SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1227 (misses dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 387 times 
Reviewed by:loti
photo

 
 
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews: 117 (patterns: 110)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/11 12:33 PM
Last Updated:5/1/11 1:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynneMR said... (5/11/11 4:00 AM) Reply
Wow! That looks really hard. Thanks for posting the review and sorry about all your fitting difficulties. I hope you can get it to work in the end!
laurenc0re said... (5/9/11 1:32 PM) Reply
i'm currently working on this pattern as well & i absolutely understand your plight. the bodice is HUGE compared to the finished pattern measurements (i was afraid mine was going to be too small because it was 1/2" smaller than me according to the measurements... ended up being over 2" too big, wtf) & the cups are teeny little nonsense. i also had trouble getting the pattern pieces to all match up, so my bodice has a lot of extra piecing & seaming. in it's natural state, it is way too low to wear a bra with (well, if you don't want your bra to hang out). i'm still working on mine, but it took a couple muslins to get the fit even manageable. blech, vogue.
Margaret said... (5/5/11 2:59 PM) Reply
Looks nicely made, sorry about the fit. It doesn't sound easy getting the cups the right size/shape and those curved seams in the right place... but having the separate cups can definitely be worthwhile for giving a bra-like shape... hope you can get it to work out.
ggf2005 said... (5/3/11 11:58 AM) Reply
thanks for sharing the plight of the full busted chicks!
jannw said... (5/1/11 3:07 PM) Reply
I like the shape and the seaming of the cups...hope you can get it to work without too much effort...would something this long and close fitting be too hot for your summers?
Nancywin said... (5/1/11 2:45 PM) Reply
Your adjustments seem like they have improved the fit greatly. Even on the model, the cups look very scant. Most commercial patterns are drafted for a B cup, so the rest of us have to adjust from there! Lst year I made vogue 8184, which has more boning and can be worn without a bra. You might want to try it.
dfr2010 said... (5/1/11 1:55 PM) Reply
redacted after update ... I do wish you luck on your quest! :)
renren said... (5/1/11 1:22 PM) Reply
That is already a lot of effort! It looks good--too bad about the fit. I guess you are doing this bra-avoidance to be able to not have straps show? I have found that most strapless bras really are not very supportive--they almost need the straps to keep everything secure and in place, so this bodice looks like the perfect thing to offer coverage and support.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Pattern Details