Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2011-101 (Scoop-Necked Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 442 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:viola33
photo
About viola33star
RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Member since: 1/26/11
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/11 2:12 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Picnicfan said...
Your dress is very pretty and looks perfect on you despite the problems you had getting the right fit.
5/23/11 2:22 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Your modifications paid off. You look gorgeous in your dress.
5/23/11 4:12 AM
sing201 said...
Your dress is beautiful and I love the fabric you used. It looks like you got a great fit with all your hard work.
5/23/11 8:09 AM
UrbanSeamstress said...
It was certainly worth the effort: a sweet dress that looks very good on you! As to the ideal "Burda figure": I usually have little trouble fitting Burda patterns through the bust and shoulders (I'll have to see how this will be in a couple of months though, post-bump), but I have to make adjustments literally everywhere else. I am particularly jealous when I see someone posting a perfect pair of trousers which they got to fit with minimal alterations. However, as I literally grew up on Burda magazine patterns, so I've become so accustomed to the alterations required for my particular fitting issues that I still prefer working with them. Ill-designed for my figure or not, at least I find they are consistent.
5/24/11 2:51 AM
becca a said...
Your dress is lovely! The fit looks great. I think lots of people have to adjust patterns to fit, so this is just a normal part of the sewing process. I expect to have to adjust the fit before making my final version.
5/24/11 7:56 AM
allycovey said...
very nice!!!
5/24/11 10:22 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your dress was definitely worth all the effort and headache - it's gorgeous!
5/29/11 9:51 PM
Wianno Girl said...
The dress looks wonderful, it shows you know how to fit yourself. It has been years that I have sewn Burda but this pattern makes me want to try again.
6/26/11 9:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 9505
photo
Review by dynacam on 7/6/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2004-121 Skirt
photo
Review by hongkongsh... on 11/23/06
Read Review

Butterick 3875 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 3875 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us