Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2398 (Misses Special Occasion Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 160 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Pinkpegasus
photo
About Pinkpegasusstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/7/10
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/11 6:38 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bell N said...
You did a great job fitting those strapless gowns. Having just lived through prom season I've seen far too many young girls with ill-fitting (too big, too small, way too revealing) strapless ball gowns.
5/24/11 8:33 AM
Pinkpegasus said...
Thank you! I really would have preferred them to have straps of some form, any form, but the bride was adamant she wanted strapless so I did my best. I did as many fitting and altering sessions as my friends had patience for (which was not as many as I would liked). :-)
5/24/11 8:53 AM
happytobehere said...
Just gorgeous! How nice of you to take on this project.
5/24/11 8:58 AM
UrbanSeamstress said...
Those gowns are lovely! What a wonderful job you did! Funny coincidence: in the photo the fabrics you used look almost exactly the same colour as the silk I'm using right now on, drumroll, a bridesmaid dress for my best friend. That is one is not going to be strapless, thank heavens, but it has enough challenging aspects in its own right. For one, she is tall, plus-sized and well-endowed, all of which I am definitely not. Fitting a body so vastly different from my own is interesting, to say the least!
5/25/11 8:44 AM
Pinkpegasus said...
Thank you! I also found it really hard trying to fit someone other than me. I'm available to me all the time for fitting alterations, lol, but trying to fit other people who are busy and not easily available is hard. I found my pregnant friends very large bust exceedingly challenging. Good luck with your dress!
5/25/11 8:47 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Fantastic job. You should be "FRIEND OF THE YEAR" . I love the dresses
5/25/11 10:13 PM
magpie57 said...
You are to be commended for sticking with this!! I am working on 6 of these now using this nasty pattern and will be putting a review up soon. I hadn't thought to put extra boning in. I will be trying on my bustier girls this weekend and will see how it goes.. It also looks like you did the same with the length that we will, shortish. The girls will be barefoot so we will hem 4 inches off the floor.
6/24/11 12:59 PM
Pinkpegasus said...
Six!! You're my hero. Three almost did my head in. Good luck with the fittings. :-)
6/27/11 8:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Burda 8627
photo
Review by PatCSM on 6/29/10
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 72819-1000 TNT Slacks
photo
Review by CTBarb on 3/23/11
Read Review

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7264 Pattern
Burda 7264 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us