Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7030 (Men) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 330 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:JenniferMM
photo
About JenniferMMstar
GA USA
Member since: 10/19/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/11 4:31 PM
Last Updated:6/2/11 0:18 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Norsecross said...
Kudos to you for making a man's shirt. I have made a few and just hated it! The process, not the shirt. It really helps when the man it is for is involved, has an opinion and gives compliments! ( My man does all that, but I still have no plan to make him more shirts!) After a few with the same pattern you will have it down to a science and just crank 'em out! Good work!
5/30/11 10:46 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Your picture links aren't working. (other than the thumbnail on this page) BTW, what's a DFH? Darling First Husband??????
6/1/11 8:13 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks Norsecross! Luckily, he doesn't mind offering his opinion because he knows it will result in a better product. Sorry Dreamdesigner, I think they're working.now. I use DFH as Darling future husband. There isn't an appropriate acronym for those of those at the halfway point. Perhaps, DF would be a better choice (for darling fiance)?
6/2/11 0:11 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Nice shirt and lots of good information.
6/2/11 7:45 AM
Aroura said...
Really great job! Great looking shirt, very professional . :)
6/2/11 1:01 PM
fattyboomboom said...
10" of ease?! Wow! Thanks for the warning. Great review.
6/2/11 2:47 PM
Dale C said...
Classic and casual in a happy up-to-date color! Looks sharp.
6/2/11 3:18 PM
21wale said...
Great looking shirt!
6/2/11 3:52 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
6/2/11 6:27 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks everyone! I'm so pleased to hear it looks nice :) (I worry extra when it isn't myself wearing the garment) @fattyboomboom yes, I just double-checked and the chest ease is 10". The waist is actually 13" and the hips 7". I don't think it's uncommon for some men's shirts to be that way but it doesn't fall in with current trend. I definitely recommend using a RTW as a guide.
6/3/11 9:47 AM
cleverkitty said...
looks RTW you both look fabulous in your shirts, you should be so very proud.
6/3/11 12:02 PM
annakeeton said...
Great summer shirt.
6/3/11 5:56 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Link's working now, thanks! It looks fabulous. I think I HAVE seen DF before, but I probably wouldn't have remembered that either, even though dd has one of those.
6/8/11 12:09 PM
Blooms said...
Wow, great fit on that shirt. I love the photo shwoing both the front and back view. Very clever. You'll be a slave to the sewing machine now as I am sure he will want plenty more of these.
7/10/11 7:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Self Drafted Pattern 131944-1000
photo
Review by SI mom of ... on 8/22/08
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio A-line dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio A-line dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5458 Girls dress
photo
Review by mad4sewing on 12/7/07
Read Review

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0150 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0150 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2208 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-36-38-40 )
McCalls 2208 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us