Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1234 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1735 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 33 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/11 2:14 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
68 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbi 29 said...
OMG!!! I LOVE your dress! I just got the pattern last week (because Vogue patterns had a huge sale) along with a bunch of others, and it was not the first one I was going to make - but now it is!!! BUT - only if I can find a gorgeous fabric like yours! It's absolutely PERFECT for this! You look FABULOUS!!
5/2/11 3:03 AM
poppykettle said...
I've been eyeing off this pattern for quite some time now, not being able to figure out whether i could 'do it' or not. I'm going to try after seeing your dress! You look fabulous. And thanks for being the guinea pig and advising on the seeming-ommission of fabric qty... Great work!
5/2/11 3:11 AM
mm said...
What a great dress - made even better by your creative use of fabric. I love the back. Ps: nice shoes.
5/2/11 3:11 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress. It looks lovely on you.
5/2/11 3:34 AM
Terri A said...
Hey that is really amazing! This is just perfect on you and the fabric choice blows my mind.
5/2/11 4:20 AM
sfshaza said...
OMG, Ann. I have this exact fabric and was planning this pattern for it. I guess I won't now. :) It looks great!
5/2/11 6:12 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Awesome!
5/2/11 8:00 AM
Lynngray said...
Very Nice. Looks great on you also !
5/2/11 8:21 AM
MareeAlison said...
Wow, you look absolutely amazing. What a wonderful creation.
5/2/11 8:27 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for this very helpful review of this pattern. I too loved it from the get-go. Now I'm totally inspired to buy it and make it. Your result is just stunning - love, love, love the striped fabric you chose. I'm thinking it needs something like this to highlight the interesting seams. And thanks for all the really helpful warnings.
5/2/11 8:55 AM
carolynw said...
this is absolutely fab. You could not have chosen a better pattern/fabric to go together - really eye catching the best way!
5/2/11 9:25 AM
thirteenstitches said...
IMO, you are a true artiste! Beautiful!!! ; )
5/2/11 9:27 AM
SewWil said...
WOW! This dress is fabulous. The fabric, the color, EVERYTHING about it. Looks great on you.
5/2/11 9:51 AM
happytobehere said...
I look forward to your reviews. You have a wonderful sense of style.
5/2/11 10:08 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Great dress! I have been wanting to see it made up. Thanks for the excellent review.
5/2/11 10:13 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: okay, another pattern I MUST have because of your beautiful creation. If mine turns out half as gorgeous as yours, I'll be happy.
5/2/11 10:22 AM
pegsewer said...
Wonderful interpretation of this dress and that's the perfect fabric. I have mine cut out and all the dots marked like she suggests now to sew it together!
5/2/11 10:48 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I didn't like the dress on the pattern envelope but your version is stunning. Really stunning. The shoes are also perfect.
5/2/11 11:28 AM
Barbara V said...
Fabulous Ann! I had planned to buy this exact fabric as I thought it was quite striking and YES, your use of it on this very wonderful pattern creates a most striking artistic dress. Great job. Excited to have finally gotten my hands on the pattern this weekend with the sale at JoAnns! You look wonderful in it.
5/2/11 11:41 AM
manola6176 said...
This dress is ti die for. You did such a great use of the fabric amazing!!!
5/2/11 12:02 PM
solosmocker said...
Wow! I want this sooooo badly but it has to be in a stripe. Your fabric is perfect and it looks so good on you.
5/2/11 12:17 PM
Raye Ann said...
pretty, fabulous and fun! this looks so nice on you.
5/2/11 12:18 PM
touran said...
You can really pull off the 'alternative' patterns. It's a beautiful dress and impeccably made, as usual.
5/2/11 12:25 PM
Izzie said...
Wow! I love this dress!!! I have some of that fabric and have been wondering what to make...alas, I only have 2 yards. Great job, as usual ;)
5/2/11 12:27 PM
DD1104 said...
I have wanted to see someone make this dress. I have the pattern but wasnt sure what fabric to use. I like the idea of using a stripe. That's a fun fabric, I have some of that too. Not enough though. Yours looks great!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing.
5/2/11 1:53 PM
Marge99 said...
Absolutely lovely!
5/2/11 1:56 PM
sewing for fun said...
Wow! Looks Fantastic! I recently bought the pattern and now must sew it up. Very flattering use of color and design!
5/2/11 2:17 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Love it!!!
5/2/11 5:31 PM
livelife said...
Looks so chic!
5/2/11 5:38 PM
taylormade said...
Hi Anne, Great looking dress on you! I made her last dress twice now, and I'm just about to make this one. i'm so glad you did the review, so that I know what to look for in the construction process. I also know there is a great jumper coming out which I can't wait to make!! So many projects!! Enjoy your dress....It does look wonderful on you, and soo flattering!. Glad to see you back sewing again. Mary T.
5/2/11 6:02 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Fabulous choice of fabric.
5/2/11 8:00 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous dress, never would have attempted the stripe but I'm not as good of a seamstress as you. It looks wonderful on you and a real head turner, in a good way of course.
5/2/11 8:02 PM
VtMartha said...
OMG, Ann! That is incredible. I have the pattern, the same fabric and house paint to go with. It is fabulous!
5/2/11 9:17 PM
RuthieSews said...
What a great dress. How did you feel about the hip flounces? I'm, pear shaped and would be concerned about this, do you think it'd be OK?
5/3/11 2:13 AM
pdiddly said...
the dress looks fab - you must be so pleased with it.
5/3/11 3:05 AM
eruuska said...
Oh! I have this fabric. I've been trying to think of a pattern that would show it off well and you certainly did that! The dress is just gorgeous! I bet you will love wearing it.
