Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2011-129 (Knit Top with Bolero) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 228 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:KatC83
photo
About KatC83star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 9/26/09
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/11 10:15 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Aww your face says it all... been there. Thanks for the helpful review.
4/30/11 11:46 PM
KatC83 said...
Hahaha thanks Terri! Yes, I think my face really does reflect my thoughts on this pattern! Oh well, I'll have to make something else to 'cleanse my palate' of the experience ;-)
5/1/11 0:52 AM
Renren said...
This reminds me of a Sandra Betzina top with that bolero over the top. I think it looks great after all your fiddling, but to unpick stitches from velvet . . . oh, goodness. Glad you finished it; I wouldn't have so kudos to you for persevering in the face of such trials.
5/1/11 8:52 AM
taylormade said...
Sounds like you had quite a trial with that pattern. it is soo frustrating to put all the time and fabric into something that's just "not right". Today' fit, in Vogue patterns, has a top that looks similar, and I have made it & it might be just wat you are looking for. It does fit pretty snugly, and I would either self line the whole front (if you use a thin knit)or line with tricot front and back. But it's a well drafted pattern. Good luck on your next project!
5/1/11 8:59 AM
lakaribane said...
Love the sad face, LOL! Great review, too.
5/1/11 11:10 AM
KatC83 said...
Thanks everyone, especially for the suggestions of similar patterns. I hope it saves someone else from having to write a 'sad face' review :-D
5/1/11 3:42 PM
StudioCherie said...
I think you look like the Mona Lisa. I wonder if she was fresh from a sewing project? Great review
4/29/12 11:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 5825
photo
Review by Nancywin on 10/14/09
Read Review

McCalls 6819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9461 Pattern
Burda 9461 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Advance Pattern Company 8436
photo
Review by Graca on 10/21/12
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us