Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1227 (misses dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 382 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/11 12:33 PM
Last Updated:5/1/11 1:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
That is already a lot of effort! It looks good--too bad about the fit. I guess you are doing this bra-avoidance to be able to not have straps show? I have found that most strapless bras really are not very supportive--they almost need the straps to keep everything secure and in place, so this bodice looks like the perfect thing to offer coverage and support.
5/1/11 1:22 PM
dfr2010 said...
redacted after update ... I do wish you luck on your quest! :)
5/1/11 1:55 PM
Nancywin said...
Your adjustments seem like they have improved the fit greatly. Even on the model, the cups look very scant. Most commercial patterns are drafted for a B cup, so the rest of us have to adjust from there! Lst year I made vogue 8184, which has more boning and can be worn without a bra. You might want to try it.
5/1/11 2:45 PM
jannw said...
I like the shape and the seaming of the cups...hope you can get it to work without too much effort...would something this long and close fitting be too hot for your summers?
5/1/11 3:07 PM
ggf2005 said...
thanks for sharing the plight of the full busted chicks!
5/3/11 11:58 AM
Margaret said...
Looks nicely made, sorry about the fit. It doesn't sound easy getting the cups the right size/shape and those curved seams in the right place... but having the separate cups can definitely be worthwhile for giving a bra-like shape... hope you can get it to work out.
5/5/11 2:59 PM
laurenc0re said...
i'm currently working on this pattern as well & i absolutely understand your plight. the bodice is HUGE compared to the finished pattern measurements (i was afraid mine was going to be too small because it was 1/2" smaller than me according to the measurements... ended up being over 2" too big, wtf) & the cups are teeny little nonsense. i also had trouble getting the pattern pieces to all match up, so my bodice has a lot of extra piecing & seaming. in it's natural state, it is way too low to wear a bra with (well, if you don't want your bra to hang out). i'm still working on mine, but it took a couple muslins to get the fit even manageable. blech, vogue.
5/9/11 1:32 PM
LynneMR said...
Wow! That looks really hard. Thanks for posting the review and sorry about all your fitting difficulties. I hope you can get it to work in the end!
5/11/11 4:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Sew Simple 2026 Pullover Top
photo
Review by DeJa Chic on 4/18/12
Read Review

McCalls 6785 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6785 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6578 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6578 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8787 Misses Dress
photo
Review by lah119 on 1/8/14
Read Review

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us