice fabric.
4/18/11 9:09 AM
Calder and Co. said...
Looks great on you and I love your review!
4/18/11 10:20 AM
Margaret said...
Great tunic -- the placket fix looks like it was meant to be there -- very nicely done. I really like how just a little bit of the lining shows at the neck, sort of like a contrast collar.
4/18/11 11:11 AM
SewWil said...
Beatiful top! Great color on you. I like how you "fixed" the placket. It looks like it was meant to be that way.
4/18/11 11:55 AM
BettyMike said...
Very nice tunic. Love that color on you. I agree about lining linen, makes it look so much nicer.
4/18/11 7:04 PM
Catbird said...
Nice work, Barb! I really love it with the cami and leggings. That extra placket was a stroke of brilliance. It's a great look on you and it's beautifully sewn.
4/19/11 8:19 AM
Christas said...
This is a really cute tunic on you! I love it styled with the cami and leggings. Nice sewing!
4/19/11 8:55 AM
brissie71 said...
I really like this striped version. And you're right, the necklace fills in that space perfectly. The burning question for me, though, is did you make those pants? They are CUTE!
6/22/12 6:26 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. You're right - it works well in that fabric, and jewellery is essential (if the neck is worn open).
6/22/12 6:58 PM
sfshaza said...
This top looks great on you! I just love the style.
6/22/12 9:05 PM
Kathy7661 said...
Very nice, looks great on you! Congratulations on your 100th review!!
6/22/12 9:18 PM
ArtAttack said...
I know it gets tedious reading "how cute! great job! love it!", ect., but you're just going to have to deal with it!! All of the above!
6/22/12 10:36 PM
Renren said...
I love it! Fabulous! And look how perfectly you centered those stripes with the skinny one going right down CF and the wider ones balanced perfectly left and right. That is some great fabric.
6/23/12 9:03 AM
CCQ said...
Great top and lovely fabric and styling. I love Treadle Yard Goods -- my old stomping ground when I lived in MN:)
6/23/12 11:36 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Lovely top! I like how you accented the neckline with the lighter stripe.
6/23/12 3:03 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Looking good! It's all about the fit, no boxiness here (which is so easy to do in tunic land), but nice and flowy and a color combo that really flatters you. Good job.
6/23/12 3:08 PM
chenille said...
This looks great on you and love the fabric choice!
6/24/12 10:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your striped version - and your jewelry looks fab!
6/25/12 2:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Dear Zero Cleavage Kind of Woman: This neckline is BEAUTIFUL on you, necklace or no necklace. Now, of course, I LOVE it with the necklace. (You have some really pretty jewelry.) I hope you're getting lots of wear out of BOTH of these tops. AND I do have some uneven, wide-striped fabric that I bet would work for this top. Of course, it won't like like THIS on me -- ha! I've always liked this pattern, though, and I'm glad I finally got to see it made up. :o)
7/1/12 2:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/22/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by Melwyk on 9/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8241 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us