SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2804 (Empire crossover top)

44 more reviews
Viewed 420 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews: 235 (patterns: 225)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 205 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/1/11 9:00 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Swim Style Patterns


Swimwear Gymwear Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
cleverkitty said... (5/21/14 8:56 PM) Reply
I'm getting ready to make this and your review was helpful, the sweetheart top I had to make three times before it fit the way I wanted it to, so I think I will make a muslin before making this one too :) thanks!
Raye Ann said... (6/2/11 0:09 AM) Reply
I also had to adjust this pattern quite a bit, but it was also my first Jalie. I didn't have to use different sizes for bust/waist/ hip, but did have to do a broad back adjustment. I didn't have to do that for any of my other Jalies. This pattern just seemed to have a closer fit than the others....but I love it and made it a few times once I got the fit worked out. Your top looks very cute!
clothingengineer said... (6/1/11 2:28 PM) Reply
MNBarb - I think the stretch and drape of the fabric has a lot to do with it. I've made the Jalie sweetheart top out of a sturdy cotton/lycra knit and the neckline was at least an inch higher than when I used an extremely stretchy, lighter weight rayon/lycra jersey. Both had 4-way stretch but the rayon had more stretch lengthwise than the cotton did, so everything got shifted a bit lower.
MNBarb said... (6/1/11 11:27 AM) Reply
I wonder if it's this pattern or if crossover tops are just difficult to fit considering all of the heights and shapes of bustlines. I had to add inches to the bodice of my version so the seam didn't end up at the bust apex. It looks like you have it all figured out and can now make another.
Amanda.Claire said... (6/1/11 9:43 AM) Reply
I so agree with all of your comments. I have this pattern and I have had to adjust this one more than even my other Jalie patterns. It is a very cute top and I think worth all of the extra effort. Thanks for the review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 9004

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
La Mia Boutique Magazine 05-2013-08

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Softly Pleated Dress Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Softly Pleated Dress Pattern

Pattern Details