SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1115 (Chado Ralph Rucci tunic)

3 more reviews
Viewed 767 times 
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/11 5:53 PM
Last Updated:5/21/11 5:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riversinger said...
How funny! I just pulled this same pattern out, thinking I wanted to somehow fit this into my wardrobe. I've been thinking about opening it down the front center and making it into a jacket. I really like what you did with it. And in my favorite color! is it easy to take on and off?
5/20/11 10:20 PM
loti said...
It is pretty easy to take on and off, I was thinking about any circumstance where you would need the zipper, and can't think of one. Opening it down the front would be a really good idea.
5/20/11 11:09 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Very smart looking.
5/20/11 11:43 PM
LynneMR said...
This looks such an elegant style - I love the neckline and sleeve shape. Great fabric choice.
5/21/11 2:13 AM
Athene said...
What fabulous raiinwear. I really like Rucci patterns. I never thought of making this one because I'm not sure the style would suit me, but you really made it work in the rainwear fabric.
5/21/11 2:16 AM
Clareew said...
great, you have done a brilliant job
5/21/11 2:46 AM
Renren said...
Oh, this is a wonderful garment. It's seems almost architectural with those sculpted lines--another monument to your sewing skills! Just came back to check the full-fledged review. Your seaming is meticulous. Thanks for all the construction info/details/photos.
5/21/11 12:27 PM
PittyPat said...
Absolutely love the color! And a great job you did on the pattern. Looks so neat - and not your typical 'rainwear'. Great job.
5/21/11 5:34 PM
lamstu said...
Fantastic top! I never thought of it as outerwear but it is brilliant. I am intrigued to try this pattern after your favorable review and seeing your great result (and because I'm curious to see how the gusset seams are finished).
5/21/11 5:45 PM
annie1129 said...
Beautiful!
5/21/11 7:43 PM
FreyaStark said...
An impressive effort.
5/21/11 8:44 PM
Riversinger said...
Now that I see it on you, I'm thinking even more it would work to open the front. Too bad your fabric is grabby, making your plan harder. Thanks for all your good tips!
5/21/11 10:03 PM
pdiddly said...
I give you 10/10 for perseverance from what I read in your comments - I love the look of the pattern, sadly I think I need to drop a few pounds before I would look so nice on me - well done.
5/22/11 4:36 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I love your version. I wasn't too impressed with the pattern envelope, but your top looks great!
5/22/11 5:25 AM
Margaret said...
Really impressive work -- looks great! Seems to me like the large sleeves make this pattern a particularly good choice for not-so-breathable rainwear fabric -- they could allow more air circulation than you'd get on a really fitted style.
5/22/11 7:30 AM
harmony758 said...
I love it! I have a couple of the Chado Ralph Rucci patterns that I'm a little afraid of trying out. So cheers to you! And thank you for the excellent review!
5/22/11 8:37 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the excellent review. Your comments and photos are so helpful. I love this pattern, but admit I've been intimidated to try it. It looks great on you and your topstitching is beautiful!
5/22/11 10:16 AM
jaeng said...
What a special top! I like the gusset sleeve and all the fun seams. I might make a coat out of this, great idea on the rainwear fabric!
5/22/11 10:37 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks, I was looking at the dress version of something similar in that collection, but sounds like it's too hard for me. Looks great for you though!
5/23/11 10:38 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous top, you did a terrific job. The style is so iconic - I really think it's one of the most beautiful garments of the 21st century!
5/24/11 1:27 PM
Rhoda K said...
Such a beautiful jacket, I love the style. You did an amazing job - your hard work paid off.
5/25/11 7:55 PM
cerulean said...
Great job! I wouldn't have thought of using the drizzlewear fabric. It's such a neat style!
6/1/11 2:42 PM
jannw said...
How did I miss this review?? It turned out great!! Love the silhoute on you ..what a beautiful job you did! Fantastic fabric...
6/5/11 2:16 PM
sewbarbie said...
I keep eyeing this one, after seeing yours, I feel inspired.
6/23/11 1:37 AM
valkyrie01 said...
Looks great! Thank you for all the tips and warnings! I have this in my pattern stash and want to make it. I love the shape of it. I am wondering if Rucci was influenced by Issey Miyake? Check this vintage shirt: http://www.swankvintage.com/1931.html
8/22/11 2:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2012-112

photo
by: MelaD

Review
Farbenmix Muriel

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now