Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3881 (Misses' Panties)

5 more reviews
Viewed 702 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews: 223 (patterns: 213)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 141 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/11 5:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
clothingengineer said... (7/4/11 7:16 AM) Reply
Alchemist9 - I've been using 3/8". It gives better support and as you mentioned is easier to find. If you are going for your first pair, I would try the Jalie pattern first. Aside from removing some width from the crotch and my normal full rear wedge in the back, I got a much better fit out of the envelope. The fact that the Jalie pattern was drafted for lycra fabric helps a lot too.
Alchemist9 said... (7/3/11 10:53 AM) Reply
I am about to tackle my first pair of panties and I'm wondering if folks have been using the 1/4 plush back elastic for the legs or going with 3/8". I'm having a difficult time finding the 1/4" width.
Elemenopeo said... (6/2/11 6:00 PM) Reply
very helpful and nice garment
clothingengineer said... (6/2/11 8:36 AM) Reply
Elona - Kwik Sew does tend to have a too-wide crotch, but they've gotten better. I thought the middle and side of the crotch was fine, and just the front needed to be brought in 1/4" on both sides. I tried another Kwik Sew panty pattern about 6 years ago and had to remove 1/2" from both sides of the crotch!
Erin D said... (6/1/11 11:57 PM) Reply
Thanks for your detailed review. I have thought about giving this pattern a try, and your info. is really helpful.
sewing for fun said... (6/1/11 8:57 PM) Reply
Love that hot pink! I narrow the crotch on all my Kwik Sew patterns for panties and swimwear, too. I think Elona is right!
Elona said... (6/1/11 8:40 PM) Reply
The overly-wide crotch is frequently noted in reviews of Kwik Sew undies. I wonder who their 'fit model' is--perhaps one of those ladies with a rather wide pelvis and thin legs well spaced at the thigh?
Annette Wright said... (6/1/11 6:46 PM) Reply
Very very nice. I've made some panties, but mine haven't been a total success (not a flop either though.) I really need to make more as it's time for new ones.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 37823-1004

photo
by: m1khaela

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 8543

photo
by: rmusic1

Review