SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5497 (Misses' Top)

28 more reviews
Viewed 676 times 
Reviewed by:Spring

About Springstar
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 9)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/11 4:12 PM
Last Updated:4/19/12 6:38 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Sassy T said... (4/19/12 12:26 PM) Reply
I would just wear a cami under it. Problem solved. I have this pattern on the top of my wishlist as I love all the options. Mayube you could add some concealed snaps to shorten the V. Looks nice anyway!
CraftAddict said... (4/19/12 9:37 AM) Reply
Spring, the shirt really does look great on you. Perhaps you could modify the neckline so it's not so low-cut? I've not done pattern modifications before but this one seems like an easy fix. The funny interesting thing is, I just purchased this pattern this weekend and I definitely thing I will be raising the neckline. Thanks for the review.
Spring said... (4/19/12 6:28 AM) Reply
Dream designer if your confused by my review then fantastic, I got my point across. My relationship with this shirt was confusing. lol It looks amazing on, I get loads of compliments but we just don't feel it for each other. That said I did wear it all last summer as a swimsuit coverup. So I hate the shirt but wore it at least twice a week during the summer.
dreamdesigner said... (11/26/11 4:51 PM) Reply
I'm sorry to say this, but I'm really confused by your review. In the Pattern Rating heading, you gave it a "Highly Recommend", but in the "Would you recommend it to others" you said "Nope". You say you're "not a very modest person", and "think a cream colored lace cami would look adorable" under it, "but there is nothing I could change that would make me feel comfortable in this top" For what my opinion is worth, I think it's really cute on you, and if it were me, I would wear a cami under it.
MorriganWilliams said... (6/6/11 4:58 AM) Reply
Looks great... I always wear these kind of tops with a lace edged cami.
Jacqui315 said... (5/25/11 6:32 PM) Reply
I do love the shirt and it would be a shame not to wear it. How about a brown camisole/tank underneather?
Amanda.Claire said... (5/25/11 7:06 AM) Reply
Very flattering top. Thanks for all of the information!
Elemenopeo said... (5/24/11 8:02 PM) Reply
it's very pretty but I agree I wouldn't want to be uncomfortable
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1086

by: julliams

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Pattern Details