SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6361 (Misses Pants in two lengths, Shorts, and Skirt)

10 more reviews
Viewed 492 times 
Reviewed by:pvtiptop
photo

 
 
About pvtiptop
MS USA
Member since: 5/7/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/11 10:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
I'll be interested to see how you get on. It certainly looks like it should be a standard pattern.
5/28/11 4:14 AM
Penny Allen said...
I have this pattern and took it out to see what you are referrring to. I think what you are overlooking is that the front pant does not come to the waist because there is a pocket facing. As you can see from the picture, these are not side-seam pockets. So there is a facing. Once you align that with the pant front, the side front and back will meet. I have never done well with pin fitting a pattern to my body. It may be that it works well with two people. But I prefer to take measurements and make a musiln. I also don't like to destroy the original pattern, and this method sort of chops up your patter. This is a good pattern for a beginner because the pattern has alteration lines for various fitting issues. I hope you stick with!
5/28/11 8:46 PM
Megan Strohschein said...
I just bought this pattern and hope it will be a go-to pants pattern as well.... I'll post a review when I make them. Good luck. And thanks, Penny for the clarification.
7/5/11 11:46 AM
a life in stitches said...
Can I add some words of encouragement? I hope you have persevered, and that the others' comments helped. PR does give you some reassurance that you are not on your own. I admit to a sinking feeling when I read the suggestion to 'tissue fit'. I hate the whole concept, and just can't see how pinned tissue paper with the seams reinforced with Selotape in the hope it wouldn't tear can possibly give much of an indication of how a fabric would drape and go together on the body. I think you will do much better with your muslin, but suggest that before you cut you compare the pattern pieces with a similarly-shaped pair of purchased trousers that fit well. The easiest way is to turn the trousers so one leg lies inside the other (easier to do than to describe). You then have a flatter surface on which to lay the pattern pieces. Good luck!
7/27/11 4:40 AM
kcshocker said...
Did you get this figured out? I think I'm having a similar issue. I am tissue fitting this, but the double notches on the side seams don't match up. If I do match the double notches, the front top edge is about 1 inch below the back top and the hems on the front and back are similarly mismatched. Has anyone else had this problem? what am I not getting?
3/2/14 5:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1227

photo
by: DaisyA

Review