SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB011MA (Uptown Handbag)

16 more reviews
Viewed 2731 times 
Reviewed by:captreestarfish
photo

 
 
About captreestarfishstar
NY USA
Member since: 7/28/04
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/04 10:27 AM
Last Updated:8/25/04 10:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
melaniejade31 said...
You did a great job! It's adorable!
2/27/10 10:26 PM
Ella said...
If this is your second pattern project, you are definitely a natural!! Really appreciate your modifications with closing tabs and magnetic snaps as velcro closing would be a reason for me not to make this bag. Happily, and thanks to your review, I am eager to try this pattern!
2/17/09 12:00 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful purse!! I love the fabric!! A lot!!!!!
6/12/07 10:08 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Awesome bag! thanks so much for this helpful review.
9/9/04 12:45 PM
JDpenelope said...
You've found your calling! This is a great pattern and you've worked out so many details. You are on your way to many happy sewing experiences. Please don't forget to share with us.
8/31/04 6:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a pretty bag! Are you sure you are a beginner??? Lovely fabric and you were creative with this too, adding a place for a cell phone and card. I impressed. Adding the pattern to my wishlist.
8/27/04 5:01 PM
captreestarfish said...

8/26/04 8:17 AM
captreestarfish said...
Eli- I bought the fabric at Sew What's New in Islip, NY, but have seen it in other places. Here's a link to Alexander Henry Fabrics. You should be able to find a local supplier there. http://www.ahfabrics.com/howtobuy.html Sew Tabby - I LOVE your skirt. Your Amy Butler review was very helpful to me when putting this bag together. Thanks!
8/26/04 8:16 AM
SewTabby said...
Your bag is absolutely lovely! I made a skirt with that fabric and wear it all the time. I also had the same problem with the bag collapsing--I've been meaning to try it again using Timtex as a stabilizer in the bottom. My temporary solution was to put a piece of balsa wood in the bottom of the bag. It still can't handle anything heavy, like wallet or keys, but works fine for some cash, an ID, and favorite lipstick :) GREAT job and great first review!
8/26/04 0:12 AM
Vanessa117 said...
Love the fabric also! I just made the Downtown Purse and had similar issues. I used a cotton duck lining in addition to all the materials she calls for. This helped give the bag a little more structure, but did not totally eliminate the "collapse factor".
8/25/04 9:47 PM
Eli said...
Gorgeous! If I have the same "collapsing problem" I interface twice the bottom and about 7 cm from the bottom up with craft interfacing (very firm one). Where did you buy the fabric from? Sorry for being so curious but it is so lovely and so Pucci-inspired...
8/25/04 8:02 PM
candyo said...
Very impressive- I agree that you are a "natural." Thanks for introducing me to this line of patterns!
8/25/04 7:25 PM
captreestarfish said...
wow. thank you all so much for the supportive comments. Lately I have been sitting in bed at night surfing the reviews. I love all the creative problem solving and fabric/pattern combinations.
8/25/04 5:14 PM
Lori V said...
beautiful bag - love the fabric. Aren't purses wonderful to make?
8/25/04 4:18 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful bag! It's hard to believe you are a beginner. :-)
8/25/04 4:04 PM
Deepika said...
Love the fabric and the bag. What a cute little thing! Congratulations on your first review!
8/25/04 3:33 PM
SandraB said...
Very cute bag. I love the shape and the fabric.
8/25/04 2:47 PM
Sharon M said...
LOVE the fabric and shape of this bag. Great job!
8/25/04 2:44 PM
cindyann said...
Cute! Love the shape of that bag.
8/25/04 2:08 PM
daff said...
Your bag is gorgeous! I have been looking at this pattern for awhile now, and now I think I have to make it. Thanks!
8/25/04 2:07 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I can't believe this is only your second attempt at a pattern. You show great attention to the details that make the finished garment look professional. I think you have discovered a natural talent. I love the bag. I just "discovered" this line of patterns through another review and think they are adorable. Your project proves my opinion.
8/25/04 12:18 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Beautiful!!!
8/25/04 12:11 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Looks beautiful - I would never have guessed it was the 2nd thing you had made from a pattern. I'm impressed with your modifications.
8/25/04 11:25 AM
Mrs. Cecil said...
Great job! I love the fabric, the pocket additions are nicely done.
8/25/04 11:08 AM
Izzie said...
What a cute bag! You did an excellent job. Don't you just love Alexander Henry fabrics!
8/25/04 11:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-118

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: globalgran

Review