Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: Sporty Sarong Short (Sporty Sarong Short) - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 594 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/13/11 8:47 PM
Last Updated:5/14/11 12:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
I think it looks fantastic on you. I really want to make this for summer activities. It HAS to be cheaper than the Terry athletic shorts I got on clearance. (Price is okay on clearance, but the standard price is jaw dropping.)
5/13/11 8:54 PM
michellep74 said...
These are really cute on you--I think you've sold me! I like wearing shorts on weekends but hate how casual they look--I think these would solve that problem.
5/13/11 9:55 PM
SexiSadi said...
I was just asking today if anyone really knew if it was true that this pattern took 2.75 yards of fabric. Imagine my happiness when I saw this review on the main page! :) THEN, imagine my sadness when I read that you didn't know the yardage because you used scraps. :( lol ANyway, I may just have to break down and buy some of the $3 a yard chiffon clearance from fabric.com to get some cheap yardage to try this out. lol Thanks for the review!
5/13/11 10:05 PM
Riesie said...
I'm so glad you submitted this review. I saw the pattern on the fabric.com website and was dithering. Thanks for helping me decide to download it after all.
5/13/11 10:08 PM
katlew03 said...
Hey, you beat me to it. I was going to make this today but too much other stuff got in the way. I think your shorts turned out really nice and will definitely try to make them very soon.
5/13/11 10:54 PM
jannw said...
very cute...that is a lot of fabric in those!
5/13/11 11:04 PM
Renren said...
Love 'em, Loti! They look great! Congratz on being the first to review them, too, and based on the comments, these might get sewn a lot this summer.
5/13/11 11:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
thank you, loti! i downloaded this today but hadn't looked up the missing size chart yet:) I hate tucking tops into elastic, so what is your verdict on the drapey, flared shorts without the skirt??
5/13/11 11:41 PM
loti said...
Raye Ann, sorry I didn't try them on until the skirt was attached and the elastic was inserted. I plan on wearing them with a tank top. Katelew - LOL sorry, when you posted about it, I suddenly found myself at fabric.com downloading. Thank you everyone for your comments, I decided to turn up the serged edge and stitch, I think it looks a bit nicer now.
5/13/11 11:48 PM
bananaoil said...
Thanks, I downloaded this too. Now, I might make it up. Yours look nice.
5/14/11 1:22 AM
LynneMR said...
This looks super cute - thanks for the great review.
5/14/11 3:46 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the review I was very curious about this pattern. Nice result!
5/14/11 5:40 AM
Margaret said...
Interesting pattern and fabric, looks very cute on you!
5/14/11 6:30 AM
eruuska said...
I downloaded this, but haven't gone any farther. I think I'll go stash diving after seeing yours! Thanks for the tip about the fabric and seaming the ties as a possibility
5/14/11 8:44 AM
psm484 said...
I'm wondering how it would be to make the over skirt detachable? You could have more than one over skirt this way. Maybe it wouldn't be as comfortable though. ?
5/14/11 10:44 AM
Nancywin said...
Wow! that was quick Loti! Really cute shorts and they look great on you!
5/14/11 3:25 PM
Raye Ann said...
Loti, thank you so much!! Ingenious solution;)
5/14/11 7:35 PM
cerulean said...
It looks really cute and they are a really nice change of style from the usual running shorts! Great job!
5/15/11 6:21 PM
marec said...
These are wonderful!
5/31/11 3:50 PM
marec said...
These are wonderful!
5/31/11 3:50 PM
sandysewin said...
Thanks for the tip on making this out of knit. I'd made one out of rayon, but wondered if it would groooooowwwww when made out of knit. I LOVE the idea of making the shorts back out of a completely different fabric!
7/23/11 8:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8489 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by heatherose... on 7/15/09
Read Review

Butterick 4136 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )
Butterick 4136 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1331 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1331 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5679 Misses' Top
photo
Review by valerie se... on 6/18/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us