SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Park Bench patterns> 17 (Williamsburg)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2018 times 
Reviewed by:Modiste Madness
photo

 
 
About Modiste Madnessstar
WI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/04 8:50 PM
Last Updated:8/29/04 6:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JMTDavis said...
I made this pattern many years ago and was satisfied with the results as well. I agree with the reviewer after making the second Park Bench pattern. If you are approximately a pattern size 12 or 14 and 5'4" or so in height (like Mary Lou Rankin) the garments should fit you.
3/16/06 4:48 PM
guineahen said...
Thank-you for the insight. I am also 5'9 1/2" tall and usually wear 16 and 18 rtw sizing. This makes me a little skeptical of size adjustments although I'm ready to tackle them. I plan to wear this outfit at the beginning of April.
3/11/06 8:34 AM
guineahen said...
thank-you for the height insight on this pattern as I am 5'9 1/2" tall. I will most likely have to some major lenght adjustments.
2/5/06 1:35 PM
AnneM said...
I'm not generally fond of this pattern line, for me (styles & sizing won't work well). But I really like the way your outfit came out. Great job.
8/30/04 7:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review of this pattern. I have had this in my stash forever. Glad to see such a thorough review.
8/30/04 6:28 PM
Skymom said...
Rebecca, be careful when you make the pants. I made them in the default size that comes in the envelope, with no alterations; I usually wear a RTW 6 or 8 in pants, and these were so huge on me that I was able to wear them when I was 8 months pregnant. They didn't happen to look that good then, either, by the way, but that was due to a poor choice of fabric. THe linen blend I used, which worked great for the jacket, was way too stiff for the pants. There can be a lot of overlap in the front pleat, so go for something light and flowy to keep bulk down.
8/29/04 7:21 PM
Cassandra59 said...
Thanks for a thorough review. I am also looking forward to seeing your photos. This is also a pattern that I've had in my stash for several years without trying it; it will certainly help to have your review at hand should I decide to attempt it. I agree that PB patterns tend to look very different when made up than they do on the pattern envelope. I saw a couple of Rankin's trunk shows at G Street Fabrics and was quite pleasantly surprised at the possibilities.
8/23/04 5:49 PM
Rebecca D said...
I'm glad to read a review of this and, like others, am eager to see a picture. I tried another Park Bench pattern that didn't work out that well, but have held onto this one as I have always been intrigued by the pants. Thanks for such thorough comments on the construction process.
8/15/04 8:13 AM
Skymom said...
I've made this one and also found that the facing patterns didn't fit--not a big deal if you notice it ahead of time. I'm a narrow-shouldered 5'6", with a small bust measurment, and I recall taking out several inches altogether of width; I was using a linen blend with lots of body and didn't want masses of fabric overwhelming me. This alteration worked just fine. I enjoyed the sewing process; it's fun because there's none of the usual finishing. At one point you suddenly realize you've faced all the edges, and voila--you're done.
8/14/04 7:02 PM
xela said...
Excellent review. Thank you for all the "inside" info. I've had this pattern for years and have yet to try it. The Central Park pattern is a favorite of mine and has been used many different creations. Happy sewing.
8/14/04 1:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I bought this pattern years ago and have yet to attempt it. I have tried PB other patterns for wearable art pieces and I like trying to put the pattern puzzle together. I have seen several of PB patterns made up over the past several years and they are very nice. I agree that you need to plan your adjustments before cutting the pattern to get them to fit . Love to see your photo of this.
8/14/04 9:01 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for an interesting review. Those "noodle boned" drawings are so inscrutable that it is hard to guess what the real garments would look like, especially on real people. I'm looking forward to seeing the picture.
8/13/04 9:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 1779

photo
by: SueV

Review
McCall's 6608

photo
by: Larisa

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now