SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8714 (misses vest and jacket)

6 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest
Viewed 986 times 
Reviewed by:Pam in Virginia
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Pam in Virginiastar
VA USA
Member since: 8/15/06
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/11 3:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
I think your jacket is beautiful - I like the color. Sorry the pattern didn't work for you.
4/26/11 3:59 PM
persevering said...
Thank you so much for another appreciated review - answering exactly what I was wondering about the pattern. The color is lovely on you and though it may not be what you were wanting, you do look great.
4/26/11 4:41 PM
Knitters Delight said...
This jacket is gorgeous! I am sorry to hear that it doesn't work for your body type. An excellent gift, maybe.
4/26/11 6:51 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Very nice sewing skills, but you're right--it is not close-fitting; nevertheless, it looks very nice on you.
4/26/11 10:16 PM
arianamaniacs said...
The curse of only having line drawings to judge fit on. I still think it looks good on you though
4/27/11 3:56 AM
carolynw said...
I too think this is a beautiful jacket - am sorry it didn't come out the way you had imagined but do hope you will leave it for awhile and rethink - it's way too pretty to just sit in a closet!!
4/27/11 8:15 AM
Pam in Virginia said...
Thanks so much for all the nice comments. It's not so much that there's anything wrong with the pattern or design, but being a slender person, I can easily get lost in boxy designs and although this isn't boxy per se, it isn't form fitting either. Anyone who wants to make it, you'll need to add a snap at the inside waist opposite the lower button. Without it, the front droops and pulls.
4/27/11 8:53 AM
taylormade said...
Thanks for all the good advice about this pattern. You did a lovely job sewing it, with all the extras that make a tailored made garment special. I do hope you'll wear it on a day when you feel like form fit isn't important. It looks beautiful on you!!!
4/27/11 10:12 AM
slimey said...
What a classy looking jacket! While it might not have been what you were thinking of, it looks lovely. And it fits you like a glove.
4/27/11 10:15 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Nice looking jacket and so well done. Too bad it's not quite working for you.
4/27/11 1:16 PM
waltzqueen said...
I think you should wear the jacket. It is a great color for you, you look terrific in it, it's silk and everyone who sees you in it will compliment you!oks terrific as is.
4/28/11 5:55 PM
Aroura said...
I also think it looks great on you. I'm sorry you aren't happy with it, perhaps it will grow on you in time. :)
4/30/11 11:47 PM
manola6176 said...
Beautiful jacket. Not boxy at all. Lovely colour.
5/1/11 5:01 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
I think the jacket is lovely. It would look very classy with a pencil skirt for an interview or lunch with the ladies- if you're lucky enough to be a lady who lunches! Beautiful fabric and workmanship. I also hope you let it grow on you.
5/2/11 10:32 AM
SewMentalMama said...
I think this is a beautiful elegant jacket, and looks very well on you. But it is difficult to get over the disappointment of not liking the fit.
5/4/11 7:05 AM
psm484 said...
Pretty jacket. Love the color. I'm wondering if it would look better with the labels folded back. Granted you would have to wear something under it then.
5/6/11 4:04 PM
KBT Sewer said...
I bought this pattern but haven't made it up yet so was pleased to read your comments. I think it looks better with the lapels open or, one lapel open.I shall definitely go to the trouble of making a muslin to get a more waisted effect. Anyway, your jacket is wonderful tho' it's a pity that it wasn't what you'd hoped for.
5/11/11 9:03 AM
Margaret said...
Sorry the shape ended up disappointing -- you did such great work sewing this jacket! I can see how it would be difficult to add more waist shape, because of the way the peplums are cut. If you were to make this again, it might help to take in the upper princess seams at the waist, fold wedges out of the peplums with the widest part at the top (if that makes sense), and maybe add back waist darts. But that would be a lot of work, and no doubt you could find another pattern that you'd be happier with. As it is, I agree with others that folding the lapels back might be worth a try.
5/14/11 4:26 AM
TallBean said...
You did a beautiful job! I don't think I'll get the pattern now, knowing what I do from your informative review. I wonder if you'd like the jacket better with it belted? Thanks for all the info!
10/10/11 4:21 PM
Pam in Virginia said...
Hi TallBean. I ultimately ended up donating the jacket. It is an unflattering shape, being neither boxy nor fitted. It is unflatteringly solid and flat across the bust, which just gives a wide shape. I am a size 4 and not particularly curvy, probably average athletic build and this makes me look matronly. I suspect that even matrons don't want to look matronly. If you cut this a size smaller and made it from something edgy, even leather, it might survive scrutiny, but with so many great patterns, why bother?
10/11/11 8:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop eDress

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
HotPatterns HP-104

photo
by: cahmad

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now