SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8356 (Shirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 161 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/11 11:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top. The fabric is wild!
4/27/11 11:34 AM
PittyPat said...
Oh.... love the fabric. You did a great job on combining the two patterns into a nice fitting top. Love the adaptation of the back - and changing the yoke fabric to the other side to make it look like a design feature.
4/27/11 12:24 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Brussels PR weekend"... How COOL!!! Really neat, interesting & sexy top, Margaret ;)
4/27/11 1:24 PM
sheels55 said...
I think this might be a European first! Someone actually used their ugly fabric for a garment they would really wear!!! And so quickly! It does look really good!
4/27/11 1:46 PM
Renren said...
Wow, love that fabric and glad you stepped out of your usual boundaries on this "ugly" (not!) fabric. Great thing using front/back of this unique fabric. and thanks for all the 80%/85%/90% talk with the bands/bindings. I must keep things like that in mind, she says, rubbing her hands together and heading back to the Fabric Torture Chamber. Great review, as usual!
4/27/11 2:06 PM
Morisot said...
Renren! Hehehee--"Fabric Torture Chamber"
4/27/11 2:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
You made good use of this "ugly" fabric, what a pretty top. The idea of the seam in the back and using both sides of the fabric is very clever!
4/27/11 2:42 PM
Clareew said...
Wow Margaret, that was quick. I still have family around so haven't sewn since Brussels. I did say that the fabric was only 'ugly' in that it wasn't for me. You have made a fantastic garment - well done. Clare
4/27/11 2:59 PM
jannw said...
great looking top..I really like the fabric switch in the back..a great shape! Great sleeves also..in fact your usual great job!
4/27/11 3:51 PM
Patti B said...
What a helpful review of your interesting knit top. Great job of morphing and I think it looks great on you. It's good to step outside our comfort zones.
4/27/11 4:08 PM
treefrog said...
Excellent review! I love what you have done in morphing the patterns and using both sides of the fabric. Your top looks great!
4/27/11 5:57 PM
loti said...
Fabulous t-shirt, and hard to believe that you received it in an ugly fabric swap, you've really done wonders with it.
4/27/11 8:23 PM
loti said...
Fabulous t-shirt, and hard to believe that you received it in an ugly fabric swap, you've really done wonders with it.
4/27/11 8:23 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! Clare, I agree the fabric is certainly not ugly! It wasn't something I would've thought to pick out for myself either, but it's definitely grown on me. Thanks for bringing it to the fabric swap!
4/28/11 5:53 AM
LynneMR said...
Great detailed review! Love your top - great colour and print.
4/28/11 6:29 AM
janet said...
GREAT job with your frankenpattern! You made a BEAUTIFUL, well fitting top.
4/29/11 12:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6611

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now