Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5890 (Princess Seam Tee) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 868 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/11 10:40 AM


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Very nice -- you'll knock 'em out in the Netherlands! Love the combination of fabric and lace.
4/19/11 11:19 AM
highroad said...
This top looks great on you! Thank you for your thorough review, especially the pointer on the hem.
4/19/11 11:30 AM
Aroura said...
Beautiful top, love the lace, really makes it stand out!
4/19/11 11:34 AM
DorothyK said...
This top is adorable and a great fit. I love all the ways you can wear it.
4/19/11 11:49 AM
SewWil said...
I love this top. Looks great with the black skirt AND your bike skirt. Great job! Thanks for your usual detailed review. Much appreciated.
4/19/11 12:11 PM
pterion said...
How cute is this top? Love it.
4/19/11 12:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love this style. I adjust princess seams exactly the same way you do. I will buy this pattern at the next McCall's sale. You will be a very chic biker in this top.
4/19/11 12:58 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Very nice. You've taken a simple tee to a whole new level. Love the lace detail. Nice work!
4/19/11 1:03 PM
Knitters Delight said...
No! No! NOOO! I don't need another pattern....but your tee looks too good to pass this one up....lol. Love the colors and styling.
4/19/11 1:08 PM
Gelbean said...
Wow! Great looking top!
4/19/11 1:14 PM
BexInMD said...
I like the shape of this top, especially the cut-on sleeve. I'm with you on the hem drafting issue. Princess seams are my favorite shapes but getting a pucker-free hem is tricky. Yours came out nicely.
4/19/11 1:48 PM
cleverkitty said...
WOW a princess seam T-shirt I just love it and yours is so nice, I have to have this pattern. I love the fit on you.
4/19/11 2:12 PM
janet said...
Very, very CUTE! Love the lace detail. PERFECT fit.
4/19/11 2:27 PM
Mufffet said...
Really nicely fitted! Such a nice color - all in all just a sweet cute top!
4/19/11 2:31 PM
2takeKate said...
I just might get this pattern for bike tops as well - ride to work every day (really!). Totally agree about top hems; they could take a tip from Jalie and others who do taper the hem allowance to mirror the finished edge. Well done - thanks for the inspiration!
4/19/11 4:15 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous ensemble. You look really cute in this. I hope you will get some nice photos of you in your bike skirt! I had never thought of wearing a skirt whilst bike riding. Do you wear biking shorts underneath? With my luck I would end up with a face full of skirt going down a hill.
4/19/11 5:52 PM
AnneM said...
Great top! Love it.
4/19/11 7:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top and a highly original look.
4/20/11 6:36 AM
Mary Heckman said...
Top is very cute and you do a wonderful job at sewing and creative thinking in changing up a plain pattern to make it suit your taste. Love it and love your reviews!
4/20/11 8:02 AM
BeckyW said...
Very cute!!! I would have totally passed over that pattern.
4/20/11 9:38 AM
JETrinity said...
It is so nice to hear about a princess seam t-shirt.
4/20/11 1:49 PM
ggf2005 said...
I love it! here's a tip i learned in Kathy Ruddy's serger class that makes hemming a snap, fusible thread in the lower looper with the regular thread. Once you serge, bond the hem in place, then sew into place using your twin needles. you could also do this using steam a seam.
4/20/11 2:18 PM
Renren said...
I have this pattern but I didn't actually realize there was a t-shirt (with princess seams, nonetheless!) and that it could possibly look this cute! (I think I was focusing on the dress and jacket.) Very sporty and chic at the same time.
4/20/11 11:37 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute top! Like the trim idea
4/29/11 7:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2011-34 PJ top
photo
Review by kidmd on 12/18/11
Read Review

New Look 6068 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6068 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7038 Pattern
Burda 7038 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6458
photo
Review by aunrea on 11/5/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Cowboy Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Cowboy Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us