SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1179 (Misses' Dress)

38 more reviews
Viewed 882 times 
Reviewed by:prosestitch
photo

 
 
About prosestitchstar
Member since: 2/11/10
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/11 7:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
I think it looks great as a top.
5/18/11 8:28 PM
Irene said...
A worthy experiment! It looks like your cowl is cut on the straight grain. To have any semblance of the knit version of the original design, a woven fabric needs to be cut on the bias . . . and would require more fabric.
5/18/11 8:33 PM
Athene said...
The top looks very attractive in a woven - I like Irene's advice to try it on the bias next time.
5/18/11 8:57 PM
touran said...
Great look. I didn't even recognize it as the dress from the pattern.
5/18/11 9:19 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 9:44 PM
rivergum said...
I love your version of this pattern and I think it looks wonderful on you. IMO you are slim enough to pull it off, on anyone with curves it would look like a tent in the heavier, woven wool fabric.
5/18/11 10:09 PM
jaeng said...
Oh wow, I love it. Yours look 100 times better than the original.
5/18/11 10:28 PM
GoSewGirl said...
I love your woven tunic version! This really is a great pattern. I've recently made it and it's really easy and really flattering. As I was reading your review, I thought that your cowl would drape as you want if you cut it on the bias—I see that Irene has all ready suggested it!
5/18/11 10:29 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 10:36 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
5/18/11 11:11 PM
prosestitch said...
Thank you for your comments. I love your wise suggestion Irene. I can how a bias cut would work so much better. I will have to try it.
5/18/11 11:26 PM
21wale said...
Really lovely.
5/19/11 0:12 AM
dillyo said...
I love the structure and body the wool gives this top. It looks great on you - I agree with franticfashion that this really suits your body type! If you recut the cowl on the bias, make sure you post another picture so we can compare the drape :)
5/19/11 2:15 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Wow, what a great style change your fabric makes! This looks great as a blouse with the heavier weight fabric.
5/19/11 9:41 AM
marec said...
Terrific changes to the pattern-I love this tunic and wish I could carry it but sadly, no. It looks great on you.
5/19/11 10:23 AM
lynne1nor said...
Nice job with the tunic conversion - I think it looks much nicer than the dress version shown on the pattern envelope!
5/19/11 2:17 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Thank you for experimenting on this dress to turn it into a tunic! I was thinking about the same idea, and you've done the legwork for me :D
5/19/11 4:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very interesting way to make up this pattern. It looks good in a woven.
5/19/11 7:19 PM
mesewlot said...
What a great idea, love it!
5/20/11 0:07 AM
CBrushNew2Sewing said...
This looks fantastic! I love the long-sleeved shirt under it - great look. Inspiring!
8/17/11 2:55 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
I hunted your review down in reference to using a woven for this pattern. Glad to know it works, and I'm revv'n up the layout board even now.
3/8/14 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Simplicity 9885 from 1980

photo
by: cowgirlcre...

Review