Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-116 (GI Jane dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 360 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Karin Mantefors
photo
About Karin Manteforsstarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 7/29/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/11 3:34 PM
Last Updated:5/27/11 3:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karin Mantefors said...
I have to comment myself. The patternlink is not correct it should be mod 116 that I transformed to a 48 for me
5/27/11 3:39 PM
Dale C said...
Wow. Perfect topstitching and wonderful details. I especially like the appliques you added and the contrasting fabrics you used on the undersides of pockets and stuff.
5/27/11 3:55 PM
SewWil said...
Great job on this dress!!! Love the contrasting fabric. Nice touch.
5/27/11 4:07 PM
Elaray said...
Don't you feel proud after having done all of those design details? The dress looks great!
5/27/11 7:06 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Lovely stitching!
5/27/11 7:12 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks really good to me so I am sorry you do not feel happy with it. If you wanted to try again you could use Burda 7827 (an envelope pattern) to try a similar look.
5/28/11 3:50 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
Oh Im very happy with the dress its the original pattern that might not work for me but with all changes I made Im not really sure if there is something wrong with the pattern, but I thing there are other patterns anyway with better cut of the front yoke. I love my dress and had a lot of fun doing all the details, Ive been not doing a lot of sewing lately but I think Im back in buisiness now...
5/28/11 4:13 AM
Re Becca said...
Wow! great job on all those pockets and tabs! I really like the sleeve band, thats a detail that I might not have taken the time to do but it really adds to the pizazz. I love the contrasting flowers too.
5/28/11 9:52 AM
annakeeton said...
Cute dress and with flat felled seams, it's likely better constructed than most RTW.
5/28/11 6:17 PM
taylormade said...
I didn't really understand why she would rate this pattern the way she did. Why wouldn't she recommend it?
5/29/11 0:04 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
The pattern is sized up to 46 and Im a 48. I added 6 cm to the hiparea breaking up the horisontal lines. Still I could not button the dress there, not enough fabric so I inserted panels in the side. Im not sure how it became too small there and I dont feel like spending too much time exploring it, I fixed my dress. But if I would make a dress more simular to the original I would want the yoke to be smaller in the front more of a mens style skirt ( There is a long sleeved shirt too, a variation of the pattern ) There are others who had have luck with this pattern and I would not blame Burda but I would not use it again
5/29/11 3:06 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Beautiful topstitching and choice of buttons.
5/31/11 9:03 AM
loti said...
Karin, I understand when a pattern give you trouble but you've turned it around, I love the details and the contrast pocket flaps.
6/3/11 11:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 8789
photo
Review by Cristinagf on 8/11/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1312 Misses Dress
photo
Review by Sewmuchcra... on 10/7/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8651 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8651 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5589 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5589 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us