SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vintage Pattern Lending Library> 9037 (Ladies Evening Dress)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 514 times 
Reviewed by:datestephie
photo

 
 
About datestephie
Member since: 11/8/10
Reviews written: 2
patterns reviewed: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 3:06 AM
Last Updated:7/1/11 2:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CAgirl said...
You are a brave sewer... to put together a dress without instructions! You did a fabulous job. YOu should be proud of your accomplishment!
6/30/11 10:34 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I like your color combination. It looks great! No instructions for something as intricate as this must have been a real challenge. Nice job!
6/30/11 11:48 AM
MissyBelle said...
It looks like you don't need no stinkin' instructions! Cheers for figuring out a vintage dress that's so unique. Glamorous. You deserve the trophy!
6/30/11 11:58 AM
Aroura said...
Amazing job doing this with no instructions! Really a fabulous dress.
6/30/11 4:08 PM
SewWil said...
No instructions? Impressive! You did a great job. Your dress is beautiful.
6/30/11 5:25 PM
Chanelcat said...
Was there a pattern company name? You look wonderful--Did you make the dress for a special occasion?
7/1/11 1:22 AM
marec said...
What a challenge this must have been. You are definitely up for anything to have tackled this with no instructions. Love the emerald green.
7/1/11 10:56 AM
waltzqueen said...
Fabulous dress! I've got many vintage patterns and nearly all have instructions, more or less detailed. None including basics, which apparently were obvious to sewers then! I made a gown a bit like yours years ago, and I had to use a rhinestone broach in the front because I couldn't figure out how to sew the pointed seam between top and skirt! Your gown is gorgeous.
7/1/11 2:23 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Very pretty gown that fits you well! Love it!
7/1/11 8:47 PM
AnneM said...
Nothing like diving in and going for it! Congratulations.
7/2/11 10:28 AM
fourkid said...
Kudos for a great job. I love that color combination.
7/2/11 9:52 PM
janet said...
FANTASTIC dress! BEAUTIFUL!! The fit is PERFECTION!!! Kudos on fitting yourself and putting the dress together without INSTRUCTIONS!!!!
7/3/11 1:24 PM
whirrclunk said...
Wow, what a dress and fabric! Brilliant!
7/3/11 4:44 PM
datestephie said...
Wow! Thank you for all of the very kind words. It definitely was a challenge that taught me a lot. I did not make this for any occassion specifically, though I think a "celebretory completion of vintage dress with out instructions dinner " is in order.
7/6/11 12:52 PM
Margaret said...
I actually have the same pattern from the same seller, but got it a while ago and have yet to use it... will have to check whether it came with instructions... you're right, some of them just don't. Glad you could complete the dress anyway -- it turned out absolutely gorgeous! Love the color combination. Congratulations!
7/9/11 3:36 PM
sewbarbie said...
You did a wonderful job with this, it's truly a stunner.
7/12/11 8:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now