SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2011-101 (Scoop-Necked Dress)

18 more reviews
Viewed 453 times 
Reviewed by:viola33
photo

 
 
About viola33star
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Member since: 1/26/11
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 9)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/11 2:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wianno Girl said... (6/26/11 9:23 AM) Reply
The dress looks wonderful, it shows you know how to fit yourself. It has been years that I have sewn Burda but this pattern makes me want to try again.
MelissaB in WA said... (5/29/11 9:51 PM) Reply
Your dress was definitely worth all the effort and headache - it's gorgeous!
allycovey said... (5/24/11 10:22 AM) Reply
very nice!!!
becca a said... (5/24/11 7:56 AM) Reply
Your dress is lovely! The fit looks great. I think lots of people have to adjust patterns to fit, so this is just a normal part of the sewing process. I expect to have to adjust the fit before making my final version.
UrbanSeamstress said... (5/24/11 2:51 AM) Reply
It was certainly worth the effort: a sweet dress that looks very good on you! As to the ideal "Burda figure": I usually have little trouble fitting Burda patterns through the bust and shoulders (I'll have to see how this will be in a couple of months though, post-bump), but I have to make adjustments literally everywhere else. I am particularly jealous when I see someone posting a perfect pair of trousers which they got to fit with minimal alterations. However, as I literally grew up on Burda magazine patterns, so I've become so accustomed to the alterations required for my particular fitting issues that I still prefer working with them. Ill-designed for my figure or not, at least I find they are consistent.
sing201 said... (5/23/11 8:09 AM) Reply
Your dress is beautiful and I love the fabric you used. It looks like you got a great fit with all your hard work.
Knitters Delight said... (5/23/11 4:12 AM) Reply
Your modifications paid off. You look gorgeous in your dress.
Picnicfan said... (5/23/11 2:22 AM) Reply
Your dress is very pretty and looks perfect on you despite the problems you had getting the right fit.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Pattern Details