Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1238 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 488 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:optimistic
photo
About optimisticstar
Member since: 9/9/09
Reviews written: 58
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/11 11:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marjoriekh said...
Ah, I could never wear this, but I also think it looks great on you! I like the way you approached this pattern, by starting out with a cheap knit. I agree a silk jersey could be perfect. And your length is so much better than the pattern envelope - makes a lot of difference. Thanks for reviewing this.
6/4/11 11:45 AM
sunnysewer said...
It looks very chic on you and I am glad to read your review and see photos, these draped patterns fascinate me - you did a great job. I think in a print it would be pretty.
6/4/11 12:15 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Your dress is BEAUTIFUL!! And it looks amazing on you!!!
6/4/11 1:02 PM
Karendee said...
I think your dress looks amazing and in no way "cheap." The fabric flows beautifully in this iteration. Congratulations.
6/4/11 4:15 PM
marec said...
I admire your bravery for attempting such a designer look. IT was so very successful too! You look great in this style, and I think the dress looks chic. Very cool.
6/4/11 4:20 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Interesting dress - your reaction sounds like mine - but seeing your result I could be swayed to give it a try.
6/4/11 7:12 PM
DorothyK said...
I have this pattern in my cue and will be making it soon, so I was happy to see your review. I think your dress came out great and looks fabulous on you. Thanks for the review. Your tips will be helpful when I'm working on it. I'm curious to know what size you actually made.
6/5/11 10:00 AM
WJean said...
Thanks for the review. I too have this pattern; however, I'm still thinking, hummm. Also, I do not 'do knits.' Not sure why. I'm not afraid of cutting or sewing them I just think my frame is not a 'knit fabric' frame. But as you will too I am sure agree this pattern is different and could serve to hide a multitude of body flaws. Finally, I'd like to know how you worked with cutting from the bottom to reduce the overall length.
6/5/11 11:44 PM
WJean said...
Another question is added to my previous one about length reduction. Please tell me how much yardage is actually required. The pattern states dress: 60: 2-/4 - 2-3/8 yds; and their is another listing for 'contrast' which adds 1-5/8 yds. Do you add the later to the former yardage, or just use the former yardage for the total amount to purchase/use? Looking forward to your response.
6/8/11 10:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 5886
photo
Review by Nenewhis on 6/12/13
Read Review

Vogue 1162 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1162 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2660 Pattern ( Size 10-18 )
Simplicity 2660 Pattern ( Size 10-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7359 SHIRT
photo
Review by LTC on 9/16/12
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us