SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vintage Pattern Lending Library> 9037 (Ladies Evening Dress)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 518 times 
Reviewed by:datestephie
photo

 
 
About datestephie
Member since: 11/8/10
Reviews written: 2
patterns reviewed: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 3:06 AM
Last Updated:7/1/11 2:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbarbie said...
You did a wonderful job with this, it's truly a stunner.
7/12/11 8:50 PM
Margaret said...
I actually have the same pattern from the same seller, but got it a while ago and have yet to use it... will have to check whether it came with instructions... you're right, some of them just don't. Glad you could complete the dress anyway -- it turned out absolutely gorgeous! Love the color combination. Congratulations!
7/9/11 3:36 PM
datestephie said...
Wow! Thank you for all of the very kind words. It definitely was a challenge that taught me a lot. I did not make this for any occassion specifically, though I think a "celebretory completion of vintage dress with out instructions dinner " is in order.
7/6/11 12:52 PM
whirrclunk said...
Wow, what a dress and fabric! Brilliant!
7/3/11 4:44 PM
janet said...
FANTASTIC dress! BEAUTIFUL!! The fit is PERFECTION!!! Kudos on fitting yourself and putting the dress together without INSTRUCTIONS!!!!
7/3/11 1:24 PM
fourkid said...
Kudos for a great job. I love that color combination.
7/2/11 9:52 PM
AnneM said...
Nothing like diving in and going for it! Congratulations.
7/2/11 10:28 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Very pretty gown that fits you well! Love it!
7/1/11 8:47 PM
waltzqueen said...
Fabulous dress! I've got many vintage patterns and nearly all have instructions, more or less detailed. None including basics, which apparently were obvious to sewers then! I made a gown a bit like yours years ago, and I had to use a rhinestone broach in the front because I couldn't figure out how to sew the pointed seam between top and skirt! Your gown is gorgeous.
7/1/11 2:23 PM
marec said...
What a challenge this must have been. You are definitely up for anything to have tackled this with no instructions. Love the emerald green.
7/1/11 10:56 AM
Chanelcat said...
Was there a pattern company name? You look wonderful--Did you make the dress for a special occasion?
7/1/11 1:22 AM
SewWil said...
No instructions? Impressive! You did a great job. Your dress is beautiful.
6/30/11 5:25 PM
Aroura said...
Amazing job doing this with no instructions! Really a fabulous dress.
6/30/11 4:08 PM
MissyBelle said...
It looks like you don't need no stinkin' instructions! Cheers for figuring out a vintage dress that's so unique. Glamorous. You deserve the trophy!
6/30/11 11:58 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I like your color combination. It looks great! No instructions for something as intricate as this must have been a real challenge. Nice job!
6/30/11 11:48 AM
CAgirl said...
You are a brave sewer... to put together a dress without instructions! You did a fabulous job. YOu should be proud of your accomplishment!
6/30/11 10:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 6570

photo
by: juliamorle...

Review
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used The Sewing Machine Shirt

photo
by: GwenH

Review