SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5497 (Misses' Top)

29 more reviews
Viewed 677 times 
Reviewed by:Spring
photo

 
 
About Springstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 9)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/11 4:12 PM
Last Updated:4/19/12 6:38 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Sassy T said... (4/19/12 12:26 PM) Reply
I would just wear a cami under it. Problem solved. I have this pattern on the top of my wishlist as I love all the options. Mayube you could add some concealed snaps to shorten the V. Looks nice anyway!
CraftAddict said... (4/19/12 9:37 AM) Reply
Spring, the shirt really does look great on you. Perhaps you could modify the neckline so it's not so low-cut? I've not done pattern modifications before but this one seems like an easy fix. The funny interesting thing is, I just purchased this pattern this weekend and I definitely thing I will be raising the neckline. Thanks for the review.
Spring said... (4/19/12 6:28 AM) Reply
Dream designer if your confused by my review then fantastic, I got my point across. My relationship with this shirt was confusing. lol It looks amazing on, I get loads of compliments but we just don't feel it for each other. That said I did wear it all last summer as a swimsuit coverup. So I hate the shirt but wore it at least twice a week during the summer.
dreamdesigner said... (11/26/11 4:51 PM) Reply
I'm sorry to say this, but I'm really confused by your review. In the Pattern Rating heading, you gave it a "Highly Recommend", but in the "Would you recommend it to others" you said "Nope". You say you're "not a very modest person", and "think a cream colored lace cami would look adorable" under it, "but there is nothing I could change that would make me feel comfortable in this top" For what my opinion is worth, I think it's really cute on you, and if it were me, I would wear a cami under it.
MorriganWilliams said... (6/6/11 4:58 AM) Reply
Looks great... I always wear these kind of tops with a lace edged cami.
Jacqui315 said... (5/25/11 6:32 PM) Reply
I do love the shirt and it would be a shame not to wear it. How about a brown camisole/tank underneather?
Amanda.Claire said... (5/25/11 7:06 AM) Reply
Very flattering top. Thanks for all of the information!
Elemenopeo said... (5/24/11 8:02 PM) Reply
it's very pretty but I agree I wouldn't want to be uncomfortable
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll Mae

photo
by: AZGreyGirl

Review
Other 1210

photo
by: SouthernSt...

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Pattern Details