SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5890 (Princess Seam Tee)

29 more reviews
Viewed 906 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/11 10:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Very nice -- you'll knock 'em out in the Netherlands! Love the combination of fabric and lace.
4/19/11 11:19 AM
highroad said...
This top looks great on you! Thank you for your thorough review, especially the pointer on the hem.
4/19/11 11:30 AM
Aroura said...
Beautiful top, love the lace, really makes it stand out!
4/19/11 11:34 AM
DorothyK said...
This top is adorable and a great fit. I love all the ways you can wear it.
4/19/11 11:49 AM
SewWil said...
I love this top. Looks great with the black skirt AND your bike skirt. Great job! Thanks for your usual detailed review. Much appreciated.
4/19/11 12:11 PM
pterion said...
How cute is this top? Love it.
4/19/11 12:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love this style. I adjust princess seams exactly the same way you do. I will buy this pattern at the next McCall's sale. You will be a very chic biker in this top.
4/19/11 12:58 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very nice. You've taken a simple tee to a whole new level. Love the lace detail. Nice work!
4/19/11 1:03 PM
Knitters Delight said...
No! No! NOOO! I don't need another pattern....but your tee looks too good to pass this one up....lol. Love the colors and styling.
4/19/11 1:08 PM
Gelbean said...
Wow! Great looking top!
4/19/11 1:14 PM
BexInMD said...
I like the shape of this top, especially the cut-on sleeve. I'm with you on the hem drafting issue. Princess seams are my favorite shapes but getting a pucker-free hem is tricky. Yours came out nicely.
4/19/11 1:48 PM
cleverkitty said...
WOW a princess seam T-shirt I just love it and yours is so nice, I have to have this pattern. I love the fit on you.
4/19/11 2:12 PM
janet said...
Very, very CUTE! Love the lace detail. PERFECT fit.
4/19/11 2:27 PM
Mufffet said...
Really nicely fitted! Such a nice color - all in all just a sweet cute top!
4/19/11 2:31 PM
2takeKate said...
I just might get this pattern for bike tops as well - ride to work every day (really!). Totally agree about top hems; they could take a tip from Jalie and others who do taper the hem allowance to mirror the finished edge. Well done - thanks for the inspiration!
4/19/11 4:15 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous ensemble. You look really cute in this. I hope you will get some nice photos of you in your bike skirt! I had never thought of wearing a skirt whilst bike riding. Do you wear biking shorts underneath? With my luck I would end up with a face full of skirt going down a hill.
4/19/11 5:52 PM
AnneM said...
Great top! Love it.
4/19/11 7:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top and a highly original look.
4/20/11 6:36 AM
Mary Heckman said...
Top is very cute and you do a wonderful job at sewing and creative thinking in changing up a plain pattern to make it suit your taste. Love it and love your reviews!
4/20/11 8:02 AM
BeckyW said...
Very cute!!! I would have totally passed over that pattern.
4/20/11 9:38 AM
JETrinity said...
It is so nice to hear about a princess seam t-shirt.
4/20/11 1:49 PM
ggf2005 said...
I love it! here's a tip i learned in Kathy Ruddy's serger class that makes hemming a snap, fusible thread in the lower looper with the regular thread. Once you serge, bond the hem in place, then sew into place using your twin needles. you could also do this using steam a seam.
4/20/11 2:18 PM
Renren said...
I have this pattern but I didn't actually realize there was a t-shirt (with princess seams, nonetheless!) and that it could possibly look this cute! (I think I was focusing on the dress and jacket.) Very sporty and chic at the same time.
4/20/11 11:37 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute top! Like the trim idea
4/29/11 7:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now