SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1240 (Misses' Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 750 times 
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/11 8:54 AM
Last Updated:5/31/11 9:00 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stacy Sews said... (6/13/11 11:15 AM) Reply
Sigh! I really wanted to make this dress because it looks like a cute design, but with two negative reviews, I think I'll use my silk with another pattern.
cleverclogs said... (6/1/11 8:31 AM) Reply
Thanks for the really helpful comments - looking at the armholes in the photo on the pattern I think you have cause to complain to Vogue about misrepresentation! Bet there's some tucks in the back of their dress taking up the slack. I'm glad you could rescue the muslin because your fabric is quite striking.
lamstu said... (5/31/11 7:28 PM) Reply
I thought this dress was so cool and fun and it's disappointing to learn that the pattern is flawed. Somebody at Vogue needs to check these things (and restore the late-style of word descriptions). Good save on the toile with some cute stash fabric.
sew2little said... (5/31/11 2:58 PM) Reply
I just had a similar problem with a Vogue pattern that has a similar cut (I have yet to review it.). The armholes came below my bra band! I was able to fiddle with it to solve the problem, as it didn't have darts, but I can't imagine where Vogue thinks women's breasts are. Your new neckline looks great!
Sewiing Sue said... (5/31/11 2:19 PM) Reply
The arm holes on Vogue model look fine (probably an adjustment) but the collar does look really high and uncomfortable, like those collars Victorian men used to wear. I love your fabric.
susiestitcher said... (5/31/11 2:17 PM) Reply
Well, pooh! I am glad you could rescue your muslin. It looks great with the bias neckband and tie. I know how frustrating it is when something you design in your mind doesn't cooperate in real life. The pattern has obvious drafting flaws. That collar seems alarmingly high, doesn't it? Pat yourself on the back for 1) not cutting your silk and 2) making a great save with your challis muslin. Glad you had another dress on hand.
manola6176 said... (5/31/11 10:02 AM) Reply
OMG you must be so upset. I can't understand what Vogue are up to these days !!! It could have been such a gorgeous dress.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Pattern Details
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Pattern Details