Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sense & Sensibility: 1940 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 256 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:KatieA
photo
About KatieA
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/30/05
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/11 7:02 AM
Last Updated:4/26/11 4:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
What a pretty dress for summer. The fabric is lovely. I'd need to see a side view of the sleeve to give a proper comment on fit but it could be that you either need to pivot the sleeve cap forward a bit or take out at the bicep where it's pooling, or both. The wrinkles can be that your shoulders are more forward than the pattern or that the sleeve pattern is made for a narrow arm, which wouldn't be unusual for a vintage style pattern even one resized for modern physiques. However, I'm sure others will weigh in. What does the sleeve do when you reach forward or raise your arms? A good book is "Fit for Real People" by Pletsch and Alto and that will help you determine the problem and the solution.
4/24/11 8:45 AM
KatieA said...
Thankfully now I've raised the armhole, the sleeve stays in a reasonable position when I raise my arms. I need to retake this photo anyway as there is altogether too much see-through-ness so I'll take one from the side too.
4/25/11 4:44 AM
JEF said...
Very nice dress. Very summery.
4/26/11 5:48 PM
marymary86 said...
Thank you for all the detailed notes on fitting. I'm just learning to fit and learned I have a wide back in addition to a full bust. It helps so much to read all the details!
4/27/11 10:42 AM
marymary86 said...
Your dress is very pretty and you look great in it!
4/27/11 10:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8020
photo
Review by CissieW on 11/3/12
Read Review

Burda 7170 Pattern
Burda 7170 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6538 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6538 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-14 Pants
photo
Review by Sandi S on 7/13/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us