Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4056 (Just Jennifer/Adult) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2226 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:JoleneF
photo
About JoleneFstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/04 11:22 AM
Last Updated:9/29/04 3:35 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Cute jacket -- I do agree you could use a smaller size, but you did find some really cute fabrics to put together. Thanks for the review.
8/20/04 2:41 PM
AuntieShel said...
Cute and cuddly!! Good job! I wonder if you could make it "fancy" with some evening type fabric.
8/20/04 3:26 PM
Hilary said...
very nice jacket- I'm thinking this would make a wonderful gift for my Mom this year :o) thanks for the review!
8/20/04 3:34 PM
JoleneF said...
Thanks for the compliments, I am glad someone else agreed that it may need to go smaller. I have never made one the size I am going to next and I am starting it tonight. My husband helped me with my color pieces and we'll see what the next saga brings. Stay tuned for updates.
8/20/04 4:33 PM
lilhoney57 said...
Very nice jacket & review. Thanks!
8/21/04 7:08 AM
mag said...
What a nice project. How many hours does it take to sew the random pieces. I am thinking of doing this one, but would have to schedule sewing time.
8/21/04 10:57 AM
JoleneF said...
Mag, It does take time to do this. Much is going to depend on the size of the blocks you cut for that sewing. I just started another one last night and I am cutting my blocks bigger this time. I am also going to try using a quilting template this time for more structure in my sewing in each of the blocks after they are on the jacket. I started the jacket in this review about a week ago. I don't work and sew some during the day and also sew in the evenings. If you just know that this is not going to be one of those projects that will be done in 1 day, you will be fine. I just really like the jacket. I am making it in a small this time across the top and it is much better. I will update when I get this one finished.
8/21/04 12:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute and nice review.
8/21/04 5:21 PM
JoleneF said...
I am having trouble getting a link from this pattern to the B4055 I did that is the same jacket for a child, what do I need to do to link up?
8/22/04 12:12 PM
Teri said...
I like the changes you made. Your jacket looks great!
8/31/04 9:47 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Love the browns
8/31/04 10:00 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Loving your jackets! You've really been able to create your own look with the brown colors and blocks - very very nice!
9/1/04 3:12 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Another very nice jacket - your creative energy is really fun to watch!
9/29/04 4:49 PM
Hilary said...
I *love* your latest version! I'm sure your Mom will too- btw, does this have pockets?
9/29/04 5:16 PM
JoleneF said...
Hilary, there are no pockets. I am sure you could add them though.
9/29/04 6:32 PM
mClones said...
Really like the various incarnations - especially the latest.
9/29/04 7:02 PM
Miss Kim said...
Great review. Very helpful. I just bought this pattern and was glad to read your suggestions. Thanks!
3/14/05 9:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8712 misses pants
photo
Review by acmena on 4/17/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3536 6 made easy
photo
Review by Mary W on 11/24/07
Read Review

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3956 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3956 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3925 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3925 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us