SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Plaza Jacket & Pants (Plaza Jacket and Pant)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2644 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/04 8:20 PM
Last Updated:11/3/08 6:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Towanda said...
Lisa, I love your outfit. It looks great on you. I bought this pattern but was hesitant to use it because of all the fabric in the back. Thanks for the button addition. I see this pattern being used soon and several times.
8/15/04 8:48 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Great job, also , LOVE the new hair!!!
8/15/04 9:02 PM
PVA said...
Lisa, this is really great! Thanks for the review & photos. The new hairdo is wonderful! The whole look is just really "uptown" as a good friend of mine would say! 'Way to go!
8/15/04 9:54 PM
joan said...
Great job on the jkt. and great review....Now I know how I am going to use a wonderful single big button that I have.
8/15/04 11:13 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Ditto!
8/15/04 11:44 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I like the button detail on the back and the fabric is just perfect. But what I really love is that haircut. You must change your avatar to show the new chic you!
8/16/04 2:32 AM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, Lisa, I didn't think I'd like this style on but your version is very flattering. I'd say Bless HIS heart 'cause he missed it: this doesn't need blessing at all! Poor baby might not want a hot mama hangin' with him... :)
8/16/04 4:17 AM
jlg said...
Lisa, your jacket looks great, and you look so pretty.
8/16/04 5:20 AM
JoleneF said...
I think the outfit looks great!
8/16/04 7:20 AM
cindyann said...
That's a great jacket. Very interesting and I love you button detail. Can you imagine what we'd look like if we let a 16 yo dress us? I think MaryBeth is right. Just didn't like all the attention you were getting. ;)
8/16/04 7:28 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Ladies, you have me cracking up! If I let my son pick my clothes, I'd be wearing the Lands' End Mom look all the time. It's funny; I don't remember paying much attention to what my mother wore; but then she pretty much only wore 'mom' clothes. What is really funny is that this kid wears his hair spiked and sometimes painted, bicycle chains on his wallet and pants 3 sizes too big for him. He really is a good kid, despite his taste in clothing, and most of our wardrobe criticisms are offered and taken with a grain of salt... but I will come back and reread all your kind comments if I catch too much chaff about the way I look ;). BTW, yesterday was an unusally good hair day. I will change the photo when I get a round tuit...
8/16/04 8:07 AM
SouthernStitch said...
What a great outfit (and hair too). My DD would love it if I made this and wore it. DS would probably have the same reaction as yours!
8/16/04 9:17 AM
Skymom said...
Lisa, you look great in this outfit. Very much the high-end boutique/designer look. All you need is some bike chains to pull it all together.
8/16/04 10:08 AM
sewywabbit said...
This works on you! I am not such a big fan of the pattern but your fabric selection makes this avant-garde without being weird. BTW, there are several garments my kids have deemed "unacceptable to wear in their presence", and if I let them dress me, I'd have low slung jeans and a belly ring. (Of course, I wear what I want)
8/16/04 10:59 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love the whole outfit on you. And..especially like the button in the back. Next time I make this (I've made once), I'm going to incorporate the button idea. Thanks for terrific review. I may even try the pants.
8/16/04 11:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute outfit. Love your new hairstyle. Very flattering. I am glad you showed the back of this jacket.
8/16/04 12:15 PM
Rustybobn said...
Love it, Lisa! You look great!
8/16/04 1:22 PM
Mini said...
Lisa, I would never have predicted that this out fit would work-the pattern illustration looks sort of like a tent. You look so chic and sophisticated, and the new do looks great. (Make that jacket in black denim with some rips and florescent fabric paint, and your teenager will probably love it too LOL.)
8/17/04 8:19 AM
AuntieShel said...
Hi Lisa, Thanks for the great review and as always, for a good laugh besides. Wonderful outfit on you and count me in with all the others who love your new 'do!
8/17/04 12:48 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I like the button on the back. Sewing Workshop just came out with a download for a vest version of the jacket. I think I'll use the button. Its so great that a review made 3 years ago can be helpful to me now!
10/25/07 10:35 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I downloaded the vest modification yesterday, too! ;) I printed it out to put in the envelope w/the original pattern...it looks cool. I like the length on the vest, too; I think you could probably lengthen the sleeves (add the 5" that the vest pattern removes from the width) and have a variation on the jacket, too. BTW, I've noticed that the Plaza jacket has been used by several folks over the last three years as a Wearable Art canvas...piecing, trapunto, applique...lots of different things that all look fabulous (and fabulously expensive). If I ever get a fiberly artistic itch, I know what pattern to go to!
10/26/07 8:21 AM
Schnauzer said...
Love the jacket and the hair. Very nice!
11/3/08 7:47 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I'm so pleased that you were able to save enough of the black boucle to make your jacket; it's really special and you wear the style so well. I like the minimized version greatly. Lovely, Lily
11/3/08 9:29 PM
j222b said...
Winning combo of fabric and successful-altered-pattern. Thanks so much for this review.
11/4/08 2:00 PM
Athene said...
Glad to see you made the pattern again. I love the jacket. I have one cut out since August or early Sept, but have not had a chance to sew it up. I really must try harder.
11/5/08 10:47 PM
Sanibelle said...
I don't know how I missed your 2nd version, especially since I loved the first one so much. Thanks for showing how it looks with another type of fabric and altering the width of the panels. It's a beauty - I hope you're wearing it a lot!
4/15/09 2:45 PM
Carla J. said...
Thank you for this very helpful review. I plan to make these pants and am looking for fabric suggestions which really work with it! I appreciate your input and the outfit looks great! (Forget the "bless your heart"! LOL.)
5/9/09 4:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sis Boom Agnes Tunic (Girl\'s World

photo
by: meleliza

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now
Papercut Patterns 1001

photo
by: devviePuu

Review