SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2247 (Misses Dresses)

16 more reviews
Viewed 752 times 
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Riesiestar
MD United States
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/11 1:24 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavannahSue said...
Wonderful review! but if the garment doesn't make you feel better than "Frumpy Old Lady" then Goodwill is the best place for it where it will surely make someone else feel like a million bucks! Great job on the dress, though.
7/13/13 10:44 AM
jlg said...
Love your rant. Sorry the dress didn't work out but the review is still very helpful.
1/8/12 7:51 AM
Riesie said...
So I let the dress marinate for awhile and thenI wore it a couple times but still felt uncomfortable in it. It was definitely an ill-fated romance. It's in the Goodwill bag so it can find somebody who truly loves it.
12/17/11 1:05 PM
BeaJay said...
Can I just say that I love this review. Change the face and it is me there (though I'm even a bit more on the larger size ) and I can totally relate to your rant. I think your dress looks great - but I know that it is how the wearer feels that counts. Thank you for the reveiw (I have this pattern and will now think before I sew it - is it worth the hassle for my size).
12/16/11 2:01 AM
Zoomitron said...
I just bought this pattern in a 99-cent sale, and I love it. Your dress was beautifully sewn, the fabric is gorgeous, and it fits you perfectly. You might add heels with it (not those crazy platform stilettos, mind you). The neckline begs for some fancy stone necklace. Hope you didn't toss it, cause you look lovely.
12/5/11 3:10 PM
AdaH said...
Riesie your dress looks nice on you and it fits so well. I know what you mean about breaking out of your comfort zone. I have been doing that a lot in the last few months. At first it made me uncomfortable but after a while it gets easier and I am getting use to wearing bigger prints, skirts and blouses w/o sleeves. I agree with the others that shorter sleeves would give the dress a summery look.
6/5/11 2:10 AM
Woolygal said...
Don't be so hard on yourself. Your dress really looks lovely. Very summery and comfortable It is an "Amazing Fit".
6/3/11 9:15 AM
NancyAnn2 said...
This is a fabulous fit and I think a rather dressy dress. It would look wonderful with a matching coat. The Queen is over 60, and she always looks great. It is not about being a teenager! I like it.
6/3/11 2:53 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I agree with everyone else! So there. It looks fabulous on you.
6/3/11 0:43 AM
mary in FL said...
The hem is straight, and shorter sleeves might be better. Put it in the closet for a while, and later you can find it as a "back-of-the-closet special!"
6/2/11 8:52 PM
RLL said...
Riesie, although I agree with the others about the dress looking very nice on you, I hear your rant loud and clear. I think you were quite eloquent with your 'evaluation' and I even identify with it completely. I think all of us leave our comfort zone on occassion and think of it as a mistake. I have taken to wearing it (my mistake) in public and if I receive compliments then maybe it wasn't a mistake after all. No compliments means I was right! If it still 'doesn't feel like you' (and that is what really matters) then since it is knit, you have a new house dress!
6/2/11 2:50 PM
Riesie said...
Thanks for the kind words. I'll take everybody's advice and put it somewhere out of sight for awhile. I really do think the short sleeves are a good idea, too.
6/2/11 1:42 PM
antiquelvr56 said...
Reisie, you're selling yourself short girl! I totally agree w/ the others - your dress looks great on you & the fit is perfect. I know exactly where you're coming from on the "self-image thing". We are our own worst enemy on that. I think SandyTaz has a great idea, just shorten the sleeves for a more youthful look & if bearing your arms makes you as uncomfortable as it does me, just wear a light shawl or jacket. I think you look fabulous. I also agree w/you that these Amazing Fit patterns are VERY well drafted as I found it to fit together beautifully, even though I had to grade up a few sizes.
6/2/11 10:48 AM
SandyTaz said...
I concur with "Cathy" and "mssewcrazy"... Your dress is pretty and looks very nice on you. I am wondering if maybe the sleeves were shorter, it would give the dress a more summery look. Only because the fabric has such a light, airy, pastel, feminine design... but that's just my own thought. But your dress looks great on you. Thank you for your helpful and detailed review! Good job!
6/2/11 8:51 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Riesie I say wear the dress and put up the scissors. If it were mine I'd put one of those little floating stone necklaces things on or some colored hoop earrings and sandals and enjoy my new dress. Right now prints are so popular. The big girl rtw racks are mostly louder prints than yours. If you didn't sew bigger prints than yours would be you'd have to wear anyway. Put it in the magic closet and have a look at it another day as Cathy says. I think it is a great summer dress.
6/2/11 8:26 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Whoa! Don't cut that dress! Put it in the closet for a few days, out of site, and then take it out again and reeassess. My first reaction was wow, she looks great in this dress! I was unsure about the pattern until I saw it on you and then I decided I wanted it. Personally, I love the print on you for summer. The hem and sleeve lengths look good. And I love your haircut: it's very youthful. So, I hope you will take another look at the dress. And yourself Riesie. Love Cathy.
6/2/11 2:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 9891

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
New Look 6874

photo
by: ccotton

Review
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now