SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2011-101 (Scoop-Necked Dress)

17 more reviews
Viewed 451 times 
Reviewed by:viola33
photo

 
 
About viola33star
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Member since: 1/26/11
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/11 2:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wianno Girl said... (6/26/11 9:23 AM) Reply
The dress looks wonderful, it shows you know how to fit yourself. It has been years that I have sewn Burda but this pattern makes me want to try again.
MelissaB in WA said... (5/29/11 9:51 PM) Reply
Your dress was definitely worth all the effort and headache - it's gorgeous!
allycovey said... (5/24/11 10:22 AM) Reply
very nice!!!
becca a said... (5/24/11 7:56 AM) Reply
Your dress is lovely! The fit looks great. I think lots of people have to adjust patterns to fit, so this is just a normal part of the sewing process. I expect to have to adjust the fit before making my final version.
UrbanSeamstress said... (5/24/11 2:51 AM) Reply
It was certainly worth the effort: a sweet dress that looks very good on you! As to the ideal "Burda figure": I usually have little trouble fitting Burda patterns through the bust and shoulders (I'll have to see how this will be in a couple of months though, post-bump), but I have to make adjustments literally everywhere else. I am particularly jealous when I see someone posting a perfect pair of trousers which they got to fit with minimal alterations. However, as I literally grew up on Burda magazine patterns, so I've become so accustomed to the alterations required for my particular fitting issues that I still prefer working with them. Ill-designed for my figure or not, at least I find they are consistent.
sing201 said... (5/23/11 8:09 AM) Reply
Your dress is beautiful and I love the fabric you used. It looks like you got a great fit with all your hard work.
Knitters Delight said... (5/23/11 4:12 AM) Reply
Your modifications paid off. You look gorgeous in your dress.
Picnicfan said... (5/23/11 2:22 AM) Reply
Your dress is very pretty and looks perfect on you despite the problems you had getting the right fit.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Simplicity 2178

photo
by: e84lt

Review
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Pattern Details
New Look 6828

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review