Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2008-08 (Cross-Front Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 385 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Amanda.Claire
photo
Friend of PR
About Amanda.Clairestar
Member since: 3/20/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/11 6:01 PM
Last Updated:6/21/11 6:57 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Super cute!
6/2/11 6:47 PM
Seaspur said...
Great top! I had a look at your seam allowance curve. Brilliant idea! I too prefer 3/8" allowances and really resent it when I sew a pattern that has the 5/8ths already added. I try to stick to Knipmode, Burdastyle. La Mia Boutique. I would love to purchase the curve but I notice that you only ship within the US and I live in Canada. Any chance you would consider shipping it north of the 49th?
6/2/11 7:26 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Seaspur, I would be happy to ship to you in Canada. I just set that site up quickly and was not sure what to charge in shipping. I'll try and fix that on Etsy.
6/2/11 7:59 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful top. The print and black accents look perfect together - very fresh looking!
6/2/11 9:46 PM
Mufffet said...
Looks very pretty!
6/3/11 0:39 AM
MNBarb said...
You've taken a simple pattern and made it into something very eye-catching.
6/3/11 8:20 AM
21wale said...
I guess we had the same idea in mind! This is very classy in black and white and I'm glad you were able to get a good fit without a camisole.
6/4/11 9:14 AM
Hilary said...
Both versions of your top are really cute! I love the black and white fabric especially, its very pretty. The pink lace edging is really nice too!
6/21/11 9:34 PM
sewing for fun said...
The tops are so beautiful. Your fit it wonderful, too. Can you expand a little on your dental floss technique?
6/21/11 11:12 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great top...they all look cute on you!
6/21/11 11:20 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Sewing for fun: About 1/4 inch from the edge, zigzag over dental floss without sewing through it. Take the dental floss and push the fabric together so that it is eased and not gathered. Then apply the binding. Dental floss is a great way to add gathers too.
6/22/11 8:00 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty tops! Thanks for the review.
6/22/11 9:51 AM
nicegirl said...
A very nice top! I like that you created 3 different looks with your choice of fabric and trim.
6/22/11 11:00 AM
Ericaeli said...
This is a really nice top. I think I need to give it another look.
6/22/11 11:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2683
photo
Review by sacmabell on 7/6/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4968 OOP (50s/60s)
photo
Review by gabc on 12/30/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Gore Skirt
Loes Hinse Gore Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8974 Pattern
Burda 8974 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us