SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8356 (Shirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 162 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/11 11:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top. The fabric is wild!
4/27/11 11:34 AM
PittyPat said...
Oh.... love the fabric. You did a great job on combining the two patterns into a nice fitting top. Love the adaptation of the back - and changing the yoke fabric to the other side to make it look like a design feature.
4/27/11 12:24 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Brussels PR weekend"... How COOL!!! Really neat, interesting & sexy top, Margaret ;)
4/27/11 1:24 PM
sheels55 said...
I think this might be a European first! Someone actually used their ugly fabric for a garment they would really wear!!! And so quickly! It does look really good!
4/27/11 1:46 PM
Renren said...
Wow, love that fabric and glad you stepped out of your usual boundaries on this "ugly" (not!) fabric. Great thing using front/back of this unique fabric. and thanks for all the 80%/85%/90% talk with the bands/bindings. I must keep things like that in mind, she says, rubbing her hands together and heading back to the Fabric Torture Chamber. Great review, as usual!
4/27/11 2:06 PM
Morisot said...
Renren! Hehehee--"Fabric Torture Chamber"
4/27/11 2:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
You made good use of this "ugly" fabric, what a pretty top. The idea of the seam in the back and using both sides of the fabric is very clever!
4/27/11 2:42 PM
Clareew said...
Wow Margaret, that was quick. I still have family around so haven't sewn since Brussels. I did say that the fabric was only 'ugly' in that it wasn't for me. You have made a fantastic garment - well done. Clare
4/27/11 2:59 PM
jannw said...
great looking top..I really like the fabric switch in the back..a great shape! Great sleeves also..in fact your usual great job!
4/27/11 3:51 PM
Patti B said...
What a helpful review of your interesting knit top. Great job of morphing and I think it looks great on you. It's good to step outside our comfort zones.
4/27/11 4:08 PM
treefrog said...
Excellent review! I love what you have done in morphing the patterns and using both sides of the fabric. Your top looks great!
4/27/11 5:57 PM
loti said...
Fabulous t-shirt, and hard to believe that you received it in an ugly fabric swap, you've really done wonders with it.
4/27/11 8:23 PM
loti said...
Fabulous t-shirt, and hard to believe that you received it in an ugly fabric swap, you've really done wonders with it.
4/27/11 8:23 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! Clare, I agree the fabric is certainly not ugly! It wasn't something I would've thought to pick out for myself either, but it's definitely grown on me. Thanks for bringing it to the fabric swap!
4/28/11 5:53 AM
LynneMR said...
Great detailed review! Love your top - great colour and print.
4/28/11 6:29 AM
janet said...
GREAT job with your frankenpattern! You made a BEAUTIFUL, well fitting top.
4/29/11 12:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-104

photo
by: QuiltSewSe...

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now