SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4954 (Jacket - design your own)

19 more reviews
Viewed 2440 times 
Reviewed by:petra
photo

 
 
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/04 9:27 PM
Last Updated:8/15/04 9:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
What a beautiful jacket - well done! I love all the detail.
1/25/05 9:15 PM
Loreli said...
Petra, its beautifull!!!!!!!
8/20/04 0:15 AM
petra said...
Thank you for the nice comments. I wore this for the first time yesterday, and it felt great, fits like a glove. I made the button loops using narrow self-stuffed bias tubes - take a piece of bias 4-6" long x 1". Fold RS together and stitch 1/8" from the fold, using a 1mm stitch and stretching slightly as you sew. Trim to lslightly less than 1/8". Uisng large needle and doubled thread, take a couple of stitches through the fold at one end, drop needle through and invert tube. No cording needed!
8/17/04 5:31 AM
candyo said...
I just cut my pattern pieces for this last nite! Thank you for the first of what will be many reviews for this jacket! Have you seen our sewalong on the message boards?
8/16/04 9:14 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Petra, a very nice review. I have this pattern and have not tried it yet. I have some nice fabrics waiting for it. Thanks for the info regarding the buttons. I know you used the lining fabric for loops, did you cover cording or something with them. Inquiry minds want to know.
8/16/04 7:00 PM
AnneM said...
Very classy looking. Those buttons are a perfect match. I bought this pattern right when I saw it, now i just need to find the time to make it. Thanks for the inspiration & information.
8/16/04 11:55 AM
galadriel45 said...
Petra, thanks for reviewing this - I have the pattern and it is in the "cycle" to sew. You have once again done an incredible, professional job. It is a joy to see your work.
8/16/04 10:00 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I too love this jacket pattern, and should have my own review out as soon as I get around to the real one. Your buttons match the jacket so well - it really is awesome!!
8/16/04 9:33 AM
Deepika said...
Awesome! what a nice jacket.
8/16/04 9:28 AM
LoriB said...
Very nice! The jacket looks fantastic! I have this pattern and am inspired to try it.
8/16/04 8:51 AM
bluestreakmi said...
Beautiful jacket and a great review. Love the red trim between the lining and facing.
8/16/04 7:39 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful. I love your buttons! You got a much trimmer fit in the back than I did with this pattern. Your red trim really sets it off.
8/16/04 7:16 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Ooh, nice! A lot of us are using this pattern (or at least planning to use it) in the Chanel sew-along on the message boards. It's so nice to see a finished version!
8/16/04 6:25 AM
Darla in PA said...
Petra, what I can see of your jacket it's beautiful. (I'm rarely able to see the project photo.) Great job on the details.
8/16/04 6:05 AM
MelissaL88 said...
Petra, Beautiful jacket! Thank you for the thoughtful review. I really like the buttons with the button loops. They add a very nice RTW touch to the jacket. This pattern is on my "list" for this fall. Now I think I'll move it up to the top.
8/16/04 5:56 AM
jlg said...
So pretty and elegant and expensive looking.
8/16/04 5:16 AM
MaryBeth said...
Excellent job, petra. Love the classy lining and piping. I would rather see a pic of it on you, though. Love the fabric.
8/16/04 4:21 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Looks like you just bought it from the smartest RTW botique--and pair a ton of $$$ for it, but I think you're the smart one. I love the fit and the fabric is wonderful. Great job.
8/16/04 2:42 AM
KristenI said...
I love these jackets. I think I'd like to try view H. Thx for reviewing.
8/16/04 0:24 AM
Irene said...
This is a beautiful jacket, Petra! Thank you for the close-ups for sharing your exotic button source.
8/15/04 11:02 PM
drsue said...
Very excellent, and those buttons are wonderful.
8/15/04 10:37 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Thanks for a helpful review. It's a lovely jacket.
8/15/04 10:05 PM
Melissa S. said...
I don't know how I missed this great pattern when I looked at the catalog yesterday. Well done!
8/15/04 10:03 PM
PVA said...
What a lovely jacket! I would love to see you in it, perhaps when you post the next photo? Anyway, thanks for this review & all the photos. It's a really great jacket!
8/15/04 9:42 PM
alicia said...
Petra, this jacket is beautiful!!! Go big - can't wait to see your silk version. Nice work!
8/15/04 9:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1120

photo
by: julliams

Review
Simplicity 2584

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now