SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1179 (Misses' Dress)

39 more reviews
Viewed 883 times 
Reviewed by:prosestitch
photo

 
 
About prosestitchstar
Member since: 2/11/10
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/11 7:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
I hunted your review down in reference to using a woven for this pattern. Glad to know it works, and I'm revv'n up the layout board even now.
3/8/14 3:31 PM
CBrushNew2Sewing said...
This looks fantastic! I love the long-sleeved shirt under it - great look. Inspiring!
8/17/11 2:55 PM
mesewlot said...
What a great idea, love it!
5/20/11 0:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very interesting way to make up this pattern. It looks good in a woven.
5/19/11 7:19 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Thank you for experimenting on this dress to turn it into a tunic! I was thinking about the same idea, and you've done the legwork for me :D
5/19/11 4:40 PM
lynne1nor said...
Nice job with the tunic conversion - I think it looks much nicer than the dress version shown on the pattern envelope!
5/19/11 2:17 PM
marec said...
Terrific changes to the pattern-I love this tunic and wish I could carry it but sadly, no. It looks great on you.
5/19/11 10:23 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Wow, what a great style change your fabric makes! This looks great as a blouse with the heavier weight fabric.
5/19/11 9:41 AM
dillyo said...
I love the structure and body the wool gives this top. It looks great on you - I agree with franticfashion that this really suits your body type! If you recut the cowl on the bias, make sure you post another picture so we can compare the drape :)
5/19/11 2:15 AM
21wale said...
Really lovely.
5/19/11 0:12 AM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 11:26 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
5/18/11 11:11 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 10:36 PM
GoSewGirl said...
I love your woven tunic version! This really is a great pattern. I've recently made it and it's really easy and really flattering. As I was reading your review, I thought that your cowl would drape as you want if you cut it on the bias—I see that Irene has all ready suggested it!
5/18/11 10:29 PM
jaeng said...
Oh wow, I love it. Yours look 100 times better than the original.
5/18/11 10:28 PM
rivergum said...
I love your version of this pattern and I think it looks wonderful on you. IMO you are slim enough to pull it off, on anyone with curves it would look like a tent in the heavier, woven wool fabric.
5/18/11 10:09 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 9:44 PM
touran said...
Great look. I didn't even recognize it as the dress from the pattern.
5/18/11 9:19 PM
Athene said...
The top looks very attractive in a woven - I like Irene's advice to try it on the bias next time.
5/18/11 8:57 PM
Irene said...
A worthy experiment! It looks like your cowl is cut on the straight grain. To have any semblance of the knit version of the original design, a woven fabric needs to be cut on the bias . . . and would require more fabric.
5/18/11 8:33 PM
mm said...
I think it looks great as a top.
5/18/11 8:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 158814-1001

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

More Info
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

More Info