SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 226 (Travel Trio Three)

8 more reviews
Viewed 844 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 453
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 420
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/11 2:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
taylormade said...
Great looking outfit Sue. I'm hesitant always to buy Simplicity patterns, but this top looks great. You skirt is fabolous...coverstitch will work I'm sure. Now I'm going to pull out my CJ patterns and look again!
5/24/11 12:51 PM
Karine said...
Definitely not too much color - it looks great!
5/24/11 10:27 AM
Denise L Perry said...
The coverstitched hem will look great. There is a trick to hemming knits. Leave the hem raw. With your left thumb (assuming you're right handed), roll the raw edge back about 1/4". With your needle pick a skinny stitch on the *back* of the raw hem, then a skinny stitch on the fabric, and continue on in that manner. I hope I have explained this clearly--what you want are hidden stitches from the wrong side of the garment. All stitches should be "sandwiched" inside the hem. This allows the hem to be completely flat, and if your stitches are tiny enough, nothing will show from either side. Hope this helps!
5/24/11 6:48 AM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful outfit. You remind me I must get to these patterns.
5/24/11 1:51 AM
1betsy1 said...
Such a beautiful outfit. Great Job.
5/23/11 10:05 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
I think this is a wonderful outfit. I love the color too and looks so comfortable. Great job. Also, I love the idea of the waistband elastic you used!
5/23/11 9:18 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That silk jersey is gorgeous. You've made a stunning outfit. The pieces are beautiful and they look easy to travel in and will go with a lot of spring colored things.
5/23/11 7:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great outfit! I like how you did the neckline.
5/23/11 7:18 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful skirt - fits you to a T! Love that color.
5/23/11 6:24 PM
Rustybobn said...
Wonderful outfit. Love what you did with the top.
5/23/11 6:04 PM
MNBarb said...
I love the colors and really like the green band on the top. I'm sure this top has been reviewed beofre but I didn't notice until I saw yours. I love the pockets on the skirt, useful and attractive! What is the fiber content of your double knit?
5/23/11 5:20 PM
ButtonFaith said...
LOVE it! Such a wearable outfit! I love the way you did the neckband on the top. I agree that you will be happier with a coverstitched hem. I have a coverstitch machine and truly only pull it out for hems, etc. on knits.....it's the ONLY way to hem knits!
5/23/11 5:17 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great looking skirt - I so love that shade of green. Smart outfit!
5/23/11 5:00 PM
Steffie said...
I think it looks great! I love the colors. Very nice outfit. Once you cover-stitch the hem, you will be totally satisfied.
5/23/11 4:44 PM
Patti B said...
Very nice, Sue! I hadn't paid any attention to the skirt but I like the pockets. This color green goes with an astonishing number of colors.
5/23/11 4:21 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Great skirt, and it coordinates so well with the top! I've got this pattern, but only made the turtleneck so far - you really make me want to dig this out and give the skirt a try, too. And I LOVE that colour green!
5/23/11 3:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6121

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now