SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 1458-1000 (inspired by anthropologie top)

Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest
Viewed 509 times 
Reviewed by:emclaus
photo

 
 
About emclaus
MI USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/11 9:45 PM
Last Updated:5/23/11 10:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
LOVE this! Great job.
5/23/11 10:46 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks great on you, love the drape and flair this top has. You pull it off well. Great job!
5/23/11 10:49 PM
poppykettle said...
The end result of straying from the commercials is great - I love the way your top looks! The drape is devine and it looks comfy too. I'm impressed!
5/24/11 7:22 AM
zuzu_petal said...
Beautiful.
5/24/11 11:06 AM
donaleen said...
Oh that is so very cool. If I had your body, I'd be all over it.
5/24/11 11:10 AM
Dale C said...
Wow.. that is a cool top! I missed it when I was skimming through the anthropologie site. Yours looks wonderful! I don't think there are too many pleats.. it's just right.
5/24/11 7:12 PM
mlsews said...
Its fabulous!
5/24/11 8:37 PM
emclaus said...
Thank you so much for all your positive comments.
5/24/11 10:42 PM
annakeeton said...
Your top is beautiful and that knit seems perfect for the draping.
5/25/11 6:26 AM
TanitIsis said...
This looks great! So glad you were inspired (and successful) :D
5/25/11 3:10 PM
Deepika said...
I love love love your top. Anyone has any suggestions for a commercial pattern for this top?
6/1/11 12:08 PM
montanachic said...
You did a great job, it is so cute!
6/1/11 12:32 PM
JillyBe said...
ohmygosh I LOVE this top!!! FABULOUS job! And inspirational...hmmmmm...... I have to put this on my list of things to attempt. Thank you!
6/1/11 4:00 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Oh my! What a gorgeous drape in the front! Fantastic top!
6/2/11 2:48 PM
marvelous said...
The drape is very flattering on you and I love the color. You did a great job!
6/2/11 3:59 PM
ggf2005 said...
amazing, the look, the color!
6/2/11 5:14 PM
said...
This is just gorgeous! Color, fit, workmanship... beautiful!
6/3/11 8:15 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful and drapes so well!
6/3/11 10:56 AM
cindysewsaz said...
This does look wonderful! For a similar pattern to this, try Simplicity 2283. It doesn't have the flutter sleeves, but you can get a similar look on the front with this pattern.
6/3/11 11:54 AM
Donna S Page said...
That RTW top is my favorite! But yours is even better. I'm so impressed. Are there directions anywhere that a beginner might be able to follow to draft the pattern? I have to have this top!
6/4/11 12:23 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Really cute, you did a terrific job! Anthropologie is one of my favorite inspiration sites, their clothes are adorable. I would suggest Simplicity 2554 as another possible place to "start" something similar, as its got the droopy neck and similar sleeves. At least it would give you an idea of how the drape looks when flat.
6/4/11 6:50 PM
emclaus said...
If you have a close-fitting knit top pattern in your stash that you have successfully used before, I recommend using it as a starting point. Fitting your torso will be all done, one just has to move the shoulder seam forward and perfect the drape. Study the pictures of the pattern alterations at Tanit-Isis Sews blog. I used an out-of-print boat-neck top pattern. I grabbed sleeves from yet another pattern. It did take a few tries using a ugly fabric from my stash to get the drape the way I wanted it.
6/5/11 10:42 AM
emclaus said...
One more thing. The tucks need to be done a little differently on each side. If you study the inspiration top, the drapes are somewhat random. In one of my practice tops the tucks for the drapes were done the exact same way on both sides and the drapes were not nearly as interesting. So beginning sewers who are afraid to attempt this top, how many times will someone tell you that sewing each side differently is actually good?
6/5/11 10:56 AM
S I G R I D said...
I tried this too. My version is a bit less dramatic than yours, and I agree. It takes two tries. . . http://analogme.typepad.com/analog-me/2011/03/cowls.html
6/6/11 6:15 PM
S I G R I D said...
ps here is my pattern review: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=61276
6/6/11 6:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 2700

photo
by: biink

Review
Simplicity Sew U

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now