Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5138 (SHIRTS IN TWO LENGTHS) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 534 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 186
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 176
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/11 8:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Great fit! This is incredibly flatterin, you look so chic. I love the color too.
4/18/11 10:05 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
You will get a lot of use out of this top - looks lovely.
4/18/11 10:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nicely done. I think you need about a dozen in different colours. Looks great on you and great job.
4/18/11 10:29 PM
cleverkitty said...
Very nice on you, those placket directions are awful, I noticed that on patterns, give me real plackets!!! I have that book it's great
4/18/11 10:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
great basic - fits great too
4/18/11 10:58 PM
SusiM said...
Thanks for mentioning the ease in the sleeve cap. The blouse looks perfectly fitted on you.
4/19/11 0:20 AM
lamstu said...
A nice 'plain' top, but what a great color! The fit is excellent. I am a big fan of the curved hem and this looks just right.
4/19/11 7:53 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Home run on that shirt.. love the color, and I agree shirts need a real placket & once figured out, not that difficult. The DVD (DPC's) is a Godsend... I review frequently when contemplating any shirt-details. (except i have the ancient VHS tape version...) Lovely shirt!
4/19/11 8:15 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That shirt if just too cute. I really need to make vet daughter one of these-she would love the fit on this.
4/19/11 8:22 AM
JTink said...
This is a super shirt. How did you remove the extra sleeve ease?
4/19/11 8:32 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful blouse! I love the color and buttons. The fit looks perfect.
4/19/11 9:08 AM
optimistic said...
This may be a plain blouse as you stated, but blouses are very hard to make and you did a superb job!
4/19/11 9:29 AM
KD in ATL said...
It looks terrific! You did a great job.
4/19/11 9:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love your shirt. I make lots of shirts for the same reasons that you do. It's the only way to get the sleeves long enough. It sounds like I need to get the Coffin DVD.
4/19/11 10:11 AM
clothingengineer said...
Thanks everyone! @JTink - You remove the ease from the pattern before you cut the fabric. I used Sandra Betzina's method. She has you measure the front and back armholes, then the sleevecap and compare measurements. It isn't unusual to have up to 2.5" of ease in a Big 4 pattern, and for shirts you don't really need more than 1". I made 3 long slashes to the elbow on the sleeve pattern - one in the direct center of the sleeve, one 1/4" to the left, one 1/4" to the right. I then overlapped them and smoothed out the top seam, removing probably 1" total. I could have probably removed at least another 1/2" but with careful sewing I managed to ease in the sleeves with no puckers. I would also like to note that I have *never* been able to ease in sleeve caps smoothly using typical Big 4 pattern instructions (2 rows of basting stitches). I instead pinned the sleeve to the armhole, matching markings, and then placed it on the machine the sleeve side down (against the feed dogs) and armhole side up. That way I can use the feed dogs and my fingers to ease in the excess,and there's no basting stitches to rip out later. It took me several years of sewing before I finally figured this out.
4/19/11 1:09 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Very nicely done! Love the color and the fit!
4/19/11 1:10 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really nice shirt. I must acquire this pattern myself.
4/20/11 6:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 8751 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by sewmytime on 9/22/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 1003
photo
Review by Nancywin on 9/23/12
Read Review

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4009 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4009 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4406 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 4406 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us