SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6677 (Misses Tunics)

12 more reviews
Viewed 468 times 
Reviewed by:SewSho
photo

 
 
About SewShostar
THAILAND
Member since: 2/23/10
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/11 4:10 AM
Last Updated:5/16/11 4:14 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
poppykettle said...
i love the fabric you've used around the neck and waist :) Good work!
5/16/11 6:46 AM
MNBarb said...
After looking at your photo I thought, "that's one of the cutest tunics I've seen made from this pattern" only to then read that you didn't like it. Unless this is a case of great photography, this top is so cute on you! The bodice appears to be semi-fitted and not muu muu-ish, but flattering. Words of wisdom from a AA bust, when you can't fill out the top buy an add-a-size padded bra. They work wonders and prevent the need for a small bust adjustment.
5/16/11 7:03 AM
sewing for fun said...
Your top is absolutely beautiful - that combo of sheer and floral print are SO pretty! Maybe you can tweak the pattern to remove the gap... I have similar problems with tops even with a 36H bust - I believe it is the shape of the upper chest in my case, and have been able to fix it by taking numerous tiny darts in pattern piece where gaping occurs. Serendipity makes a similar tunic and now you have inspired me to try it.
5/16/11 7:43 AM
SewSho said...
Thx guys, perhaps I'm just feeling it's 'not me' though my DH says he likes it. @MNBarb, yeah I'm wearing my most paderific bra in the pic! it's an upper chest thing I think, perhaps I've been jaded by celebrity boobs, they seem to start at the collar bone!
5/16/11 8:01 AM
Myspirit4 said...
I absolutely love this top! The fabrics you chose are just beautiful..and, I think it looks great on you! :)
5/16/11 9:09 AM
Nanax4 said...
I think the clue is your comment that, "it did not look how I wanted." Try to forget your original mental image and just look at the way the tunic is. It is really lovely, very unique, and (as far as I'm concerned) very flattering on you.
5/16/11 9:24 AM
ButtonFaith said...
I don't know...I'm really loving this one! I agree with Nanax4..when something doesn't come out as we originally envisioned it we tend to be disappointed! This is really lovely and looks lovely on you..I hope you grow to love it!
5/16/11 9:53 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty top. I like your fabric combination. It looks very good on you.
5/16/11 10:45 AM
CypGrl said...
Was surprised to read that you don't just love this top. So pretty on you.
5/16/11 11:41 AM
Aroura said...
I'm sorry about the bust gaping, but it looks pretty minor, not really noticable, in the full pictures at least. I think it turned out very pretty!
5/16/11 1:11 PM
twinkle72 said...
I also think you did a great a job and that the tunic is really cute.
5/16/11 1:12 PM
loti said...
That is very cute, the Gaping issue is something that can be corrected very easily, here's a link to a the sewing divas website where they corrected this very same issue. http://thesewingdivas.wordpress.com/2006/05/22/mccalls-5137-final/ I think this is a New Look 6677, I tried to look it up on the Simplicity site and it doesn't exist.
5/16/11 2:41 PM
Hilary said...
I am sorry you don't like how your top came out~I am with the other commentors, though-it looks really cute on you! And the fabrics are lovely. I agree also that the gaping issue is very easy to resolve; taking little darts in the paper pattern around the neck (where the gaping occurs) works wonders. I have to do that all the time, and it really helps. Good luck!
5/16/11 3:11 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Really cute top!
5/16/11 8:56 PM
mm said...
I think it looks great.
5/17/11 5:54 AM
pdiddly said...
that is such a pretty top
5/17/11 8:03 AM
Woolygal said...
You did a beautiful job on this top. I just love the fabric you chose.
5/17/11 8:49 AM
SewSho said...
Ooh so many great comments! Thx guys, I'm looking at it in a different light now! @Loti Thanks for the link, just what I need! And Doh yes it is New Look not Simplicity! I've edited so it comes up correctly now,thx:)
5/17/11 12:45 PM
waltzqueen said...
Ooohhh! Very, very pretty top. I love the delicate elegance of the burn out fabric. Your tunic is definitely prettier than the tops on the pattern cover.
5/17/11 5:55 PM
21wale said...
This is such a pretty tunic! I'm biased in this department, of course, but I think it's a flattering look
5/17/11 7:36 PM
21wale said...
...(continued) for the current bustage (: Hope you're able to get a good fix for the gaping, as I'm sure it'll be something you can use for other tops you sew.
5/17/11 7:37 PM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Very cute, flattering and cool for summer!
5/18/11 4:52 PM
idesign said...
I was browsing the reviews and only clicking on the very few that stood out as exceptional. Well, you know I clicked on yours! Looks fantastic!
5/20/11 7:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 2831

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now