SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Lotus Skirt (Lotus Skirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 2360 times 
Reviewed by:petra
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/10/04 8:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
That is really pretty!
8/10/04 8:41 PM
LindaS. said...
It looks great on you, petra, and that border adds so much more interest. Good review, too.
8/10/04 9:00 PM
Levone said...
Very pretty skirt and it looks good on you.
8/10/04 9:05 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking skirt. Nice job.
8/10/04 9:27 PM
Battgirl said...
Your skirt is gorgous. Thanks for this review. I just received this pattern in the mail and was thinking of making it up in a much heavier fabric. I'll take your advice and try something much lighter.
8/10/04 10:21 PM
Teri said...
I love your boarder. I have made this out of silk noil and it worked out great. I am 5'5 and size 10 in RTW and the skirt is flattering. One thing for everyone to remember if you make this up is that the wrong side of the fabric shows in the front drape.
8/10/04 10:30 PM
galadriel45 said...
This looks great on you, love the machine embroidery. Very nice skirt, very nice review. Thanks!
8/10/04 10:32 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty. Your embroidery really accents the drape.
8/11/04 5:20 AM
Skymom said...
I like the way you use embroidery on your clothes. I know it's time-consuming to do things like that border, but it really adds to the looks. Very attractive skirt.
8/11/04 7:38 AM
Hilary said...
beautiful skirt; wish I could carry it off, it looks great on you.
8/11/04 8:41 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Love your embroidery on it - really sets off the draping and the look!
8/11/04 8:44 AM
drsue said...
I'm 5'0" and I made this skirt but altered it to shorten. I had some trouble with it mainly because if my curvey behind. However, it was very pretty and not too overpowering on my small frame. Short people can wear if if altered for size. I really like your hem embellishment. I totally agree about the need for drapey fabric.
8/11/04 9:55 AM
Vibek said...
Are you sure it adds to the hips? I'm surprised as it has a strong vertical line wich is supposed to be slimming.
8/11/04 9:58 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful skirt! You must be very patient to have done so much embroidery.
8/11/04 10:43 AM
SewTabby said...
Very nice skirt, and I like the embroiery as well.
8/11/04 10:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely skirt. I like the border. Did you use a continous or endless type hoop for the border embroidery? I am contemplating buying one of those hoops for my machine as I thought I might like to try something on a skirt or dress similar to what you did.
8/11/04 4:44 PM
petra said...
Actually this particular border is one that I stitched out on the Pfaff 7570 using a design that I bought from Glenda Black (love her designs). For those of you who don't have a Pfaff, the P memories enable you to extend the built in memory stitches. I think I would have gone insane with rehooping - definitely a case for an endless hoop!
8/12/04 6:46 AM
mudcat said...
Beautiful skirt. The border is a nice touch.
8/12/04 12:37 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
I'm surprised you think it added to your hips - I think it looks great. I agree about the border too - that's a lovely touch. I'm not surprised you get lots of compliments in that skirt.
8/12/04 9:59 PM
Modiste Madness said...
This is a lovely skirt. I have wondered what it looked like made up. You never know with the SW patterns. Once again the product is much better than the pattern illustration.
8/13/04 0:01 AM
LiZ said...
Your skirt ooks really lovely and I love the embroidered edge, it really makes the skirt.look classy. Yesterday I went th the Stitches and Craft Show in melbourne [Australia} and the Lotus skirt was in the Fashion Parade made up in Lace fabric with scalloped lace edge down the front. It looked fantastic.
9/2/04 5:51 AM
JDpenelope said...
It's so beautiful! You were too hard on yourself in this review. I might throw caution to the wind and make this, even though I am only 5'2".
10/25/09 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now