Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5974 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 881 times 84 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/17/11 9:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redrockcity said...
Beautiful dresses! The fit is perfect. I'm going to try the binding technique next time I make this pattern as well. The fold over seams on the neckline of version I made do not look very professional.
5/17/11 10:00 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Such a helpful review, thanks! I love version B, so much so you have inspired me to fish out the pattern from the depths of my pattern stash. :) Nice job.
5/17/11 10:14 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for posting such a helpful review; what lovely dresses!
5/17/11 11:14 PM
BexInMD said...
These dresses fit you so well and the fabrics are lovely. You make this knit-phobic sewist want to change her ways!
5/17/11 11:36 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful! I recognize that Chicago fabric! I just got this pattern out yesterday, but am waiting for my cutting table to return home. Loaned it out for a graduation party. I like both of these, and they look fabulous on you, of course.
5/18/11 1:10 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous dresses and a great review. I have just made the wrap version and am with you - it is very flattering and I may need another one!
5/18/11 3:40 AM
FreyaStark said...
Two very chic dresses - and in one weekend! Quite a feat.
5/18/11 6:44 AM
becca a said...
What beautiful dresses! I love both versions.
5/18/11 7:32 AM
SewWil said...
I love both dresses. Great fabrics! Thank you for your detailed review.
5/18/11 10:03 AM
marec said...
Wow, your review hits so many points I have been considering. Thanks! As I commented on your blog, I love both of these dresses-they are so flattering.
5/18/11 10:06 AM
Mahler said...
I did you go about without those dresses, they seem to be so comfortable on top of looking stylish. Wonderful dresses Kay !
5/18/11 10:26 AM
MamaSewing said...
I have this one cut out and ready to sew - your great dresses make me want to finish it today!
5/18/11 10:47 AM
GlobalMom said...
I most definitely need to dig this one out of my stash. Both versions look so beautiful - it will be hard to chose!
5/18/11 1:15 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dresses -- I love how different the two versions look!
5/18/11 1:33 PM
Ericaeli said...
I got this pattern based on all the great review. Your review makes me want to get it out and actually sew it up! Your dress both look wonderful on you.
5/18/11 3:13 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dresses - shows off your lovely figure to great advantage. Well done Kay and very helpful review
5/18/11 4:29 PM
JTink said...
Wonderful dresses. I'm so glad there was a A-B version. So many make the wrap and forget about the other. I haven't made the wrap yet, but have made about 8 from the A-B view.
5/18/11 6:44 PM
Athene said...
Both dresses are great and thank you so much for the binding tip.
5/18/11 10:26 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Great job on your dresses Kay -- they look amazing. I recognize the waist wrap fabric from Montreal (it made it into my stash too and I just sewed it up). I've got this pattern in my stash and I picked up the perfect fabric for it in Chicago. It's in the sewing project queue.
5/18/11 11:55 PM
myeclecticmess said...
Thank you for the binding tip! I'm going to have to bookmark that for sure. I just made the scoop neck version and did my own attempt at a bound edge and wasn't happy with my results. I'm going to have to see if I can safely pick it out and redo it using your method. Otherwise there is always next time as this is on my re-sew list for sure.
5/19/11 6:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-141
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 8/3/09
Read Review

Burda 7015 Pattern
Burda 7015 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6837 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Butterick 6837 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Creative Thimble Professional Tote
photo
Review by Mrs. Colum... on 9/16/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Kelly Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Kelly Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us