SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2584 (Misses Dress, Tunic and Headband Cynthia Rowley Collection)

49 more reviews
Viewed 474 times 
Reviewed by:JenniferMM
photo

 
 
About JenniferMMstar
GA USA
Member since: 10/19/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/11 6:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
littlebetty said...
This dress looks lovely - great work!
6/2/11 6:48 PM
JanieBee said...
Really pretty - the yellow & white fabrics look great together!
6/2/11 8:10 PM
Raye Ann said...
Really pretty!
6/2/11 8:31 PM
poppykettle said...
Very mod - looks great!
6/2/11 10:17 PM
katlew03 said...
What a cheerful looking dress. Love the yellow and white together. Great job on the yoke.
6/2/11 10:42 PM
pammieh said...
Fantastic dress!! Congratulations!
6/2/11 10:54 PM
21wale said...
What a fantastic dress! Nice color choice!
6/2/11 11:26 PM
debbieB said...
Great dress.This is one of my favorite patterns.
6/2/11 11:45 PM
JenniferMM said...
Wow! Thanks, everyone, for all the wonderful comments! :)
6/3/11 9:39 AM
cleverkitty said...
Adorable dress perfect for sight seeing and when it's really hot, it looks fresh. You did an outstanding job sewing this.
6/3/11 11:47 AM
Diane333 said...
Very pretty and feminine dress. You should have been on the pattern cover.
6/3/11 9:52 PM
FLFiFiLarue said...
Love love your dress! For those of us in South Fla to fake a Lilly dress is indeed a compliment!! Have wanted to make this however as a D cup I am concerned of looking like I have a maternity dress on even tho Way Past that stage! lol
6/16/11 4:36 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks for the new compliments. You're all so lovely :) @FLFiFiLarue - It was nice having the extra room while overindulging on Cajun food but I can certainly understand your concern. I imagine it would be quite easy to add bow-shaped darts below the bustline to take that area in a bit. I'm considering doing that on my next one to give it a different look.
6/17/11 6:46 PM
muximaus said...
I'm in the middle of making this dress but I am finding that the shoulder is low. Did you have to adjust this? I'm finding this a common problem as I am large busted so I have to use a bigger pattern in order for the bust to fit.
7/31/11 0:11 AM
JenniferMM said...
@muximaus I certainly don't have a full bust issue but I did make the dress according to the envelope size (normally, I size down by one or two) and so I did notice the shoulders were a touch low. I think it's a slight design flaw - the sleeveless version is identical to the sleeved one with isn't the best placement. It did well for covering sunburned shoulders though! It wasn't enough to bother me and so I forgot when I wrote my review but I think it would be more flattering to bring them in about 1/2" or so. A French curve could help with that.
7/31/11 3:04 PM
novice beginner said...
You did an amazing job. I am trying this pattern for the first time. Do you have any tips to keep the dress fabric from showing through the white fabric? I am using hot pink for main color with white accents.
4/24/13 2:32 PM
JenniferMM said...
@novice beginner - Thanks! I'm sorry I didn't see your comment sooner. The combination you've chosen sounds cute! If you haven't finished this one, here's what I would suggest: To keep the pink from showing through, I'd recommend choosing a white fabric in a light to medium weight, with the highest thread count you can reasonably find. Then add a layer of lightweight interfacing with a similar drape. A higher thread count will limit the number of spaces the body color can show through and the interfacing should diffuse any additional pink. If you can't find a white with a high thread count (I struggle with this too), then experiment with a few interfacing options - they go a long way to limit seeing what you don't want to see. Good luck :)
7/22/13 1:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Folkwear 240

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now
Simplicity 2166

photo
by: usbeckers

Review