SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2011-129 (Knit Top with Bolero)

5 more reviews
Viewed 228 times 
Reviewed by:KatC83
photo

 
 
About KatC83star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 9/26/09
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/11 10:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Aww your face says it all... been there. Thanks for the helpful review.
4/30/11 11:46 PM
KatC83 said...
Hahaha thanks Terri! Yes, I think my face really does reflect my thoughts on this pattern! Oh well, I'll have to make something else to 'cleanse my palate' of the experience ;-)
5/1/11 0:52 AM
Renren said...
This reminds me of a Sandra Betzina top with that bolero over the top. I think it looks great after all your fiddling, but to unpick stitches from velvet . . . oh, goodness. Glad you finished it; I wouldn't have so kudos to you for persevering in the face of such trials.
5/1/11 8:52 AM
taylormade said...
Sounds like you had quite a trial with that pattern. it is soo frustrating to put all the time and fabric into something that's just "not right". Today' fit, in Vogue patterns, has a top that looks similar, and I have made it & it might be just wat you are looking for. It does fit pretty snugly, and I would either self line the whole front (if you use a thin knit)or line with tricot front and back. But it's a well drafted pattern. Good luck on your next project!
5/1/11 8:59 AM
lakaribane said...
Love the sad face, LOL! Great review, too.
5/1/11 11:10 AM
KatC83 said...
Thanks everyone, especially for the suggestions of similar patterns. I hope it saves someone else from having to write a 'sad face' review :-D
5/1/11 3:42 PM
StudioCherie said...
I think you look like the Mona Lisa. I wonder if she was fresh from a sewing project? Great review
4/29/12 11:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2012-112

photo
by: MelaD

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1324

photo
by: tiadia

Review