SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8720 (men's coat and belt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 341 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/11 8:52 PM
Last Updated:6/3/11 8:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a handsome coat! You say, "As usual I added some inches to the length." My gosh, that guy is huge! I always have to add length for my slightly taller than average man, but your task is imposing.
6/3/11 9:19 PM
margk said...
This coat looks great on your "victim" : ) Well done.
6/4/11 2:35 AM
julesberry said...
Elona: Oh but he is a simple shape! Height is easy to adjust compared to curves. Have to be aware that extra is required when buying fabric and the seams take a while to sew - but it is still easier than fitting curves!
6/4/11 3:13 AM
Catbird said...
My kind of trench exactly! I don't know James, but I get the feeling it suits his personality vry well. The fabric couldn't be more perfect, giving it a kind of delicious slouchy quality. I love the pictures, too. Wonderful! p.s., I tried twice to leave a comment on your blog but was bounced over to Blogger each time and the comment failed. I wonder if something is up with your link?
6/4/11 8:37 AM
21wale said...
Wow! Fabulous coat!
6/4/11 9:18 AM
julesberry said...
Catbird: Thanks. It seems possible to comment on my blog - just made a test myself...
6/5/11 4:15 AM
Catbird said...
That's good...maybe it was a browser issue. I run into a lot of those.
6/5/11 8:33 AM
becca a said...
Fantastic coat! The fabric works with the pared down trench style perfectly.
6/5/11 9:21 AM
christinasbookshelf said...
If you are worried about the coat being lost, you could embroider your phone number (or use a permanent marker) on a ribbon and sew that to the back neck where the label would be. My husband uses his coats & jackets as a purse; he will stuff 4 or 5 pounds of things into 4 pockets. I haven't been able to interest him in a murse or small briefcase. He really wears out coats fast.
6/8/11 12:25 PM
thimbledore said...
This is wonderful! It is a fantastic coat on him. I just bought this pattern for my dude and he's super excited about it. I'll definitely be peeping back at your review as I get ready to make it.
1/23/12 9:07 PM
julesberry said...
thimbledore: Hope you have good luck making the coat!
1/24/12 4:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: SewPrinces...

Review
Other Wiksten Tova Top

photo
by: ZoSews

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now