SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2398 (Misses Special Occasion Dresses)

11 more reviews
Viewed 162 times 
Reviewed by:Pinkpegasus
photo

 
 
About Pinkpegasusstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/7/10
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/11 6:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bell N said...
You did a great job fitting those strapless gowns. Having just lived through prom season I've seen far too many young girls with ill-fitting (too big, too small, way too revealing) strapless ball gowns.
5/24/11 8:33 AM
Pinkpegasus said...
Thank you! I really would have preferred them to have straps of some form, any form, but the bride was adamant she wanted strapless so I did my best. I did as many fitting and altering sessions as my friends had patience for (which was not as many as I would liked). :-)
5/24/11 8:53 AM
happytobehere said...
Just gorgeous! How nice of you to take on this project.
5/24/11 8:58 AM
UrbanSeamstress said...
Those gowns are lovely! What a wonderful job you did! Funny coincidence: in the photo the fabrics you used look almost exactly the same colour as the silk I'm using right now on, drumroll, a bridesmaid dress for my best friend. That is one is not going to be strapless, thank heavens, but it has enough challenging aspects in its own right. For one, she is tall, plus-sized and well-endowed, all of which I am definitely not. Fitting a body so vastly different from my own is interesting, to say the least!
5/25/11 8:44 AM
Pinkpegasus said...
Thank you! I also found it really hard trying to fit someone other than me. I'm available to me all the time for fitting alterations, lol, but trying to fit other people who are busy and not easily available is hard. I found my pregnant friends very large bust exceedingly challenging. Good luck with your dress!
5/25/11 8:47 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Fantastic job. You should be "FRIEND OF THE YEAR" . I love the dresses
5/25/11 10:13 PM
magpie57 said...
You are to be commended for sticking with this!! I am working on 6 of these now using this nasty pattern and will be putting a review up soon. I hadn't thought to put extra boning in. I will be trying on my bustier girls this weekend and will see how it goes.. It also looks like you did the same with the length that we will, shortish. The girls will be barefoot so we will hem 4 inches off the floor.
6/24/11 12:59 PM
Pinkpegasus said...
Six!! You're my hero. Three almost did my head in. Good luck with the fittings. :-)
6/27/11 8:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1275

photo
by: JEH

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now