SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2451 (Misses' Skirts)

73 more reviews
Viewed 429 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 142
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 76 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/30/11 9:11 PM
Last Updated:5/31/11 5:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
MNBarb your making me feel guilty with all your posts this weekend, I have been crafting (paper piecing) and have to get back to sewing clothes but after I read about your wadders my condolences. I made a tencel skirt a few weeks ago and it looks like yours, I'm thinking it was the fabric?
5/30/11 11:20 PM
Christas said...
Oh, Barb! Your skirt is made so nicely. All that topstitching is PERFECT. I hate that you don't like the fit. You have been so productive! Sorry about the wadders, but I am glad you have two wearables from all your weekend sewing.
5/30/11 11:41 PM
homejewel said...
What a bummer! I hate it when that happens. I hope you find someone who can wear it (Goodwill???) because your work is too beautiful to throw in the garbage can!
5/31/11 0:26 AM
RadarRadiance said...
You did a beautiful job on the skirt. I don't think it looks bad on you at all. Maybe set it a side and revisit this skirt in a month or so. You might change your mind? :-)
5/31/11 10:23 AM
marjoriekh said...
The skirt looks wonderful, and looks much better on you than you think, in my opinion. The basic line of the skirt is great on you. I'd try it with a few different untucked shirts, just to see. I just PM'd you about a similar skirt pattern that worked for me (Simplicity 5914) that you might want to take a look at. I think you do have a skirt figure!
5/31/11 12:20 PM
SewSho said...
I think it looks lovely! I also have a straight waist and don't really wear skirts, but your skirt caught my eye and I thought hmm that's really nice!
5/31/11 12:30 PM
jmma said...
I think it looks very nice on you!
5/31/11 5:59 PM
FreyaStark said...
It would be a shame to waste itl as it's so beautifully made. Just wear it with an untucked top.
5/31/11 6:41 PM
JTink said...
Barb, what a great skirt. I think you look very polished with the "over" blouse. It's an elegant look.
5/31/11 6:53 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I like it on you and think it would work better with a less severe top better - you might take it to a store and play with different options to see what you like
5/31/11 8:16 PM
sew2little said...
It looks great with your blouse "out"--and the workwomanship is wonderful. I hope you grow to love it.
5/31/11 10:30 PM
Lori V said...
Barb, I think you have styled it perfectly with the white blouse. Great job.
5/31/11 11:34 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful job, I definitely think this skirt is a keeper~ great job!!
6/1/11 1:09 AM
marec said...
It looks good on you-I think you are not seeing the forest for the trees. Just wear it with a top untucked.
6/1/11 1:22 AM
clumsyFingers said...
I have the same high hip bumps (arghh!!) and I feel the same way when I put on a skirt with this shape. I love it on everyone else, but not on me. Sandra Betzina, in the book Power Sewing, recommends putting strips of interfacing on the side seam allowances to smooth things out. I've never tried it, but this skirt is so gorgeous you might give it a shot. It's such beautiful work.
6/1/11 3:28 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I wish I had a wadder that looked like this. I say just wear with untucked tops. The skirt is too good looking to toss.
6/2/11 8:32 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
I really like this skirt and think it looks great on you, especially with the crisp white shirt! I hope this one somehow grows on you! Very nice work!
6/2/11 5:11 PM
Bonnie O said...
I was going to say the same thing as GodsgirlT. I think you look wonderful in this outfit. Wearing the nice white top over the skirt seems to disguise any issues you have with the style on your figure. But alas... I know too well if you're not comfortable wearing it, it really doesn't matter how we think it looks! Sorry for your wadders.
6/2/11 10:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: Salymander...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 173920-1003

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now