SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-116 (GI Jane dress)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest
Viewed 360 times 
Reviewed by:Karin Mantefors
photo

 
 
About Karin Manteforsstarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 7/29/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/11 3:34 PM
Last Updated:5/27/11 3:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karin Mantefors said...
I have to comment myself. The patternlink is not correct it should be mod 116 that I transformed to a 48 for me
5/27/11 3:39 PM
Dale C said...
Wow. Perfect topstitching and wonderful details. I especially like the appliques you added and the contrasting fabrics you used on the undersides of pockets and stuff.
5/27/11 3:55 PM
SewWil said...
Great job on this dress!!! Love the contrasting fabric. Nice touch.
5/27/11 4:07 PM
Elaray said...
Don't you feel proud after having done all of those design details? The dress looks great!
5/27/11 7:06 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Lovely stitching!
5/27/11 7:12 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks really good to me so I am sorry you do not feel happy with it. If you wanted to try again you could use Burda 7827 (an envelope pattern) to try a similar look.
5/28/11 3:50 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
Oh Im very happy with the dress its the original pattern that might not work for me but with all changes I made Im not really sure if there is something wrong with the pattern, but I thing there are other patterns anyway with better cut of the front yoke. I love my dress and had a lot of fun doing all the details, Ive been not doing a lot of sewing lately but I think Im back in buisiness now...
5/28/11 4:13 AM
Re Becca said...
Wow! great job on all those pockets and tabs! I really like the sleeve band, thats a detail that I might not have taken the time to do but it really adds to the pizazz. I love the contrasting flowers too.
5/28/11 9:52 AM
annakeeton said...
Cute dress and with flat felled seams, it's likely better constructed than most RTW.
5/28/11 6:17 PM
taylormade said...
I didn't really understand why she would rate this pattern the way she did. Why wouldn't she recommend it?
5/29/11 0:04 AM
Karin Mantefors said...
The pattern is sized up to 46 and Im a 48. I added 6 cm to the hiparea breaking up the horisontal lines. Still I could not button the dress there, not enough fabric so I inserted panels in the side. Im not sure how it became too small there and I dont feel like spending too much time exploring it, I fixed my dress. But if I would make a dress more simular to the original I would want the yoke to be smaller in the front more of a mens style skirt ( There is a long sleeved shirt too, a variation of the pattern ) There are others who had have luck with this pattern and I would not blame Burda but I would not use it again
5/29/11 3:06 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Beautiful topstitching and choice of buttons.
5/31/11 9:03 AM
loti said...
Karin, I understand when a pattern give you trouble but you've turned it around, I love the details and the contrast pocket flaps.
6/3/11 11:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Portabello Pixie Sewing Bits & Pieces

photo
by: dawn so ca...

Review
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now