5/3/11 7:56 AM
Karine said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this dress - I love it! Your fabric selection is perfect. I was afraid the fullness at the sides would stick out, but I can see from your photos that it drapes beautifully. Great summer dress!
5/3/11 8:41 AM
optimistic said...
Perfect match of fabric to dress. Your version should be on the pattern cover!
5/3/11 9:09 AM
Bonnie O said...
Fun dress, indeed! Looks great!
5/3/11 10:42 AM
Bonnie O said...
Fun dress, indeed! Looks great!
5/3/11 10:42 AM
dingyadi said...
AMAZING! From the pattern photo I had wondered if this style would be hard to wear or what it would look like - now I can see that it is fabulous, particularly with the fabric you have chosen. What a brilliant dress.
5/3/11 12:43 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks everyone for your wonderful responses. Sfshaza...Shams why not? RuthieK: I love the hip flounces but I am not pear shaped. I think if you have a very drapey fabric it will be fine.
5/3/11 1:36 PM
persevering said...
Artistic, Brilliant, Creative, .... and you look FABULOUS ... WOW!
5/3/11 1:38 PM
lamstu said...
Your fabric is perfect for the dress and you look fantastic in it. I like the uneven stripes, and the change in grain across the panels. Your review has made my mind up about this pattern and it's not for me - I just can't pull off the style like you do. Enjoy your great dress!
5/3/11 8:13 PM
Catbird said...
Zing!!! I love it.
5/3/11 8:21 PM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous dress. I love the pattern, and the fabric you chose - and the placement of the stripes - are perfect. And the dress is so flattering. You look simply beautiful in it. I'm glad you reviewed this dress before I make it, because your comments will be very helpful.
5/3/11 9:41 PM
PJH said...
It looks fantastic and you look great! Well done!
5/3/11 11:39 PM
Vibekeinyork said...
Fab fab fab
5/4/11 1:35 AM
annie1129 said...
BEAUTIFUL! But then I love everything you sew!
5/4/11 10:37 PM
janet said...
PERFECT!!!
5/5/11 8:49 PM
USMCMom said...
At the risk of being repetitive...BRAVO! It looks fantastic on you. You have a wonderful sense of style. Thanks for the review!
5/6/11 0:22 AM
Matilda_z said...
I've been waiting for a review on this pattern, and I'm so so glad you are the one who made it first!! I can't wait to make mine, but I'm re-thinking it a bit after reading your tips. Thank you so much, you look terrific!!!
5/8/11 7:02 AM
AnneM said...
You dress is way better than their pattern cover version. Love your fabric print, and the drape works perfectly for this.
5/9/11 3:08 PM
poppyq said...
Do you think I can make this out of a lightwt woven silk if I add a zipper up the back? thx
6/7/11 11:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
poppyq, if you use a woven you will have to insert a long zipper as this is fitted through the waist. Be sure your fabric drapes a lot. I can't be sure this will work even with drape and zip because it calls for stretch in the length as well as the width of the fabric.
6/8/11 10:51 AM
poppyq said...
I have a beautiful silk with a border. Need a dress for a semi formal thing...
6/9/11 3:42 PM
poppyq said...
I am going to buy a zipper today. I'll let you know!!
6/9/11 3:42 PM
poppyq said...
So far so good, now I just have to post a review....
6/13/11 3:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, AS USUAL, and I love your dress! I was just looknig at this pattern, and wanted to see if anyone has made it yet. I don't like that they're giving less and less information on the pattern envelopes these days, as far as finished measurements, etc. Well, ANYWAY, this is just SO cute on you, and I really appreciate your review. I'm glad yuo mentioned about the extra fabric needed, too. I've been looking at some knits on Marcy Tilton's site, and while I certainly don't want to come up short on yardage, I can't afford to buy any EXTRA either. :o)
6/21/11 7:36 PM
Metrofrock said...
I just love the print you chose and the silhouette is so very flattering. I think I'll try it too.
6/23/11 7:18 AM
grey ann said...
Ann, your fabric version looks even better than the pattern envelope's photo! You have a great sense of style and can pull off a garment that would make me look like an overstuffed sofa that was run over by a bus! IF you have it, I say flaunt it! Looks terrific on you.
6/29/11 8:45 PM
thornberry said...
Ann, this dress is absolutely gorgeous! I bought this pattern recently and am really looking forward to making it, especially now that I have read your helpful comments. I am short too, so thanks for all the tips. I really do LOVE your dress and it is stunning on you.
7/15/11 7:44 PM
JillyBe said...
I can't believe I haven't commented on this yet! But you already know how much in love with your version I am! I can't wait to get mine made up!
7/16/11 11:38 PM
Sassy T said...
Absolutely stunning. I love it as a maxi.
2/7/12 10:29 AM
dinahbele said...
Thanks for this review, and thanks for ALL your reviews! This is the first time I've noticed this pattern and, after seeing your dress, I'm going to make it, too. I love how detailed your reviews are. Your details really help!
2/7/12 1:39 PM
sherri930 said...
Wow! Love this on you. Fabric is GREAT! (shoes nice too :) I may have to give this one a try if I can do as good a job as you did!
5/11/12 11:11 AM
threadandthumb said...
Vey Lovely. Love the stripe play!
7/9/12 2:03 PM
Cheryl in Chicago said...
I am going to buy this pattern today. I hope I have a striped fabric in my stash because I love the way you used the pattern.
6/22/13 10:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Material Things 102
photo
Review by Anne Franc... on 3/26/06
Read Review

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2345 Misses'
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 7/8/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us