SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4377 (Misses' Medieval Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 283 times 
Reviewed by:abbythomas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About abbythomasstar
Member since: 9/1/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/11 10:34 PM
Last Updated:3/18/14 4:04 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 4377 by abbythomas

Pattern Photo:Butterick 4377
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Satin  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Cape and Medieval Dress.

Pattern Sizing: I made size 12 for the cape.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes

Fabric Used: Cape on left (lady's cape) Black Casa Satin outside, cream colored lining fabric inside. Cape on right (gentleman's cape) black bottomweight cotton twill outside, black lining fabric inside. Both capes have decorative clasp closures at the throat.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn't quite understand the directions for the seam binding along where the hood and the cape meet, so I just sewed the hood to the cape and hand-stitched a piece of binding over the seam. Update 3/18/14 I have made this cloak several times and have streamlined the process a bit. A French seam to the inside where the hood and cloak meet is also a viable option and provides a little more stability at the shoulder where the weight of the cloak rests. If the French seam is turned to the inside, it doesn't show when the cloak is worn.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would definitely sew this pattern again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick and easy basic hooded cloak pattern.

Conclusion:
I was commissioned to make 2 black, versatile hooded cloaks. One was to be used specifically for a princess, but needed to be able to be used for other characters. I decided to design one for a lady and one for a gentleman. The pattern was easy, the instructions were straighforward, and the whole thing went together rather quickly (from cutting out to final stitches was about 5 1/2 hours). One note, however: this is a GIANT project! MAKE SURE that you have plenty of room to cut the pieces out (one panel didn't quite fit completely on my 5' x 4' cutting table) and especially to pin together the completely sewn cape and completely sewn lining. Other than that, this is a great wardrobe building piece, and I bet it will look great in a variety of fabrics!

Detail of gentleman's clasp

Detail of lady's clasp
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Lovely cloaks! The clasps you picked are very distinctive,and the hoods look great.
4/22/11 3:19 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
4/22/11 7:41 AM
Maggiedoll said...
Very nice! I keep intending on making a new cloak, just for variation..
5/12/11 8:54 PM
magpie57 said...
Your clasps and capes are beautiful. I am making a cape for my dd's wedding. I think I shall use the Burda pattern as it is not gathered but seeing yours made that clear to me so thank you for your review. I will also start looking for a really knock out clasp. Has to be special for a wedding!
9/6/11 8:45 PM
magpie57 said...
Your clasps and capes are beautiful. I am making a cape for my dd's wedding. I think I shall use the Burda pattern as it is not gathered but seeing yours made that clear to me so thank you for your review. I will also start looking for a really knock out clasp. Has to be special for a wedding!
9/6/11 8:45 PM
KamiSue2 said...
Fun! Looks great!
3/21/14 11:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-119

photo
by: rsarauer

Review
Ottobre Design 6/2011 #25

photo
by: hme75

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now