SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5974 

88 more reviews
Viewed 895 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/17/11 9:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
myeclecticmess said...
Thank you for the binding tip! I'm going to have to bookmark that for sure. I just made the scoop neck version and did my own attempt at a bound edge and wasn't happy with my results. I'm going to have to see if I can safely pick it out and redo it using your method. Otherwise there is always next time as this is on my re-sew list for sure.
5/19/11 6:29 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Great job on your dresses Kay -- they look amazing. I recognize the waist wrap fabric from Montreal (it made it into my stash too and I just sewed it up). I've got this pattern in my stash and I picked up the perfect fabric for it in Chicago. It's in the sewing project queue.
5/18/11 11:55 PM
Athene said...
Both dresses are great and thank you so much for the binding tip.
5/18/11 10:26 PM
JTink said...
Wonderful dresses. I'm so glad there was a A-B version. So many make the wrap and forget about the other. I haven't made the wrap yet, but have made about 8 from the A-B view.
5/18/11 6:44 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dresses - shows off your lovely figure to great advantage. Well done Kay and very helpful review
5/18/11 4:29 PM
Ericaeli said...
I got this pattern based on all the great review. Your review makes me want to get it out and actually sew it up! Your dress both look wonderful on you.
5/18/11 3:13 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dresses -- I love how different the two versions look!
5/18/11 1:33 PM
GlobalMom said...
I most definitely need to dig this one out of my stash. Both versions look so beautiful - it will be hard to chose!
5/18/11 1:15 PM
MamaSewing said...
I have this one cut out and ready to sew - your great dresses make me want to finish it today!
5/18/11 10:47 AM
Mahler said...
I did you go about without those dresses, they seem to be so comfortable on top of looking stylish. Wonderful dresses Kay !
5/18/11 10:26 AM
marec said...
Wow, your review hits so many points I have been considering. Thanks! As I commented on your blog, I love both of these dresses-they are so flattering.
5/18/11 10:06 AM
SewWil said...
I love both dresses. Great fabrics! Thank you for your detailed review.
5/18/11 10:03 AM
becca a said...
What beautiful dresses! I love both versions.
5/18/11 7:32 AM
FreyaStark said...
Two very chic dresses - and in one weekend! Quite a feat.
5/18/11 6:44 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous dresses and a great review. I have just made the wrap version and am with you - it is very flattering and I may need another one!
5/18/11 3:40 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful! I recognize that Chicago fabric! I just got this pattern out yesterday, but am waiting for my cutting table to return home. Loaned it out for a graduation party. I like both of these, and they look fabulous on you, of course.
5/18/11 1:10 AM
BexInMD said...
These dresses fit you so well and the fabrics are lovely. You make this knit-phobic sewist want to change her ways!
5/17/11 11:36 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for posting such a helpful review; what lovely dresses!
5/17/11 11:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Such a helpful review, thanks! I love version B, so much so you have inspired me to fish out the pattern from the depths of my pattern stash. :) Nice job.
5/17/11 10:14 PM
redrockcity said...
Beautiful dresses! The fit is perfect. I'm going to try the binding technique next time I make this pattern as well. The fold over seams on the neckline of version I made do not look very professional.
5/17/11 10:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 4076

photo
by: Karen2931

Review
StyleArc Layla Dress

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now