SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1238 (Misses' Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 339 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/11 1:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
Thanks so very much for this review. I too have loved some Miyake styles, others not so much. I like your idea of treating it like a puzzle to be enjoyed now, and maybe later too. This is a very interesting pattern.
5/9/11 2:21 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a fun pattern and I love how your dress turned out. It looks very comfortable, whatever you decide to wear it for. I'm looking forward to making it and appreciate your comments, especially about sizing.
5/9/11 2:43 PM
hmacski said...
Hi Ann: I'm sitting on the fence about this one, as I think you are. I love the contrast fabrics and love the swoop at the hip. I certainly think it sings way more than the beige on beige. I wonder if it's the neckline that makes one think 'muumuu'? Helen
5/9/11 4:37 PM
VtMartha said...
Ann, I think it looks really cute on you - especially the way you blocked it. I purchased the pattern and might actually sew it after seeing yours. eta: I am sewing it now!
5/9/11 5:40 PM
Barbara V said...
What a unique pattern and most eye catching with your choice of fabrics. It does look perfect to wear on warm summer days. I was surprised to read that it was an easier Miyake to assemble as it has a mystery look to it. Nice work!
5/9/11 7:38 PM
mad stash said...
This particular Miyake dress does look mumu-ish made up, but I wonder how much of it has to do with the weight of fabric. Miyake says to use knits for EVERYTHING, but the picture on the pattern appears to be made of a featherweight silk. Maybe the only way a person could wear that much drapey fabric and still look hot would be if the fabric was so fabulously light, floaty and ethereal that the draped tiers hadn't much volume. I bought this pattern even though I wasn't sure about how flattering it would be. Like everyone who has their doubts about the wearability of this dress but still bought it, the cleverness of the design was so charming that it won me over. (Plus the $3.99 pattern sale helped.) Based on your helpful review I'll still take the plunge when I can find some super, super, super lightweight, floaty material. If it doesn't turn out, like you said, it could always be worn as a nightgown. :)
5/9/11 7:46 PM
Athene said...
You look lovely to me. I never fail to be amazed at how well you choose fabric to suit the style. This was one Vogue pattern I passed up at the last sale. Now after seeing your version I want the pattern.
5/9/11 9:40 PM
FreyaStark said...
It doesn't look too bad to me. It certainly looks better than a muumuu. Keep it, and wear it when you're in the mood.
5/10/11 6:03 AM
pegsewer said...
I can always count on you to make up these new ones! thanks. You may think it looks like a mu-mu but I think it looks GREAT on you!
5/10/11 5:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2059

photo
by: Bichoodle

Review