SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M6097 (Misses' Victorian Costume)

2 more reviews
Viewed 260 times 
Reviewed by:auntie bellums
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About auntie bellums
CA USA
Member since: 5/1/05
Reviews: 7 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/11 1:48 AM
Last Updated:5/25/11 1:57 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
karinadrake said... (7/24/12 4:44 AM) Reply
I have almost finished making the same dress for my Year 12 major work. I did however machine sew the lace on and it worked perfectly, you can barely even see the stitches. I also put in eyelets which also worked fine but I chose a taffeta as my material so it's a lot sturdier. Also, to get the 'period' look I used curtain material as the contrast, this works well in keeping the shape, especially on the bustle.
bonvogue said... (12/29/11 2:48 PM) Reply
Hello! your dress is really pretty. I am also using this pattern right now to make a venican dress for a ball. But when I attached the back peplum to the back body, my peplum does not meet the back's edge. It is about 1" short. I have already sewn in the pleat in the peplum. I am not sure what I am supose to do with the 1" extension. The illustration on the envelop shows a flush Center back. Did you ran into this issue?
Mufffet said... (7/1/11 10:24 AM) Reply
This is spectacularly beautiful. It is what little girls dream of...at least this little-girl-in-old-woman's-body. :) Your work is impressive and lovely to see.
jewelsew said... (5/27/11 12:40 PM) Reply
Great work - it's beautiful! When I saw the pattern I thought the same thing about the period and was glad to read your comments.
sacmabell said... (5/26/11 5:31 PM) Reply
Your hand work is beautiful. The time you put in was definitely not wasted. You should be proud of this dress.
Trephas2003 said... (5/25/11 9:28 AM) Reply
It looks beautiful!
RadarRadiance said... (5/25/11 8:30 AM) Reply
What a beautiful dress, it gives a complete different look then what the pattern shows when done in white. You have a great eye, you'll have to post more pictures, beautiful!
Amanda.Claire said... (5/25/11 6:47 AM) Reply
This was a load of hard work. Great job! Is this for a wedding?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-116

photo
by: Levone

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Pattern Details
Summer Tote Paper Pattern

Summer Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern 331888-1002

photo
by: sassykat

Review