Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2004-123 (Mock Wrap Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1822 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/04 7:21 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
What a lovely top. It has a nice drape. Your fabric must be perfect for that pattern.
8/16/04 7:33 PM
PVA said...
Wow, that is beautiful! Thanks for the review, & I hope you will review the dress when it is done.
8/16/04 8:01 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty on you. Thanks for the review.
8/16/04 8:04 PM
SandraB said...
Lovely, lovely top. Thanks for a good review.
8/16/04 8:17 PM
JDpenelope said...
You look Totally Elegant in this beautiful top. Clever girl to figure out the wedgie trick.
8/16/04 8:37 PM
Karen Bowers said...
how does this compare to your christine jonson wraptop? it looks quite similar except for the lack of ties.
8/16/04 9:03 PM
MsConnie said...
What a beautiful top! I have a Pucci print buttermilk from EOS & was going to make the dress, but that might be a little too much flamboyance - this top looks perfect. And thanks especially for the tip on the sleeve.
8/16/04 11:48 PM
kira said...
Thank you so very much for this review!!! I traced my pattern pieces out last week, but was a bit worried and then today read you great review. I am using a sweater type knit I purchased years ago in Italy and was worried that the gather on the side would (well, make me look thick) not look good, but I see it should not be a problem. I love the top made from this pattern on page 77. Also many other great looking patterns in the 5/2004 Burda issue. Thanks again!!
8/17/04 3:16 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty top! Wraps look so good.
8/17/04 5:45 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful, as usual! :-)
8/17/04 6:24 AM
cindyann said...
Just great. Love the sleeves!
8/17/04 7:23 AM
Lisette said...
Thanks for the review, I have fabric waiting to be made up in the dress pattern.
8/17/04 7:24 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Top is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your little boo-boo so we can look for this pitfall and avoid it. It sure doesn't show. Hope you'll update with photo of the dress.
8/17/04 8:52 AM
alicia said...
Your solution doesn't show at all - the top looks GREAT. Perfect fit.
8/17/04 10:33 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
You are all so kind! Thanks so much for your comments. Karen, good question. This top is much looser fitting overall than the CJ mock wrap top. Since the sleeve on this top is kimono style, there's a lot more fabric in the shoulder and upper arm area. While the CJ top would pretty much require a fabric with at leat 50% stretch, this top could conceivably be made in a non-stretch fabric, as long as one paid attention to the fit of the sleeve, which is really the only close-fitting area on the pattern.
8/17/04 10:58 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top and a great save. I like the look of this top.
8/17/04 5:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 6355
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 12/7/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 08-2010-03 Blouse
photo
Review by treefrog on 10/24/11
Read Review

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us