SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

103 more reviews
Viewed 1274 times 
Reviewed by:IndiaT.
photo

 
 
About IndiaT.star
CA USA
Member since: 4/15/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:4/22/11 9:48 PM
Last Updated:4/24/11 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
This top looks great on you! It's the first review I've seen of the blouse portion of the pattern, which intrigues me but also, in the full-frontal view, looks as though it could be just a giant sack. And your notes about the finished measurements confirm that this is one seriously oversized garment! However, in a drapey fabric like the one you've chosen, I see that it can be nice-looking on the right person.
4/22/11 11:04 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
thanks for the review. I was very interested in this pattern
4/22/11 11:13 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Cute for sure! I think you look great in this top.
4/22/11 11:29 PM
Patti B said...
'Waifs needing maternity wear' -- hahaha! Great line. The seaming is interesting but your very helpful review tells me that this is not for me -- thanks!
4/23/11 9:32 AM
CarolynGM said...
Despite the pattern's oddness, it looks quite good on you, no doubt thanks to the changes you made. Thanks for the very useful information about the pattern.
4/23/11 10:16 AM
imsewcrazy said...
I love your version of this top and agree that it looks great on you.
4/23/11 10:55 AM
Karine said...
This is a really different pattern, for sure. I think it looks great on you and I love your fabric.
4/23/11 12:57 PM
IndiaT. said...
thanks everyone! glad I used a drapey recommended fabric, I don't think it would have worked w/ the lawn I wanted to use. I want to tweak it some more, but unpicking the french seams is daunting. As a newer sewer, I really appreciate pattern review and your feedback so very much. This top works, but taught me I need to pick patterns based on how they will look on my figure, not the model!
4/23/11 3:05 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I think your version fits much better than her RTW one! It's really cute on you and I'd be tempted to make it again.
4/23/11 7:07 PM
lamstu said...
I like the way you've styled the top and you put some thought into the fitting issues. It's definitely one that works for certain body types (not mine - thanks for saving me from discovering that the hard way :)
4/24/11 8:02 PM
crazygrad said...
I was planning to make this tomorrow. I may not now. You look so great and have such great 'tude in our pic, there is no chance! I need a cushion of time!
4/24/11 8:45 PM
IndiaT. said...
I am not entirely sure why I look like I'm looking for a fight in this pic, lol... I'd love to see another version of this.. a more experienced sewer will no doubt get better results.
4/24/11 9:06 PM
SewWil said...
Your top looks very nice on you. Thanks for the review. I've been wondering about this pattern.
4/25/11 0:16 AM
Renren said...
Oef, I love this pattern and I bought this pattern and now I'm really wondering . . . but I think it looks great on you! I'm going to have to do some pre-planning and lots of soul searching before I start, apparently. Great review. Thanks.
4/25/11 1:18 AM
Sewing Chick said...
You have managed to make this top look great. Thanks for the review. Yours looks better than the picture on the pattern.
4/28/11 10:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 3310

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now