Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: M6097 (Misses' Victorian Costume) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 230 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:auntie bellums
photo
About auntie bellums
CA USA
Member since: 5/1/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/11 1:48 AM
Last Updated:5/25/11 1:57 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
This was a load of hard work. Great job! Is this for a wedding?
5/25/11 6:47 AM
RadarRadiance said...
What a beautiful dress, it gives a complete different look then what the pattern shows when done in white. You have a great eye, you'll have to post more pictures, beautiful!
5/25/11 8:30 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
5/25/11 9:28 AM
sacmabell said...
Your hand work is beautiful. The time you put in was definitely not wasted. You should be proud of this dress.
5/26/11 5:31 PM
jewelsew said...
Great work - it's beautiful! When I saw the pattern I thought the same thing about the period and was glad to read your comments.
5/27/11 12:40 PM
Mufffet said...
This is spectacularly beautiful. It is what little girls dream of...at least this little-girl-in-old-woman's-body. :) Your work is impressive and lovely to see.
7/1/11 10:24 AM
bonvogue said...
Hello! your dress is really pretty. I am also using this pattern right now to make a venican dress for a ball. But when I attached the back peplum to the back body, my peplum does not meet the back's edge. It is about 1" short. I have already sewn in the pleat in the peplum. I am not sure what I am supose to do with the 1" extension. The illustration on the envelop shows a flush Center back. Did you ran into this issue?
12/29/11 2:48 PM
karinadrake said...
I have almost finished making the same dress for my Year 12 major work. I did however machine sew the lace on and it worked perfectly, you can barely even see the stitches. I also put in eyelets which also worked fine but I chose a taffeta as my material so it's a lot sturdier. Also, to get the 'period' look I used curtain material as the contrast, this works well in keeping the shape, especially on the bustle.
7/24/12 4:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2766
photo
Review by homejewel on 11/1/09
Read Review

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5644 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5644 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7044
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/22/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us