SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> Sporty Sarong Short (Sporty Sarong Short)

2 more reviews
Viewed 609 times 
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/13/11 8:47 PM
Last Updated:5/14/11 12:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sandysewin said...
Thanks for the tip on making this out of knit. I'd made one out of rayon, but wondered if it would groooooowwwww when made out of knit. I LOVE the idea of making the shorts back out of a completely different fabric!
7/23/11 8:03 PM
marec said...
These are wonderful!
5/31/11 3:50 PM
marec said...
These are wonderful!
5/31/11 3:50 PM
cerulean said...
It looks really cute and they are a really nice change of style from the usual running shorts! Great job!
5/15/11 6:21 PM
Raye Ann said...
Loti, thank you so much!! Ingenious solution;)
5/14/11 7:35 PM
Nancywin said...
Wow! that was quick Loti! Really cute shorts and they look great on you!
5/14/11 3:25 PM
psm484 said...
I'm wondering how it would be to make the over skirt detachable? You could have more than one over skirt this way. Maybe it wouldn't be as comfortable though. ?
5/14/11 10:44 AM
eruuska said...
I downloaded this, but haven't gone any farther. I think I'll go stash diving after seeing yours! Thanks for the tip about the fabric and seaming the ties as a possibility
5/14/11 8:44 AM
Margaret said...
Interesting pattern and fabric, looks very cute on you!
5/14/11 6:30 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the review I was very curious about this pattern. Nice result!
5/14/11 5:40 AM
LynneMR said...
This looks super cute - thanks for the great review.
5/14/11 3:46 AM
bananaoil said...
Thanks, I downloaded this too. Now, I might make it up. Yours look nice.
5/14/11 1:22 AM
loti said...
Raye Ann, sorry I didn't try them on until the skirt was attached and the elastic was inserted. I plan on wearing them with a tank top. Katelew - LOL sorry, when you posted about it, I suddenly found myself at fabric.com downloading. Thank you everyone for your comments, I decided to turn up the serged edge and stitch, I think it looks a bit nicer now.
5/13/11 11:48 PM
Raye Ann said...
thank you, loti! i downloaded this today but hadn't looked up the missing size chart yet:) I hate tucking tops into elastic, so what is your verdict on the drapey, flared shorts without the skirt??
5/13/11 11:41 PM
Renren said...
Love 'em, Loti! They look great! Congratz on being the first to review them, too, and based on the comments, these might get sewn a lot this summer.
5/13/11 11:36 PM
jannw said...
very cute...that is a lot of fabric in those!
5/13/11 11:04 PM
katlew03 said...
Hey, you beat me to it. I was going to make this today but too much other stuff got in the way. I think your shorts turned out really nice and will definitely try to make them very soon.
5/13/11 10:54 PM
Riesie said...
I'm so glad you submitted this review. I saw the pattern on the fabric.com website and was dithering. Thanks for helping me decide to download it after all.
5/13/11 10:08 PM
SexiSadi said...
I was just asking today if anyone really knew if it was true that this pattern took 2.75 yards of fabric. Imagine my happiness when I saw this review on the main page! :) THEN, imagine my sadness when I read that you didn't know the yardage because you used scraps. :( lol ANyway, I may just have to break down and buy some of the $3 a yard chiffon clearance from fabric.com to get some cheap yardage to try this out. lol Thanks for the review!
5/13/11 10:05 PM
michellep74 said...
These are really cute on you--I think you've sold me! I like wearing shorts on weekends but hate how casual they look--I think these would solve that problem.
5/13/11 9:55 PM
crazygrad said...
I think it looks fantastic on you. I really want to make this for summer activities. It HAS to be cheaper than the Terry athletic shorts I got on clearance. (Price is okay on clearance, but the standard price is jaw dropping.)
5/13/11 8:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-139

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Lekala Patterns 4100

photo
by: Michelle L

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

More Info