Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2010-124 (Short sleeve tuxedo shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 232 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Red Dragon
photo
About Red Dragonstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/4/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/11 7:07 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
I may be wrong, but I think after one side of the band is attached lengthwise, that you fold it to back on itself, stitch the bottom edge and then turn it back right side out. I would trim the inside seam allowance at the bottom edge too.
5/30/11 7:45 AM
froggiebecky said...
I may be wrong, too..but I think you are supposed to flip the button band so it is right side out, fold/press the seam allowances so that they are inside the button band, and stitch them down, either by topstitching near the edge of the band, or by hand-stitching the band closed.
5/30/11 11:26 AM
Kemish said...
I understand your frustration in using Burda instructions. As they say, "I feel your pain". I usually give up on them and go to a how-to sewing book which usually can provide the basic sewing process, and then I usually guess fom there. Not the best method I suppose but it seems the only way -for me- to get the project done.
5/30/11 12:05 PM
taylormade said...
Red dragon, I just spent about 1/2 hour writing you a note about this pattern which I pulled out and studied, and then I lost the comment! I'm so bummed I was going to forget it, but then I've done all this work and so I might as well share! Your top opens all the way down. There are 8 buttons, 4 of which are marked on the band, and the next three are on the "buttonhole band'. then there is one on the collar edge. So essentially the buttonhole band is cut per instructions and then stitched on the short ends RST, turned right side out, pressed, and the folded edge lines up with the front edge of your blouse band. It is attached on the bottom of the blouse. (If you measure that section it is about 13 3/4" the length of the buttonhole band.) They want you to attach it to the seam allowance of the self facing that you've turned in (vertical basting they mention) and it should line up with the bottom of the blouse front band once you have sewn the facing on the bottom band closed (Just turn the facing back on itself and stitch across the bottom to finish the edge). The b. band should be no longer than the blouse band when finished. I read through the instructions about 5 times and each time it made a little more sense to me. They have you hemming the top before you attach the bands. Then when you finish the band everything will line up. They also have you working the buttonholes after everything is sewn together and you might want to rethink that! Hopes this helps1 Mary Taylor
5/31/11 12:41 PM
Red Dragon said...
Mary, thank you soooo much for explaining this! I gave up last night and tossed the buttonhole band and mocked it up how I thought it should work. I can add your instructions to the pattern envelope now and use it if I ever go back. Thanks for the support, all. Tracy
6/1/11 4:37 AM
taylormade said...
Glad itt finally made sense! If you don'y like the blouse buttoned up all the way, perhaps you could wear it like a little jacket and cami underneath? Good "working" with you :) M.T.
6/1/11 7:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5510 pjs for girls
photo
Review by chunter on 7/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Kitchen curtains
photo
Review by sewsunny37 on 9/20/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us