SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1220 (misses dress and belt)

35 more reviews
Viewed 994 times 
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:4/19/11 8:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!! I would have thought of using a check for this dress but it turned out great. Very nice job on the finishing.
4/19/11 8:38 PM
Kim12469 said...
Love your choice of fabric! Very cute.
4/19/11 8:42 PM
poppykettle said...
I have excatly the same problem with buttons... you made me chuckle :) Thanks for a very informative review, so glad you're pleased with the end result!
4/19/11 9:05 PM
Kat B. said...
I love your dress! I was not sure I liked this pattern, but the more reviews I see of it, it is really growing on me. :)
4/19/11 9:06 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Growing on me too. Your version is a knock out.
4/19/11 9:26 PM
sewbehind said...
I've had my eye on this dress when it was first issued. Your version is lovely. It suits you very well.
4/19/11 9:49 PM
cabrewer82 said...
Beautiful fabric! Your version makes me perk up to this pattern! Great job!
4/19/11 9:56 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute dress!
4/19/11 9:57 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is fabulous in silk dupioni check! It fits wonderfully and you look great in it!
4/19/11 9:58 PM
Raye Ann said...
Lovely!
4/19/11 11:11 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty dress! Love your choice of fabric. Great idea!! It really looks great on you!!!
4/20/11 0:32 AM
Aixoise said...
Stunning. Classic. Classy. So many adjectives come to mind. Great fabric choice, great fit. Who needs Donna Karan?! (Except for ideas, that is.)
4/20/11 1:26 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful tailored to fit. Great unexpected fabric choice.
4/20/11 2:25 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very classy dress. It is a great style for you.
4/20/11 6:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
A highly original dress. I love the fabric.
4/20/11 6:20 AM
Lori V said...
Your dress is gorgeous. What pretty fabric.
4/20/11 7:27 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful dress! I have been wondering if dupioni would work for this dress because this is what the pattern seems to call for every time I look at it, yet the fabric suggestions call for stretch. Thanks for showing that a non-stretch works beautifully with this pattern, and thanks for the very helpful review.
4/20/11 7:33 AM
Lili123 said...
that dress looks fantastic, the color is perfect for you.
4/20/11 7:34 AM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
This dress catches my eye every time - you have done a wonderful job.
4/20/11 7:53 AM
Ecrulace said...
You are a very talented seamstress. I love this dress on you!
4/20/11 7:56 AM
pdiddly said...
lovely - nice finish too
4/20/11 9:33 AM
Knitz said...
Very cute -- enjoy!
4/20/11 9:34 AM
MamaSewing said...
Wonderful choice of fabric. I wouldn't have thought of using a check but it looks amazing!
4/20/11 10:17 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Your dress looks great!
4/20/11 10:38 AM
Marge99 said...
Thanks for reviewing this in a non-stretch fabric. Very useful to know... also good to know that I'm not the only one who names her clothes after everyday occurrences!
4/20/11 1:56 PM
JETrinity said...
I loved the gingham check and this dress pattern looks so nice on you.
4/20/11 1:59 PM
sarahd27 said...
Gorgeous dress! I've been looking forward to making this pattern - your review is really, really helpful.
4/20/11 3:19 PM
AquariJenn said...
Another beautiful version of this dress! Thank you for the great review. The color is beautiful on you.
4/20/11 3:53 PM
Paris75008 said...
Very, very pretty in that dupioni fabric and you did a beautiful sewing job, as always. Love that bow!
4/20/11 5:27 PM
janet said...
You wear this look with total PANACHE! As usual, your marriage of pattern to fabric was EXEMPLARY!! Excellent attention to DETAIL!!! Love your use of hug snug binding on the seams--will copy that--sew much better than "seams great"
4/20/11 6:25 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Beautiful dress! I am inspired to make one for myself.
4/20/11 11:23 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Stunning dress, it looks adorable in your home dec fabric! Your review is incredibly helpful too and I will be revisiting it when I make this pattern.
4/21/11 1:31 AM
DorothyK said...
Absolutely stunning. Love the fabric. You look fabulous.
4/22/11 11:54 AM
J-Girl said...
Gorgeous! Love the print.
4/22/11 7:26 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Girl please - this is absolutely lovely!
4/23/11 10:24 PM
karenball said...
Beautiful. Thanks for such an informative review.
5/20/11 6:10 AM
VogueMistress said...
It really looks great in that fabrics...and the style suits you wonderfully.
6/2/11 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1000

photo
by: julliams

Review
Vogue Patterns 8844

photo
by: annie11

Review
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now