Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4377 (Misses' Medieval Dress) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 272 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:abbythomas
photo
Friend of PR
About abbythomasstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/1/09
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/11 10:34 PM
Last Updated:3/18/14 4:04 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 4377 by abbythomas

Pattern Photo:Butterick 4377
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Satin  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Cape and Medieval Dress.

Pattern Sizing: I made size 12 for the cape.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes

Fabric Used: Cape on left (lady's cape) Black Casa Satin outside, cream colored lining fabric inside. Cape on right (gentleman's cape) black bottomweight cotton twill outside, black lining fabric inside. Both capes have decorative clasp closures at the throat.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn't quite understand the directions for the seam binding along where the hood and the cape meet, so I just sewed the hood to the cape and hand-stitched a piece of binding over the seam. Update 3/18/14 I have made this cloak several times and have streamlined the process a bit. A French seam to the inside where the hood and cloak meet is also a viable option and provides a little more stability at the shoulder where the weight of the cloak rests. If the French seam is turned to the inside, it doesn't show when the cloak is worn.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would definitely sew this pattern again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick and easy basic hooded cloak pattern.

Conclusion:
I was commissioned to make 2 black, versatile hooded cloaks. One was to be used specifically for a princess, but needed to be able to be used for other characters. I decided to design one for a lady and one for a gentleman. The pattern was easy, the instructions were straighforward, and the whole thing went together rather quickly (from cutting out to final stitches was about 5 1/2 hours). One note, however: this is a GIANT project! MAKE SURE that you have plenty of room to cut the pieces out (one panel didn't quite fit completely on my 5' x 4' cutting table) and especially to pin together the completely sewn cape and completely sewn lining. Other than that, this is a great wardrobe building piece, and I bet it will look great in a variety of fabrics!

Detail of gentleman's clasp

Detail of lady's clasp
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Lovely cloaks! The clasps you picked are very distinctive,and the hoods look great.
4/22/11 3:19 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
4/22/11 7:41 AM
Maggiedoll said...
Very nice! I keep intending on making a new cloak, just for variation..
5/12/11 8:54 PM
magpie57 said...
Your clasps and capes are beautiful. I am making a cape for my dd's wedding. I think I shall use the Burda pattern as it is not gathered but seeing yours made that clear to me so thank you for your review. I will also start looking for a really knock out clasp. Has to be special for a wedding!
9/6/11 8:45 PM
magpie57 said...
Your clasps and capes are beautiful. I am making a cape for my dd's wedding. I think I shall use the Burda pattern as it is not gathered but seeing yours made that clear to me so thank you for your review. I will also start looking for a really knock out clasp. Has to be special for a wedding!
9/6/11 8:45 PM
KamiSue2 said...
Fun! Looks great!
3/21/14 11:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2561 Women's Pants
photo
Review by SewRusty on 3/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1078 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by AnnQ on 2/19/09
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us