Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Park Bench patterns: 17 (Williamsburg) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2009 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Modiste Madness
photo
About Modiste Madnessstar
WI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/04 8:50 PM
Last Updated:8/29/04 6:05 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Thanks for an interesting review. Those "noodle boned" drawings are so inscrutable that it is hard to guess what the real garments would look like, especially on real people. I'm looking forward to seeing the picture.
8/13/04 9:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I bought this pattern years ago and have yet to attempt it. I have tried PB other patterns for wearable art pieces and I like trying to put the pattern puzzle together. I have seen several of PB patterns made up over the past several years and they are very nice. I agree that you need to plan your adjustments before cutting the pattern to get them to fit . Love to see your photo of this.
8/14/04 9:01 AM
xela said...
Excellent review. Thank you for all the "inside" info. I've had this pattern for years and have yet to try it. The Central Park pattern is a favorite of mine and has been used many different creations. Happy sewing.
8/14/04 1:05 PM
Skymom said...
I've made this one and also found that the facing patterns didn't fit--not a big deal if you notice it ahead of time. I'm a narrow-shouldered 5'6", with a small bust measurment, and I recall taking out several inches altogether of width; I was using a linen blend with lots of body and didn't want masses of fabric overwhelming me. This alteration worked just fine. I enjoyed the sewing process; it's fun because there's none of the usual finishing. At one point you suddenly realize you've faced all the edges, and voila--you're done.
8/14/04 7:02 PM
Rebecca D said...
I'm glad to read a review of this and, like others, am eager to see a picture. I tried another Park Bench pattern that didn't work out that well, but have held onto this one as I have always been intrigued by the pants. Thanks for such thorough comments on the construction process.
8/15/04 8:13 AM
Cassandra59 said...
Thanks for a thorough review. I am also looking forward to seeing your photos. This is also a pattern that I've had in my stash for several years without trying it; it will certainly help to have your review at hand should I decide to attempt it. I agree that PB patterns tend to look very different when made up than they do on the pattern envelope. I saw a couple of Rankin's trunk shows at G Street Fabrics and was quite pleasantly surprised at the possibilities.
8/23/04 5:49 PM
Skymom said...
Rebecca, be careful when you make the pants. I made them in the default size that comes in the envelope, with no alterations; I usually wear a RTW 6 or 8 in pants, and these were so huge on me that I was able to wear them when I was 8 months pregnant. They didn't happen to look that good then, either, by the way, but that was due to a poor choice of fabric. THe linen blend I used, which worked great for the jacket, was way too stiff for the pants. There can be a lot of overlap in the front pleat, so go for something light and flowy to keep bulk down.
8/29/04 7:21 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review of this pattern. I have had this in my stash forever. Glad to see such a thorough review.
8/30/04 6:28 PM
AnneM said...
I'm not generally fond of this pattern line, for me (styles & sizing won't work well). But I really like the way your outfit came out. Great job.
8/30/04 7:15 PM
guineahen said...
thank-you for the height insight on this pattern as I am 5'9 1/2" tall. I will most likely have to some major lenght adjustments.
2/5/06 1:35 PM
guineahen said...
Thank-you for the insight. I am also 5'9 1/2" tall and usually wear 16 and 18 rtw sizing. This makes me a little skeptical of size adjustments although I'm ready to tackle them. I plan to wear this outfit at the beginning of April.
3/11/06 8:34 AM
JMTDavis said...
I made this pattern many years ago and was satisfied with the results as well. I agree with the reviewer after making the second Park Bench pattern. If you are approximately a pattern size 12 or 14 and 5'4" or so in height (like Mary Lou Rankin) the garments should fit you.
3/16/06 4:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Amy Butler AB033AT Anna Tunic
photo
Review by Sew Mother... on 4/15/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2812
photo
Review by zazzie on 3/23/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us