SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1238 (Misses' Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 494 times 
Reviewed by:optimistic
photo

 
 
About optimisticstar
Member since: 9/9/09
Reviews written: 58
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/11 11:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
WJean said...
Another question is added to my previous one about length reduction. Please tell me how much yardage is actually required. The pattern states dress: 60: 2-/4 - 2-3/8 yds; and their is another listing for 'contrast' which adds 1-5/8 yds. Do you add the later to the former yardage, or just use the former yardage for the total amount to purchase/use? Looking forward to your response.
6/8/11 10:28 PM
WJean said...
Thanks for the review. I too have this pattern; however, I'm still thinking, hummm. Also, I do not 'do knits.' Not sure why. I'm not afraid of cutting or sewing them I just think my frame is not a 'knit fabric' frame. But as you will too I am sure agree this pattern is different and could serve to hide a multitude of body flaws. Finally, I'd like to know how you worked with cutting from the bottom to reduce the overall length.
6/5/11 11:44 PM
DorothyK said...
I have this pattern in my cue and will be making it soon, so I was happy to see your review. I think your dress came out great and looks fabulous on you. Thanks for the review. Your tips will be helpful when I'm working on it. I'm curious to know what size you actually made.
6/5/11 10:00 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Interesting dress - your reaction sounds like mine - but seeing your result I could be swayed to give it a try.
6/4/11 7:12 PM
marec said...
I admire your bravery for attempting such a designer look. IT was so very successful too! You look great in this style, and I think the dress looks chic. Very cool.
6/4/11 4:20 PM
Karendee said...
I think your dress looks amazing and in no way "cheap." The fabric flows beautifully in this iteration. Congratulations.
6/4/11 4:15 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Your dress is BEAUTIFUL!! And it looks amazing on you!!!
6/4/11 1:02 PM
sunnysewer said...
It looks very chic on you and I am glad to read your review and see photos, these draped patterns fascinate me - you did a great job. I think in a print it would be pretty.
6/4/11 12:15 PM
marjoriekh said...
Ah, I could never wear this, but I also think it looks great on you! I like the way you approached this pattern, by starting out with a cheap knit. I agree a silk jersey could be perfect. And your length is so much better than the pattern envelope - makes a lot of difference. Thanks for reviewing this.
6/4/11 11:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now