SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2004-123 (Mock Wrap Top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1822 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/04 7:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top and a great save. I like the look of this top.
8/17/04 5:34 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
You are all so kind! Thanks so much for your comments. Karen, good question. This top is much looser fitting overall than the CJ mock wrap top. Since the sleeve on this top is kimono style, there's a lot more fabric in the shoulder and upper arm area. While the CJ top would pretty much require a fabric with at leat 50% stretch, this top could conceivably be made in a non-stretch fabric, as long as one paid attention to the fit of the sleeve, which is really the only close-fitting area on the pattern.
8/17/04 10:58 AM
alicia said...
Your solution doesn't show at all - the top looks GREAT. Perfect fit.
8/17/04 10:33 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Top is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your little boo-boo so we can look for this pitfall and avoid it. It sure doesn't show. Hope you'll update with photo of the dress.
8/17/04 8:52 AM
Lisette said...
Thanks for the review, I have fabric waiting to be made up in the dress pattern.
8/17/04 7:24 AM
cindyann said...
Just great. Love the sleeves!
8/17/04 7:23 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful, as usual! :-)
8/17/04 6:24 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty top! Wraps look so good.
8/17/04 5:45 AM
kira said...
Thank you so very much for this review!!! I traced my pattern pieces out last week, but was a bit worried and then today read you great review. I am using a sweater type knit I purchased years ago in Italy and was worried that the gather on the side would (well, make me look thick) not look good, but I see it should not be a problem. I love the top made from this pattern on page 77. Also many other great looking patterns in the 5/2004 Burda issue. Thanks again!!
8/17/04 3:16 AM
MsConnie said...
What a beautiful top! I have a Pucci print buttermilk from EOS & was going to make the dress, but that might be a little too much flamboyance - this top looks perfect. And thanks especially for the tip on the sleeve.
8/16/04 11:48 PM
Karen Bowers said...
how does this compare to your christine jonson wraptop? it looks quite similar except for the lack of ties.
8/16/04 9:03 PM
JDpenelope said...
You look Totally Elegant in this beautiful top. Clever girl to figure out the wedgie trick.
8/16/04 8:37 PM
SandraB said...
Lovely, lovely top. Thanks for a good review.
8/16/04 8:17 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty on you. Thanks for the review.
8/16/04 8:04 PM
PVA said...
Wow, that is beautiful! Thanks for the review, & I hope you will review the dress when it is done.
8/16/04 8:01 PM
AnneM said...
What a lovely top. It has a nice drape. Your fabric must be perfect for that pattern.
8/16/04 7:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Butterick 6984

photo
by: fourkid

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: Montarvill...

Review
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now