Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2451 (Misses' Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 428 times 68 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/30/11 9:11 PM
Last Updated:5/31/11 5:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
MNBarb your making me feel guilty with all your posts this weekend, I have been crafting (paper piecing) and have to get back to sewing clothes but after I read about your wadders my condolences. I made a tencel skirt a few weeks ago and it looks like yours, I'm thinking it was the fabric?
5/30/11 11:20 PM
Christas said...
Oh, Barb! Your skirt is made so nicely. All that topstitching is PERFECT. I hate that you don't like the fit. You have been so productive! Sorry about the wadders, but I am glad you have two wearables from all your weekend sewing.
5/30/11 11:41 PM
homejewel said...
What a bummer! I hate it when that happens. I hope you find someone who can wear it (Goodwill???) because your work is too beautiful to throw in the garbage can!
5/31/11 0:26 AM
RadarRadiance said...
You did a beautiful job on the skirt. I don't think it looks bad on you at all. Maybe set it a side and revisit this skirt in a month or so. You might change your mind? :-)
5/31/11 10:23 AM
marjoriekh said...
The skirt looks wonderful, and looks much better on you than you think, in my opinion. The basic line of the skirt is great on you. I'd try it with a few different untucked shirts, just to see. I just PM'd you about a similar skirt pattern that worked for me (Simplicity 5914) that you might want to take a look at. I think you do have a skirt figure!
5/31/11 12:20 PM
SewSho said...
I think it looks lovely! I also have a straight waist and don't really wear skirts, but your skirt caught my eye and I thought hmm that's really nice!
5/31/11 12:30 PM
jmma said...
I think it looks very nice on you!
5/31/11 5:59 PM
FreyaStark said...
It would be a shame to waste itl as it's so beautifully made. Just wear it with an untucked top.
5/31/11 6:41 PM
JTink said...
Barb, what a great skirt. I think you look very polished with the "over" blouse. It's an elegant look.
5/31/11 6:53 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I like it on you and think it would work better with a less severe top better - you might take it to a store and play with different options to see what you like
5/31/11 8:16 PM
sew2little said...
It looks great with your blouse "out"--and the workwomanship is wonderful. I hope you grow to love it.
5/31/11 10:30 PM
Lori V said...
Barb, I think you have styled it perfectly with the white blouse. Great job.
5/31/11 11:34 PM
mesewlot said...
Beautiful job, I definitely think this skirt is a keeper~ great job!!
6/1/11 1:09 AM
marec said...
It looks good on you-I think you are not seeing the forest for the trees. Just wear it with a top untucked.
6/1/11 1:22 AM
clumsyFingers said...
I have the same high hip bumps (arghh!!) and I feel the same way when I put on a skirt with this shape. I love it on everyone else, but not on me. Sandra Betzina, in the book Power Sewing, recommends putting strips of interfacing on the side seam allowances to smooth things out. I've never tried it, but this skirt is so gorgeous you might give it a shot. It's such beautiful work.
6/1/11 3:28 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I wish I had a wadder that looked like this. I say just wear with untucked tops. The skirt is too good looking to toss.
6/2/11 8:32 AM
GodsgirlT said...
I really like this skirt and think it looks great on you, especially with the crisp white shirt! I hope this one somehow grows on you! Very nice work!
6/2/11 5:11 PM
Bonnie O said...
I was going to say the same thing as GodsgirlT. I think you look wonderful in this outfit. Wearing the nice white top over the skirt seems to disguise any issues you have with the style on your figure. But alas... I know too well if you're not comfortable wearing it, it really doesn't matter how we think it looks! Sorry for your wadders.
6/2/11 10:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2006-115 Wrap Dress
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 6/28/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver   S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2934
photo
Review by Deepika on 1/25/02
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3883 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3883 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us