SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2398 (Misses Special Occasion Dresses)

12 more reviews
Viewed 164 times 
Reviewed by:Pinkpegasus

About Pinkpegasusstar
Member since: 12/7/10
Reviews: 10 (patterns: 9)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/11 6:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Pinkpegasus said... (6/27/11 8:21 PM) Reply
Six!! You're my hero. Three almost did my head in. Good luck with the fittings. :-)
magpie57 said... (6/24/11 12:59 PM) Reply
You are to be commended for sticking with this!! I am working on 6 of these now using this nasty pattern and will be putting a review up soon. I hadn't thought to put extra boning in. I will be trying on my bustier girls this weekend and will see how it goes.. It also looks like you did the same with the length that we will, shortish. The girls will be barefoot so we will hem 4 inches off the floor.
ChristmasHills said... (5/25/11 10:13 PM) Reply
Fantastic job. You should be "FRIEND OF THE YEAR" . I love the dresses
Pinkpegasus said... (5/25/11 8:47 PM) Reply
Thank you! I also found it really hard trying to fit someone other than me. I'm available to me all the time for fitting alterations, lol, but trying to fit other people who are busy and not easily available is hard. I found my pregnant friends very large bust exceedingly challenging. Good luck with your dress!
UrbanSeamstress said... (5/25/11 8:44 AM) Reply
Those gowns are lovely! What a wonderful job you did! Funny coincidence: in the photo the fabrics you used look almost exactly the same colour as the silk I'm using right now on, drumroll, a bridesmaid dress for my best friend. That is one is not going to be strapless, thank heavens, but it has enough challenging aspects in its own right. For one, she is tall, plus-sized and well-endowed, all of which I am definitely not. Fitting a body so vastly different from my own is interesting, to say the least!
happytobehere said... (5/24/11 8:58 AM) Reply
Just gorgeous! How nice of you to take on this project.
Pinkpegasus said... (5/24/11 8:53 AM) Reply
Thank you! I really would have preferred them to have straps of some form, any form, but the bride was adamant she wanted strapless so I did my best. I did as many fitting and altering sessions as my friends had patience for (which was not as many as I would liked). :-)
bell N said... (5/24/11 8:33 AM) Reply
You did a great job fitting those strapless gowns. Having just lived through prom season I've seen far too many young girls with ill-fitting (too big, too small, way too revealing) strapless ball gowns.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

New Look 6516

by: Sheila457

Everyday Baskets Paper Pattern

Everyday Baskets Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Pattern Details