Online Sewing Class: Sewing Basics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5893 (One Hour Maxi Dress)

21 more reviews
Viewed 515 times 
Reviewed by:Carmel09
photo

 
 
About Carmel09
Member since: 5/2/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/11 8:33 AM
Last Updated:4/21/11 8:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carmel09 said... (4/21/11 10:26 PM) Reply
The fabric was challenging. I would cut the bodice again and be sure I had a full row around the bottom if I had it to do over again, but I basted and moved things up and down until they worked! That's how a one hour pattern becomes a 5 hour pattern!
mary in FL said... (4/21/11 9:51 PM) Reply
That fabric looks difficult to work with, and you did a great job!
Carmel09 said... (4/21/11 4:10 PM) Reply
Thanks everyone. I picked both patterns out that I have reviewed from this website's reviews. The reviews are so helpful, so I thought I should reciprocate!
kcstarr49 said... (4/21/11 3:49 PM) Reply
Very nice. Keep up the good work.
renren said... (4/21/11 12:49 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review and on a gorgeous dress. Like how you used the fabric to make the collar unique!
NC Carol said... (4/21/11 10:32 AM) Reply
So cute! I love the fabric. Great dress. Thanks for the review!
NC Carol said... (4/21/11 10:32 AM) Reply
So cute! I love the fabric. Great dress. Thanks for the review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Pin-up Girls Amanda Foam Cup Bra

photo
by: mmry

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Pattern Details