SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1240 (Misses' Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 732 times 
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/11 8:54 AM
Last Updated:5/31/11 9:00 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
manola6176 said...
OMG you must be so upset. I can't understand what Vogue are up to these days !!! It could have been such a gorgeous dress.
5/31/11 10:02 AM
susiestitcher said...
Well, pooh! I am glad you could rescue your muslin. It looks great with the bias neckband and tie. I know how frustrating it is when something you design in your mind doesn't cooperate in real life. The pattern has obvious drafting flaws. That collar seems alarmingly high, doesn't it? Pat yourself on the back for 1) not cutting your silk and 2) making a great save with your challis muslin. Glad you had another dress on hand.
5/31/11 2:17 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
The arm holes on Vogue model look fine (probably an adjustment) but the collar does look really high and uncomfortable, like those collars Victorian men used to wear. I love your fabric.
5/31/11 2:19 PM
sew2little said...
I just had a similar problem with a Vogue pattern that has a similar cut (I have yet to review it.). The armholes came below my bra band! I was able to fiddle with it to solve the problem, as it didn't have darts, but I can't imagine where Vogue thinks women's breasts are. Your new neckline looks great!
5/31/11 2:58 PM
lamstu said...
I thought this dress was so cool and fun and it's disappointing to learn that the pattern is flawed. Somebody at Vogue needs to check these things (and restore the late-style of word descriptions). Good save on the toile with some cute stash fabric.
5/31/11 7:28 PM
cleverclogs said...
Thanks for the really helpful comments - looking at the armholes in the photo on the pattern I think you have cause to complain to Vogue about misrepresentation! Bet there's some tucks in the back of their dress taking up the slack. I'm glad you could rescue the muslin because your fabric is quite striking.
6/1/11 8:31 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Sigh! I really wanted to make this dress because it looks like a cute design, but with two negative reviews, I think I'll use my silk with another pattern.
6/13/11 11:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
Butterick 5629

photo
by: rooskie

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now