SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 145 (Chinese Pajamas)

Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest
Viewed 281 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 145
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/11 5:53 AM
Last Updated:6/2/11 12:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
What a work of love for Fathers' Day. The lining and frog closures are perfectly done.
5/31/11 7:05 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. I've been thinking of using this pattern to imitate Shanghai Tang's exquisite but expensive velvet Chinese jackets but I feel wary of tackling a pattern that contains mistakes. A nice job, anyway, especially your clever solutions to problems.
5/31/11 7:55 AM
lamstu said...
What a fabulous jacket! (I wish my DH would tell me what he wants too. ;))
5/31/11 8:15 AM
jannw said...
Great results! Sorry to hear about the pattern problems. Like you, for an expensive pattern, I expect better!
5/31/11 3:02 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry about the problems with the pattern... most of the Folkwear patterns I've used have been better than this one sounds (although I've found that many do have too-tight necklines/collars). Anyway, glad you were able to solve the problems... the jacket really looks great and I love your fabric/lining combo!
6/1/11 10:21 AM
popo said...
I must not let my husband see this review. I can't even finish altering his pants. lol Great job!
6/1/11 12:15 PM
fattyboomboom said...
I'm so impressed with your frog closures! You've made such a nice jacket; what a great wife you are!
6/2/11 8:37 AM
JillyBe said...
What a great job Aroura! Looks excellent!
6/2/11 1:04 PM
Dale C said...
Nice! I'm glad you were able to get it entered, it looks great!
6/2/11 3:06 PM
marec said...
What a beautifully executed project!
6/2/11 5:53 PM
Terri A said...
I love the frog closures. WOW! This jacket is amazing!
6/2/11 6:20 PM
SheBear0320 said...
You did a great job on this jacket and took account of every little detail. Great frog closures and I love the lining.
6/3/11 0:43 AM
annakeeton said...
Your jacket looks very well constructed. What a great Father's Day gift.
6/3/11 6:18 PM
LindaO said...
This is so timely, my husband is asking for a lightweight tai chi uniform (not the pink silk kind...) and this might fit the bill. I am thinking of making it in rayon. Do you feel it must be lined? That would make it hotter (and today it was 97).
6/7/11 7:23 PM
LindaO said...
One more question - we have seen a sleeveless summer uni top, but the price is $80 plus shipping ($20). Do you think this could be converted to sleeveless?
6/7/11 7:25 PM
Aroura said...
LindaO, I think it could be converted to unlined, but I'm honestly not sure how. Perhaps just use the facings, and leave out the lining? This could be converted to sleeveless, but note it has very dropped shoulders, so that would need to be accounted for. I'd make a muslin, and give it a go! And thanks everyone for the wonderful comments. DH really loves this so far, and couldn't wait for Fathers Day to start wearing it. :)
6/7/11 9:21 PM
fuzzygalore said...
The result looks great, but as you say it sounds like a whole lot of work, some of it a bad surprise..
6/9/11 8:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2008-116

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review