SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5138 (SHIRTS IN TWO LENGTHS)

24 more reviews
Viewed 535 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 182
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/11 8:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Great fit! This is incredibly flatterin, you look so chic. I love the color too.
4/18/11 10:05 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
You will get a lot of use out of this top - looks lovely.
4/18/11 10:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nicely done. I think you need about a dozen in different colours. Looks great on you and great job.
4/18/11 10:29 PM
cleverkitty said...
Very nice on you, those placket directions are awful, I noticed that on patterns, give me real plackets!!! I have that book it's great
4/18/11 10:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
great basic - fits great too
4/18/11 10:58 PM
SusiM said...
Thanks for mentioning the ease in the sleeve cap. The blouse looks perfectly fitted on you.
4/19/11 0:20 AM
lamstu said...
A nice 'plain' top, but what a great color! The fit is excellent. I am a big fan of the curved hem and this looks just right.
4/19/11 7:53 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Home run on that shirt.. love the color, and I agree shirts need a real placket & once figured out, not that difficult. The DVD (DPC's) is a Godsend... I review frequently when contemplating any shirt-details. (except i have the ancient VHS tape version...) Lovely shirt!
4/19/11 8:15 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That shirt if just too cute. I really need to make vet daughter one of these-she would love the fit on this.
4/19/11 8:22 AM
JTink said...
This is a super shirt. How did you remove the extra sleeve ease?
4/19/11 8:32 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful blouse! I love the color and buttons. The fit looks perfect.
4/19/11 9:08 AM
optimistic said...
This may be a plain blouse as you stated, but blouses are very hard to make and you did a superb job!
4/19/11 9:29 AM
KD in ATL said...
It looks terrific! You did a great job.
4/19/11 9:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love your shirt. I make lots of shirts for the same reasons that you do. It's the only way to get the sleeves long enough. It sounds like I need to get the Coffin DVD.
4/19/11 10:11 AM
clothingengineer said...
Thanks everyone! @JTink - You remove the ease from the pattern before you cut the fabric. I used Sandra Betzina's method. She has you measure the front and back armholes, then the sleevecap and compare measurements. It isn't unusual to have up to 2.5" of ease in a Big 4 pattern, and for shirts you don't really need more than 1". I made 3 long slashes to the elbow on the sleeve pattern - one in the direct center of the sleeve, one 1/4" to the left, one 1/4" to the right. I then overlapped them and smoothed out the top seam, removing probably 1" total. I could have probably removed at least another 1/2" but with careful sewing I managed to ease in the sleeves with no puckers. I would also like to note that I have *never* been able to ease in sleeve caps smoothly using typical Big 4 pattern instructions (2 rows of basting stitches). I instead pinned the sleeve to the armhole, matching markings, and then placed it on the machine the sleeve side down (against the feed dogs) and armhole side up. That way I can use the feed dogs and my fingers to ease in the excess,and there's no basting stitches to rip out later. It took me several years of sewing before I finally figured this out.
4/19/11 1:09 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very nicely done! Love the color and the fit!
4/19/11 1:10 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really nice shirt. I must acquire this pattern myself.
4/20/11 6:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now