Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1115 (Chado Ralph Rucci tunic) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 757 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/11 5:53 PM
Last Updated:5/21/11 5:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riversinger said...
How funny! I just pulled this same pattern out, thinking I wanted to somehow fit this into my wardrobe. I've been thinking about opening it down the front center and making it into a jacket. I really like what you did with it. And in my favorite color! is it easy to take on and off?
5/20/11 10:20 PM
loti said...
It is pretty easy to take on and off, I was thinking about any circumstance where you would need the zipper, and can't think of one. Opening it down the front would be a really good idea.
5/20/11 11:09 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Very smart looking.
5/20/11 11:43 PM
LynneMR said...
This looks such an elegant style - I love the neckline and sleeve shape. Great fabric choice.
5/21/11 2:13 AM
Athene said...
What fabulous raiinwear. I really like Rucci patterns. I never thought of making this one because I'm not sure the style would suit me, but you really made it work in the rainwear fabric.
5/21/11 2:16 AM
Clareew said...
great, you have done a brilliant job
5/21/11 2:46 AM
Renren said...
Oh, this is a wonderful garment. It's seems almost architectural with those sculpted lines--another monument to your sewing skills! Just came back to check the full-fledged review. Your seaming is meticulous. Thanks for all the construction info/details/photos.
5/21/11 12:27 PM
PittyPat said...
Absolutely love the color! And a great job you did on the pattern. Looks so neat - and not your typical 'rainwear'. Great job.
5/21/11 5:34 PM
lamstu said...
Fantastic top! I never thought of it as outerwear but it is brilliant. I am intrigued to try this pattern after your favorable review and seeing your great result (and because I'm curious to see how the gusset seams are finished).
5/21/11 5:45 PM
annie1129 said...
Beautiful!
5/21/11 7:43 PM
FreyaStark said...
An impressive effort.
5/21/11 8:44 PM
Riversinger said...
Now that I see it on you, I'm thinking even more it would work to open the front. Too bad your fabric is grabby, making your plan harder. Thanks for all your good tips!
5/21/11 10:03 PM
pdiddly said...
I give you 10/10 for perseverance from what I read in your comments - I love the look of the pattern, sadly I think I need to drop a few pounds before I would look so nice on me - well done.
5/22/11 4:36 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I love your version. I wasn't too impressed with the pattern envelope, but your top looks great!
5/22/11 5:25 AM
Margaret said...
Really impressive work -- looks great! Seems to me like the large sleeves make this pattern a particularly good choice for not-so-breathable rainwear fabric -- they could allow more air circulation than you'd get on a really fitted style.
5/22/11 7:30 AM
harmony758 said...
I love it! I have a couple of the Chado Ralph Rucci patterns that I'm a little afraid of trying out. So cheers to you! And thank you for the excellent review!
5/22/11 8:37 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the excellent review. Your comments and photos are so helpful. I love this pattern, but admit I've been intimidated to try it. It looks great on you and your topstitching is beautiful!
5/22/11 10:16 AM
jaeng said...
What a special top! I like the gusset sleeve and all the fun seams. I might make a coat out of this, great idea on the rainwear fabric!
5/22/11 10:37 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks, I was looking at the dress version of something similar in that collection, but sounds like it's too hard for me. Looks great for you though!
5/23/11 10:38 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous top, you did a terrific job. The style is so iconic - I really think it's one of the most beautiful garments of the 21st century!
5/24/11 1:27 PM
Rhoda K said...
Such a beautiful jacket, I love the style. You did an amazing job - your hard work paid off.
5/25/11 7:55 PM
cerulean said...
Great job! I wouldn't have thought of using the drizzlewear fabric. It's such a neat style!
6/1/11 2:42 PM
jannw said...
How did I miss this review?? It turned out great!! Love the silhoute on you ..what a beautiful job you did! Fantastic fabric...
6/5/11 2:16 PM
sewbarbie said...
I keep eyeing this one, after seeing yours, I feel inspired.
6/23/11 1:37 AM
valkyrie01 said...
Looks great! Thank you for all the tips and warnings! I have this in my pattern stash and want to make it. I love the shape of it. I am wondering if Rucci was influenced by Issey Miyake? Check this vintage shirt: http://www.swankvintage.com/1931.html
8/22/11 2:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us