Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1094 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 848 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 175
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 168
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/11 3:25 PM
Last Updated:5/28/11 3:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Puppy said...
What a neat dress. You are so clever!
5/28/11 3:52 PM
petro said...
What a great dress, I love the black trim on the white.
5/28/11 3:54 PM
Dale C said...
Fashion Karma! I hope the God of Fashion decides to give you a reprieve! Your dress is lovely and it would be a shame to not be able to wear it. LOL
5/28/11 4:38 PM
peaceykeen said...
I love the last picture!!! At least you got to wear it on your trip like you wanted!
5/28/11 5:20 PM
lucylal said...
Your dress is adorable! What a lot of work you put into it! Curse zippers!!! I have a dress hanging in my sewing room that I made 2 years ago, that is awaiting its 3rd invisible zipper. I ended up getting zipper rage after 2 broken zippers, hence she still hangs there patiently. Next summer!!!
5/28/11 5:27 PM
annakeeton said...
Beautiful dress and I feel your pain during the zipper saga. I love your final photo.
5/28/11 6:04 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, I LOVE your version. It's beautiful and so much more wearable than the Dior version. You looks just gorgeous. You BF is awesome BTW! Great review too, I really enjoyed it.
5/28/11 6:45 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Love the photo in front of Dior. You're interpretation of the original is wonderful.
5/28/11 7:54 PM
mendospot said...
Love it!
5/28/11 9:53 PM
mad stash said...
Tres chic! I wish I made this dress. Really, really like it. :)
5/28/11 11:56 PM
mad stash said...
Arianna - I like the leggings - or maybe these are wraps attached to the sandles you're wearing? Or is this some ingenious creation you made??? If you bought them, where can I get some?
5/29/11 0:15 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Yea, I love those too. Those are the most expensive pair of shoes I ever bought actually, and they still cost 200 euros after 50% off! It was love at first sight and I had just gotten my first bonus from work ;) lol. The shoes are actually boots that zip up the back. The wrappings are different types of stretchy elastic that criss-cross the front. The brand is Dirk Bikkembergs. I'd never heard of them until I saw those shoes though.
5/29/11 3:18 AM
Fran G said...
Awesome! What talent and creativity you have!
5/29/11 6:21 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful! You did a great job making the inspiration dress into your version. Very wearable too. Love the picture in front of the Dior shop!
5/29/11 7:26 AM
eruuska said...
You are a better woman than I! I would have wanted to throw it on the floor and stomp all over it. But looking at your dress, it is beautiful! Your persistence surely has paid off!
5/29/11 7:57 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Looks so awesome! I have had invisble zipper woes as well. I have found cutting out as much bulk as possible from the bulky seam and ironing the teeth flat before installation helps.
5/29/11 8:41 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - just totally beautiful. What rotten luck you had with the zipper - truly "zipper hell" as you put it - but so nice to have a handy BF - I know my DH may (MAY) have tried but I am sure I would have endured many neddle punctures. Glad you got to wear it and thanks for such an entertaining review. Great work
5/29/11 10:51 AM
Norsecross said...
When at first you don't succeed, or second time as well, GO METAL! HaHa, that will fix it but good! I have a few metal zippers in my closet as well. Photo in the doorway is a winner.
5/29/11 11:08 AM
Terri A said...
Really WOW!
5/30/11 1:51 AM
sewinfrance said...
What a great dress & review. Thanks for the last photo!!! Fantastic work, as always, hope the last zipper holds. I also love those wrappy-strappy black shoes!
5/31/11 8:46 AM
fattyboomboom said...
I agree with your decisions about toning down the skirt, and I admire your patience with threading the trim. Your beautiful dress was certainly worth all the work. So sorry about your zipper drama--I've been there! And as you stand in front of Dior, it looks like you're adding up all the money you saved making your own. I know that smile!!!!
6/2/11 2:55 PM
Bonnie O said...
Love your dress! And you nailed the inspiration dress but made it more wearable, I think!
6/3/11 8:09 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Touche! I love that last photo, fate be damned! That dress is too cute! You took a runway inspiration and made something us normal gals can wear. Bravo!
6/4/11 6:58 PM
CAgirl said...
What patience you have. What a beautiful dress you have because of it!
6/9/11 4:21 PM
waltzqueen said...
Great dress, chic and Unique! The "in and out" trim is a great touch and worth the time. An excellent summer dress!
6/12/11 12:27 PM
bananaoil said...
BRAVO! You're alright I trust? Not in fashion hell? Back home safely? I loved your review, laughed out loud for real. Ambitious dress, it's truly classic and looks lovely. Thanks!
6/15/11 6:48 AM
bananaoil said...

6/15/11 6:49 AM
Blooms said...
That is a fab interpretation of you knock-ff. Your sewing projects are so awesome. And what fun with the photoshoots. mostly I am impressed that you re-sewed a zipper.
7/10/11 7:29 PM
waltzqueen said...
Great dress! Beatufully made and stylish, you look quite fetching (does anyone use that word any more?) Excellent translation of the Dior original.
8/10/11 5:40 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
HAHAHA! I literally laughed out loud when I read the line about "fashion hell" and clicked on the picture
2/16/13 8:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Downloadable 10003 Twister Dress
photo
Review by Bonnie123 on 1/30/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8292 Coats
photo
Review by KarlaB on 1/26/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8889 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8889 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us