Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6429 (Misses' Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 701 times 56 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:sunnysewer
photo
About sunnysewerstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/3/09
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/11 0:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mesewlot said...
Love it~ beautiful colors!!
5/5/11 1:43 AM
Bonnie O said...
Your dress is great! I actually love this pattern and have made several as they are so comfy yet flattering. I completely agree about facings with knits.
5/5/11 6:52 AM
MamaSewing said...
I really like the fabric, the colors are great and your dress looks beautiful.
5/5/11 9:31 AM
LynneMR said...
I love your dress - great style and I love the colour and pattern of your fabric.
5/5/11 9:47 AM
Gelbean said...
Love your dress! This is one of my favorite patterns!
5/5/11 10:17 AM
Norsecross said...
I like your sash improvement, good move. I am not a knit fan either, yet somehow feel left out so I to made one...and will now go back to my beloved cottons and India silks :) Skipping the top stitching was also a good move, they make little dresses seem so industrial strength! You make me laugh about ending up with a reverse image from the pattern, I have fallen into that a few times myself, Ha, no harm. The pattern police did not come for me.
5/5/11 10:19 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! I love your choice of fabric for it.
5/5/11 10:33 AM
2takeKate said...
Lovely fabric and what a match for your leather coat! My machine has an adjustable pressure presser foot (sort of "spring-loaded") which helps tremendously with sewing knits in general, especially topstitching. But I think your collar looks good without it. I am just finishing my second version of this dress pattern (sleeveless, no collar) and am having the unruly facings problem. Thanks for the Steam a Seam reminder ;-). I know I will make this one again, too... and will post a review when I'm done!
5/5/11 4:00 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful! I'm new to knits as well, but I am really starting to love them!
5/5/11 4:18 PM
GodsgirlT said...
I love how this turned out. What gorgeous fabric!
5/5/11 8:28 PM
pdiddly said...
the fabric is lovely and any difficulty you had doesn't show.
5/6/11 2:51 AM
mochimo said...
I like your dress! This pattern has been in my to-sew list for a couple of years and I continue to buy fabric to make this dress and then end up using the fabric to sew something else. Maybe I should finally make it...
6/8/11 4:11 PM
sevoo said...
I reversed the sides, too, and I figured out why: The cutting diagram doesn't mark which side of the fabric is which. The text says "for single layer - pin pattern on right side of fabric" but the diagram shows the fabric unshaded, which is "wrong side" in the fabric key. Looking more closely I can see in the cutting layouts where the fabric is folded, they still don't shade one side, so it's just information they omitted from the diagram altogether. I even double-checked, saw that the fabric in the diagram was not-shaded, and said "oops, that's supposed to be pinned on the wrong side" -- and flipped it over. I figured I should say something after I saw all the reviews that talked about cutting it backwards, but nobody explaining *how* it happened so we could avoid it in the future!
1/23/12 8:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 5778
photo
Review by SondraG on 12/21/09
Read Review

McCalls 2339 Pattern ( Size 30 1/2-31 1/2 )
McCalls 2339 Pattern ( Size 30 1/2-31 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7257 Pattern
Burda 7257 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2805
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/3/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us