Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1179 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 875 times 38 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:prosestitch
photo
About prosestitchstar
Member since: 2/11/10
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/11 7:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
I think it looks great as a top.
5/18/11 8:28 PM
Irene said...
A worthy experiment! It looks like your cowl is cut on the straight grain. To have any semblance of the knit version of the original design, a woven fabric needs to be cut on the bias . . . and would require more fabric.
5/18/11 8:33 PM
Athene said...
The top looks very attractive in a woven - I like Irene's advice to try it on the bias next time.
5/18/11 8:57 PM
touran said...
Great look. I didn't even recognize it as the dress from the pattern.
5/18/11 9:19 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 9:44 PM
rivergum said...
I love your version of this pattern and I think it looks wonderful on you. IMO you are slim enough to pull it off, on anyone with curves it would look like a tent in the heavier, woven wool fabric.
5/18/11 10:09 PM
jaeng said...
Oh wow, I love it. Yours look 100 times better than the original.
5/18/11 10:28 PM
GoSewGirl said...
I love your woven tunic version! This really is a great pattern. I've recently made it and it's really easy and really flattering. As I was reading your review, I thought that your cowl would drape as you want if you cut it on the bias—I see that Irene has all ready suggested it!
5/18/11 10:29 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 10:36 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
5/18/11 11:11 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 11:26 PM
21wale said...
Really lovely.
5/19/11 0:12 AM
dillyo said...
I love the structure and body the wool gives this top. It looks great on you - I agree with franticfashion that this really suits your body type! If you recut the cowl on the bias, make sure you post another picture so we can compare the drape :)
5/19/11 2:15 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Wow, what a great style change your fabric makes! This looks great as a blouse with the heavier weight fabric.
5/19/11 9:41 AM
marec said...
Terrific changes to the pattern-I love this tunic and wish I could carry it but sadly, no. It looks great on you.
5/19/11 10:23 AM
lynne1nor said...
Nice job with the tunic conversion - I think it looks much nicer than the dress version shown on the pattern envelope!
5/19/11 2:17 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Thank you for experimenting on this dress to turn it into a tunic! I was thinking about the same idea, and you've done the legwork for me :D
5/19/11 4:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very interesting way to make up this pattern. It looks good in a woven.
5/19/11 7:19 PM
mesewlot said...
What a great idea, love it!
5/20/11 0:07 AM
CBrushNew2Sewing said...
This looks fantastic! I love the long-sleeved shirt under it - great look. Inspiring!
8/17/11 2:55 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
I hunted your review down in reference to using a woven for this pattern. Glad to know it works, and I'm revv'n up the layout board even now.
3/8/14 3:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 5941
photo
Review by gotpeace91 on 4/5/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3660
photo
Review by catalak on 4/23/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us