SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2004-123 (Mock Wrap Top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1822 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/04 7:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
What a lovely top. It has a nice drape. Your fabric must be perfect for that pattern.
8/16/04 7:33 PM
PVA said...
Wow, that is beautiful! Thanks for the review, & I hope you will review the dress when it is done.
8/16/04 8:01 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty on you. Thanks for the review.
8/16/04 8:04 PM
SandraB said...
Lovely, lovely top. Thanks for a good review.
8/16/04 8:17 PM
JDpenelope said...
You look Totally Elegant in this beautiful top. Clever girl to figure out the wedgie trick.
8/16/04 8:37 PM
Karen Bowers said...
how does this compare to your christine jonson wraptop? it looks quite similar except for the lack of ties.
8/16/04 9:03 PM
MsConnie said...
What a beautiful top! I have a Pucci print buttermilk from EOS & was going to make the dress, but that might be a little too much flamboyance - this top looks perfect. And thanks especially for the tip on the sleeve.
8/16/04 11:48 PM
kira said...
Thank you so very much for this review!!! I traced my pattern pieces out last week, but was a bit worried and then today read you great review. I am using a sweater type knit I purchased years ago in Italy and was worried that the gather on the side would (well, make me look thick) not look good, but I see it should not be a problem. I love the top made from this pattern on page 77. Also many other great looking patterns in the 5/2004 Burda issue. Thanks again!!
8/17/04 3:16 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty top! Wraps look so good.
8/17/04 5:45 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful, as usual! :-)
8/17/04 6:24 AM
cindyann said...
Just great. Love the sleeves!
8/17/04 7:23 AM
Lisette said...
Thanks for the review, I have fabric waiting to be made up in the dress pattern.
8/17/04 7:24 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Top is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your little boo-boo so we can look for this pitfall and avoid it. It sure doesn't show. Hope you'll update with photo of the dress.
8/17/04 8:52 AM
alicia said...
Your solution doesn't show at all - the top looks GREAT. Perfect fit.
8/17/04 10:33 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
You are all so kind! Thanks so much for your comments. Karen, good question. This top is much looser fitting overall than the CJ mock wrap top. Since the sleeve on this top is kimono style, there's a lot more fabric in the shoulder and upper arm area. While the CJ top would pretty much require a fabric with at leat 50% stretch, this top could conceivably be made in a non-stretch fabric, as long as one paid attention to the fit of the sleeve, which is really the only close-fitting area on the pattern.
8/17/04 10:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top and a great save. I like the look of this top.
8/17/04 5:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Other Simplicity 5685

photo
by: caper81

Review
Simplicity 2862

photo
by: Renren

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now