Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2584 (Misses Dress, Tunic and Headband Cynthia Rowley Collection) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 471 times 49 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:JenniferMM
photo
About JenniferMMstar
GA USA
Member since: 10/19/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/11 6:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
littlebetty said...
This dress looks lovely - great work!
6/2/11 6:48 PM
JanieBee said...
Really pretty - the yellow & white fabrics look great together!
6/2/11 8:10 PM
Raye Ann said...
Really pretty!
6/2/11 8:31 PM
poppykettle said...
Very mod - looks great!
6/2/11 10:17 PM
katlew03 said...
What a cheerful looking dress. Love the yellow and white together. Great job on the yoke.
6/2/11 10:42 PM
pammieh said...
Fantastic dress!! Congratulations!
6/2/11 10:54 PM
21wale said...
What a fantastic dress! Nice color choice!
6/2/11 11:26 PM
debbieB said...
Great dress.This is one of my favorite patterns.
6/2/11 11:45 PM
JenniferMM said...
Wow! Thanks, everyone, for all the wonderful comments! :)
6/3/11 9:39 AM
cleverkitty said...
Adorable dress perfect for sight seeing and when it's really hot, it looks fresh. You did an outstanding job sewing this.
6/3/11 11:47 AM
Diane333 said...
Very pretty and feminine dress. You should have been on the pattern cover.
6/3/11 9:52 PM
FLFiFiLarue said...
Love love your dress! For those of us in South Fla to fake a Lilly dress is indeed a compliment!! Have wanted to make this however as a D cup I am concerned of looking like I have a maternity dress on even tho Way Past that stage! lol
6/16/11 4:36 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks for the new compliments. You're all so lovely :) @FLFiFiLarue - It was nice having the extra room while overindulging on Cajun food but I can certainly understand your concern. I imagine it would be quite easy to add bow-shaped darts below the bustline to take that area in a bit. I'm considering doing that on my next one to give it a different look.
6/17/11 6:46 PM
muximaus said...
I'm in the middle of making this dress but I am finding that the shoulder is low. Did you have to adjust this? I'm finding this a common problem as I am large busted so I have to use a bigger pattern in order for the bust to fit.
7/31/11 0:11 AM
JenniferMM said...
@muximaus I certainly don't have a full bust issue but I did make the dress according to the envelope size (normally, I size down by one or two) and so I did notice the shoulders were a touch low. I think it's a slight design flaw - the sleeveless version is identical to the sleeved one with isn't the best placement. It did well for covering sunburned shoulders though! It wasn't enough to bother me and so I forgot when I wrote my review but I think it would be more flattering to bring them in about 1/2" or so. A French curve could help with that.
7/31/11 3:04 PM
novice beginner said...
You did an amazing job. I am trying this pattern for the first time. Do you have any tips to keep the dress fabric from showing through the white fabric? I am using hot pink for main color with white accents.
4/24/13 2:32 PM
JenniferMM said...
@novice beginner - Thanks! I'm sorry I didn't see your comment sooner. The combination you've chosen sounds cute! If you haven't finished this one, here's what I would suggest: To keep the pink from showing through, I'd recommend choosing a white fabric in a light to medium weight, with the highest thread count you can reasonably find. Then add a layer of lightweight interfacing with a similar drape. A higher thread count will limit the number of spaces the body color can show through and the interfacing should diffuse any additional pink. If you can't find a white with a high thread count (I struggle with this too), then experiment with a few interfacing options - they go a long way to limit seeing what you don't want to see. Good luck :)
7/22/13 1:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

New Look 6429
photo
Review by JuanitaVA on 7/3/11
Read Review

Burda 8501 Pattern
Burda 8501 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6284
photo
Review by Andreahg on 12/21/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us