Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1240 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 702 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/11 8:54 AM
Last Updated:5/31/11 9:00 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
manola6176 said...
OMG you must be so upset. I can't understand what Vogue are up to these days !!! It could have been such a gorgeous dress.
5/31/11 10:02 AM
susiestitcher said...
Well, pooh! I am glad you could rescue your muslin. It looks great with the bias neckband and tie. I know how frustrating it is when something you design in your mind doesn't cooperate in real life. The pattern has obvious drafting flaws. That collar seems alarmingly high, doesn't it? Pat yourself on the back for 1) not cutting your silk and 2) making a great save with your challis muslin. Glad you had another dress on hand.
5/31/11 2:17 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
The arm holes on Vogue model look fine (probably an adjustment) but the collar does look really high and uncomfortable, like those collars Victorian men used to wear. I love your fabric.
5/31/11 2:19 PM
sew2little said...
I just had a similar problem with a Vogue pattern that has a similar cut (I have yet to review it.). The armholes came below my bra band! I was able to fiddle with it to solve the problem, as it didn't have darts, but I can't imagine where Vogue thinks women's breasts are. Your new neckline looks great!
5/31/11 2:58 PM
lamstu said...
I thought this dress was so cool and fun and it's disappointing to learn that the pattern is flawed. Somebody at Vogue needs to check these things (and restore the late-style of word descriptions). Good save on the toile with some cute stash fabric.
5/31/11 7:28 PM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the really helpful comments - looking at the armholes in the photo on the pattern I think you have cause to complain to Vogue about misrepresentation! Bet there's some tucks in the back of their dress taking up the slack. I'm glad you could rescue the muslin because your fabric is quite striking.
6/1/11 8:31 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Sigh! I really wanted to make this dress because it looks like a cute design, but with two negative reviews, I think I'll use my silk with another pattern.
6/13/11 11:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2007-101
photo
Review by Christina ... on 4/11/08
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3754
photo
Review by RobinE on 8/23/11
Read Review

McCalls 6787 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6787 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Perfect Tee Pattern
Loes Hinse Perfect Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us